We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further”
Review of Buckle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckle House
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My children booked a surprise weekend break for my wife and I for our 30th wedding anniversary,Buckle house was our destination,they could not have chosen better,we arrived late to a warm caring and concerned welcome from Donna, the house was lovely as was the room,we met Mark on the first morning who gave us a warm hearty greeting with best full English ever lol.The grounds were well kept and a joy to sit and relax in.We were also looked after by Di who is a lovely friendly lady, we will definitely be going back and will be recommending to family and friends, with Stratford upon Avon and Warwick castle nearby their is plenty to do,They deserve their 5 stars.....ENJOY.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
108
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Subject: Buckle House
Location: Bidford-on-Avon, Warwickshire, England, United Kingdom, Europe
Title: On the eve of a 90th Birthday.
ID#: 174333570

Dumfries...cross border...Wigan.....collect Granny and set off down south.
A service station stop over to satisfy my mouth.
Pass busy Birmingham and then the silence grew.
Buckle House Alcester then came into view.
The granite chips slowed us down a beautiful home appeared.
I kissed my wife for finding this and she stroked my beard.

Time to decide on which side to pass the dominant tree in the drive.
Loads of room to negotiate on each garden side

After making acquaintances and depositing over night bags we were informed afternoon tea would await us in the garden. Where was Percy Thrower and the BBC TV cameras? This was a garden not only to sit in but photograph too. It may have been late August but the scent of flowers and their hues so vivid were a joy to behold. The tea so refreshing, in fact three cups of tea. No wonder we relaxed instantly. We were directed to an excellent restaurant to eat that evening and had our table booked by our hosts.

We slept like felled Scots pines and woke to our previously selected breakfasts. My porridge was top class and the full breakfast so well prepared. It was an experience of its own and one I'd like to repeat.

Some of us are dog lovers while others not. We both win. The family Parson's Terrier had to be coaxed in to meet us after breakfast and he was a most biddable dog. He moved from one calling guest to the other. It was an added pleasure to meet such a distinguished and unobtrusive breed.

But this morning was also Mother-in-law's 90th Birthday and so we had a slightly later arrival at the breakfast table. This caused absolutely no problem. Our 90 year old agreed with us that that day got off to the best possible start. So hats off to Buckle House Bed and Breakfast on Honeybourne Road Alcester. If we are ever down this way again, it will be a must to return. Why? Well the comfort, the breakfast and the care and attention given were second to none. Why risk an inferior stay?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abetifi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucklehq, Owner at Buckle House, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you very much for going the extra mile in taking such time and care in putting together a well thought out and entertaining review. We appreciate all of our guests who have taken a few minutes time to share their experience is gives future visitors the reassurance that they wil be looked after when visiting Buckle House. Mark and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We found this gem of B&B accomodation searching Tripadvisor web site. Having read the reviews it was obviously somewhere people rated highly.I can now vouch for the great reviews having spent 3 nights in this glorious country location.Mark and Donna are the perfect hosts, Tea and Cakes in the garden on arrival, a great breakfast menu all cooked to order, Queen size bed, walk in shower, flat screen tv, tea making facilities, including a very comfortable sofa to relax while having a nightcap. Visit with confidence.

Room Tip: We managed to stay in room 1. First floor with a balcony and sunloungers over looking a quiet garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbancliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said? Not a lot, however I can reiterate how excellent Buckle House is. Upon arrival we were met by Mark, who is a great host. We discovered we share the same home town, and spent a few minutes talking like old friends about the places we knew! After showing us to our room; which was lovely, spacious and very clean, we had tea in the well kept garden. We had to decline the offer of home-made carrot cake due to having had a cream tea in Stratford earlier :-( (although I'm sure I could have managed if forced!) Donna came through and said hello, and was as lovely as Mark, which is probably one of the many reasons Buckle House is successful; great, friendly hosts. After a great nights sleep we woke overlooking the garden, and then went down to breakfast which is a feast in itself. You can choose from a fantastic range of food. The porridge was lovely and creamy. So many lovely little touches that make this place speacial;I would definitely recommend Buckle House to anyone.

Room Tip: Book any room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEvans12_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Wonderful welcome from Donna and Mark on one of the hottest days this year last week. Tea,coffee and cake in the beautiful garden- perfect! Our room was wonderful- large light and airy. Lovely touch was the fridge with bottles of water and fresh milk, as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Great shower with bath sheets and lots of toiletries. Loved the little vase of roses too. We enjoyed a full English breakfast cooked to perfection by Mark. We were sorry we were only staying the one night but we hope to go back next year, for longer this time.

Room Tip: We chose room 4 which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just returned from a few days stay at Buckle House and we would thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the very first moment until our departure. Accommodation and breakfasts very high quality and we can't think of anything that Mark and Donna could have done to make our stay more pleasurable; nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123JulieR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Buckle House is very comfortable with a warm welcome, nice firm mattresses, tea and coffee making facilities and a good bathroom (although this was separate to our room, which we were not expecting). We had quite a lot of disturbance from the other guests, woken up later at night by one guest getting in and then earlier than we hoped the following morning by the alarm and ablutions of the neighbouring people and this is why I have only said 'very good' as I do put a high price on a good nights sleep!

The breakfast is really excellent, with wonderful poached eggs in particular, lovely coffee and good quality produce.

There is parking outside but you are quite a way from Bidford-on-Avon itself (3-5 minutes in the car) but you are well placed for the gliding club which is right next door.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riotstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucklehq, Owner at Buckle House, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your comments, we like to listen to what our guests say about us and try to rectify problems in order that future visitors have a peaceful stress free visit.

In relation to the twin room that you booked, this is the cheapest room that we offer as it is the only room without en-suite facilities, this is always made clear to potential guests who book directly with us and for those who book on line room details are available with this information displayed.

We are sorry that you were disturbed by other guests, in the five years that we have been running Buckle House, this is the first time that any such problem has been bought to our attention. We always ask that our gests be considerate to others especially when coming in late at night.

We hope you will visit us again and try one of our other rooms with full facilities.

Mark and Donna, Buckle House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bidford-on-Avon
6.4 mi away
Kings Court Hotel
Kings Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alcester
607 reviews
5.3 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,053 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Fosbroke House
#1 of 2 in Bidford-on-Avon
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brookleys Bed & Breakfast
Brookleys Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Bidford-on-Avon
33 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Harbour Guest House
The Harbour Guest House
#3 of 3 in Bidford-on-Avon
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckle House

Property: Buckle House
Address: Buckle House Honeybourne Road | Bickmarsh, Bidford-on-Avon B50 4PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Bidford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bidford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckle House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckle House is a large contemporary country home set within one acre of landscape gardens with lawns, colourful flowers and shrubs, plus free range chickens and vegetable beds. Ample parking is provided for guests. Mark and Donna will go out of their way to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible with large comfortable rooms, excellent home cooked breakfasts, King size beds and a great location. Free wireless internet access is provided for those on business or wishing to 'keep in touch'. One of our rooms is a self contained apartment with master bedroom containing King size bed, lounge, bathroom and kitchen. The second bedroom has a king size bed, en suite bathroom and a lovely view of the nearby Cotswold hills All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities Plenty to see and do in the area; Hidcote Manor Gardens, Honeybourne Rare Breeds Centre, The Pudding Club, The Shire Horse Centre, or for the more adventurous, flying lessons at the neighbouring gliding club. Trains from Honeybourne (2 miles) are one stop from Moreton in Marsh on London Paddington/Hereford line so a good spot for day trips to Oxford, London, Hereford or hop on or off at the various Cotswold towns and villages. The House is 1.5 Miles from the small town on Bidford-on-Avon with restaurants, shops and pubs, river walks to quaint Warwickshire villages. On the edge of the Cotswolds within a few minutes drive of picturesque Chipping Campden, Broadway, Mickleton and many more. Historic Stratford-upon-Avon is just 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buckle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing