We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:30 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Canal fun and experiences for everyone

An awesome experience. Our boat was clean and comfortable. Greeted at gate and taken to boat... read more

Reviewed 31 August 2023
Pauls1692
,
Townsville, Australia
via mobile
First timers on the canal.

Can highly recommend Kate Boats for a canal boat holiday. As novices we were instructed by Paul... read more

Reviewed 21 August 2023
melvaz
,
warwickshire
Read all 86 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
70
11
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
70
11
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canal boat holiday central heating narrow boat excellent boat hire company equipped boat great company comfortable beds fantastic holiday boat inn henry james friendly family run business stockton narrowboat novice boaters lock
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2018

We enjoyed a lovely family weekend away aboard Kate Boats' brand new boat - Harry Hudson. The weather was lovely and the spring countryside looked so beautiful as we chugged slowly along, stopping off at the villages of Ufton and Long Itchington along the way.
Our ten year old son enjoyed getting involved with steering the boat, working the locks and mooring the boat. Our dog enjoyed it too!
The boat was really comfortable - with two double cabins, each with its own ensuite bathroom and plenty of room in the lounge.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank StarlightBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheryl H, Owner at Kate Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for your review. We're really pleased that you had a good time and you enjoyed our new boat Harry - we're very proud of him! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

We were a group of 12 people with 2 dogs on 2 boats, we had plenty of space for all of us, all the amenities were provided, comfortable beds and clean bedding, the only thing we had to bring were towels!

We had around a 30 minute thorough instruction on how to use the boat and do the locks and we were off.

Overall great 3 days of sunshine on the boat!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank 14varvaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheryl H, Owner at Kate Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for your review. We're pleased that your 'flotilla' booking with two boats worked for you - it's a great way to get the family and friends together.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We have just fulfilled a dream of doing a canal boat holiday with 4 nights on “Stephen” in icy, wintry conditions but had a great time despite the weather. A fabulous holiday to get the whole family involved (three kids from 9 to 17 years). Thanks Kate Boats for letting us “ice break” the canal! We were warm & cozy in our boat. We were so grateful for your assistance at either end of the trip- a pick up from the supermarket with our groceries and a drop off to collect our hire car for next stage of our UK adventure. Definitely going above & beyond 😀

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheryl H, Owner at Kate Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for a wonderful review! I am so pleased we were part of your UK adventure and glad you had such a wonderful time! Unfortunately we cannot do anything with the weather, but we are happy that Stephen was warm and cosy!
We all wish you an amazing Christmas in York and hope you have a peaceful and joyous New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

We had a great time aboard Molly May for 1 week from 30th October to 6th November,
We went down the south Oxford Canal for the first time having done the Warwickshire ring and many other canals in the area before, and we would definitely go again, the countryside side was stunning especially on par in the mornings with the autumn sunrise and mist across Canal, we made it as far as Thrupp and had a great pub meal at “The Boat Inn”.
Molly may was a great boat through out the week, very good central heating kept the boat nice a warm, very spacious and comfortable, we had admirers of molly may through Banbury which was nice.
Would not hesitate with going with Kate boats in the future, the boat was ready on arrival and the staff were very helpful.
Thanks for a great holiday😄

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Boatboysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheryl H, Owner at Kate Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Many thanks for your kind review. So glad you were warm enough! Mornings can be a bit nippy this time of year. Hopefully we will see you again and don't forget your 10% discount for being a previous hirer. Take care and a merry Christmas to you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Kate Boats are ideally situated to do the Warwickshire Ring. Hiring was very easy and we got a discount as we had used the company before. Friendly staff and we found the boat had everything we needed, very well equipped. The Warwickshire Ring was a great route to do, although doing it in one week was quite intense! if you want to stop and sightsee I would recomend doing it over two weeks, however, we enjoyed the tight schedule and had lots of fun. We had a BBQ some evenings on the canal side and ate in pubs other times. Weather was not great, but you adapt and just get on with it!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank RuthH731
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate B, Manager at Kate Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your busy week. The Warwickshire Ring can be great fun as well as a good workout! Hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews