We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An 'A List' Place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HumberMar...
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“An 'A List' Place”
Reviewed 11 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

The quailty of the Mill is well portrayed by other reviews, and we can only agree. It's obviously not a place for anyone with mobility difficulties, and not really suitable for youngters that would race about the place, but we found it ab fab.

Braunston seems a bit of an oasis in the centre of a relatively uninspriring area, but not a bad base to cover some of the hot-spots in the Midlands. As most large villages with 4 pubs, it might now be better to have 2 busy ones, than 3 on the verge of closing, but this is a pandemic and Braunston's done well to hang on to 4 to date.

Don't miss a breakfast on the narrow boat near the marina entrance - this was a major highlight of the stay.

We found the owner to be very helpful. I can understand how the 'warning signs' in frames in many of the rooms can rub some people up the wrong way but we had no issues.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tezpil
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,952 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay in a listed Mill”
Reviewed 24 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Easy to find, you can see the Mill from the main road towering next to the Church as you approach Braunston.
On arrival there is a welcome pack of essential food items, kitchen is well stocked with essential gadgets and utensils. The Mill is clean and decorated in a modern contemporary style. Hottub very relaxing, BBQ available. Lovely steam shower. All mod cons means a stay at The Mill is very relaxing.

Friendly owners available but not intrusive. Nr to a variety of pubs and the canal (must have breakfast on the canal boat) and Leamington spa is worth a visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bmwjools
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning, relaxing & a true experience - highly recommended !!!*”
Reviewed 6 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My partner Tim and I ,my son William together with our close friends Jane & Nigel and their daughter Isabelle had the pleasure of staying at the MIll for a midweek break. We were more than impressed with the windmill - the decor was stunning and well thought out, the welcome food pack was more than welcome plus all the condiments & toiletries made our stay that little bit easier. The windmill had clearly been cleaned professionally from top to bottom in preparation for our arrival and the fresh flowers and bowl of sweets were a lovely touch ( even if we did have to hide the sweeties from the kids after an hour!) Our hosts gave us a lovely warm welcome and assured us they were at the end of the phone for even the slightest query. The local amenities are more than sufficient if you dont fancy using your car - for an extra treat we booked a day on a canal boat which is well worth the extra cash just for the experience, however just walking alongside the canal and helping others throught the locks is equally as entertaining especially for the children. Luckily the weather was glorious for our break and we took full use of the hot tub and even managed a bbq ( huge barbie in the garden which was also clean and easy to use). We would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone ( ignore the previous bad review it couldnt be further from the truth) My adivce for staying at the windmill... firstly book early ( anyone who has previously been will recommend time and time again) secondly if you do stay at the windmill, dont leave your car keys on the bedside table and only realise when you are at the front door some 7 flights of stairs away!!! Believe me you will only do it once!! A beautiful building in a lovely location, sympathectically renovated with every attention given to detail - a 5 star experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glitterfa...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“most fantastic romantic break ever”
Reviewed 15 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my husband have just returned from a mid week break at the windmill. The windmill was fabulous. exceptionally luxurious. Situated in beautiful countryside in a quiet village. This stay surpassed all my expectations. I felt it was real value for money with friendly hosts who were at the end of the phone for any probelms we may have had.
which were none. The windmill is decorated to a high standard with such detail its stunning. There are a couple of pubs which provide meals also a fantastic indian takeaway that delivers from Daventry. As a runner the area provides perfect routes for country runs or walks. There isnt many things to do in the area as such, but it is a peaceful retreat not a holiday park so is to be expected. The windmill and jacuzzi are enough to keep one busy. The arrivel food and wine were a plus and gave that special touch. The only down side is the windmill is so booked i will have to wait a while to re -visit. I also have to comment on the negative reviews on this sight and have no idea where these people stayed as it couldnt have possibly been the windmill. Thanks for a fantastic stay. Mr and Mrs Hathaway. Weymouth.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rose81
midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing, luxurious escape.”
Reviewed 16 March 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Having read the reviews, we were looking forward to our break at the mill and we weren't disappointed. The car didn't leave the drive as everything we needed was walking distance and we didn't want to leave such a beautiful mill.
We were greeted by the owners who were very friendly and explained what was nearby and then just left us to explore the place. Some goodies were left for us in the kitchen which were appreciated.
All the rooms were tastefully decorated, especially loved the free standing bath in the top bedroom. Felt the circular bed on the lower level may be a bit of a struggle to sleep in for tall people. Be prepared for the stairs, your leg muscles will get a good work out.
Would definately come back here but need to get there quick as appears to be booking up quick.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biff0r
Banbury
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to kick back and relax”
Reviewed 2 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Our group consisted of 3 couples (all early 30's) from Friday afternoon to Monday morning. We all arrived for 4pm and were me tby Steve and Sandie who showed us around, we did have to park our 3rd car on the main road but it was safe and secure.

We were shown around the kitchen and how things worked, the girls absolutely loved the place, it was very impressive. The rooms were spacious, clean and modern, we were planning on eating out for most meals but the kitchen was so nice we made it a social event to cook and drink one the evenings, (we were lucky to have a chef with us, even though we all chipped in)

We did spend a lot of the evening hours just relaxing in the hot tub and chilling. The hot tub is brilliant, with the very cold nights it was lovely to pop in and out :D

Bedrooms were clean and tidy, the round bedroom is fairly small and I was unable to use the bed as I am 6ft 2 but the next floor above the bed was perfect.

We did try and use the floating restaurant but it was out for repairs and the Anchor down the canal was closed so we popped into Daventry for a breakfast instead. Pubs in the village are cosy and welcoming.

On the last day we were up at 7am and gave the place a once over (probably left it better than we got there) and were met by Steve to hand back, once again very nice and helpful and pointed us towards a local cafe for a fry up.

All in all a wonderful unique experience in a great location in a building that stands out from anything else nearby, the views from the top are great and we could almost see home from there.

We are planing to go back when the weather warms up. Maybe with the kids, but I can see them getting bored unless activities are planned in advance.

Thanks guys for a wonderful time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHorton...
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Beautiful Relaxing Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 25 September 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Having initially viewed Braunston Mill on the internet earlier on in the year and my husband commenting on it appearing to be an idyllic place to stay I booked the Mill for a holiday for my husbands 40th birthday as a surprise to him.

We were greeted by the owners of the property, Sandie and Simon, who took great pride in presenting the Mill as a cherished holiday let; being their former home.

We were not disappointed by any aspect of the letting. Due to the high standard of furnishings and accommodation, I'm sure anyone will agree a few 'rules' are required to maintain the level of character offered by the Mill. Emptying / recycling the rubbish and cleaning up after yourself is hardly too much to ask!

The Mill is thoughtfully presented, very well equipped and offers a delightful experience to stay in a property that is very unique. The steam shower in the family bathroom was decommissioned due to safety aspects but this was explained to us on arrival.

A very pretty historic village, 'Braunston', offers local butchers, tea room/gift shop, chip shop and convenience store not to mention a good 'ale' in the village pub The Old Plough, within a short walking distance there is also The Boathouse alongside the canal. A 15-20 minute stroll through the marina along the canal locks another good pint is found at The Admiral Nelson.

The proposed improvements to the master bedroom as described to us by Sandie sound lavish and hopefully we will get the chance to return next year to see the changes!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mill and thank Sandie and Simon for a wonderful experience and a very happy 40th birthday to my husband - one he'll never forget.

Good exercise with all the stairs, really gets those calf muscles into action :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing