We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely Anniversary mid week break”
Review of Buckle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckle House
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful two day stay at buckle house.
When we first arrived we were greeted by Donna and Mark, we were shown to our room which was highly decorated and very cosy.
Our room looked out onto a spacious garden that had lots of different seating areas to suit all needs. There were lovely tree's, bushes and flowers, it was peaceful and tranquil.
Mark and Donna are wonderful people, food is fantastic too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've just returned from our stay at Buckle House - we were there for only one night, but Donna and Mark left such an impression on us we can't wait to return and stay for much longer.
The accommodation is excellent, decor in perfect condition. Food is superb, and the location ideal for touring Stratford and The Cotswolds.
But what, for us, iced the cake was the outstandingly warm and informal feel of the place - this entirely due to Donna and Mark, two most engaging and thoughtful hosts who go out of their way to broaden the smile on your face.
We had a room with a balcony overlooking the garden - perfection, but with this level of hospitality I'd have happily curled up in the garage.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking the garden highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucklehq, Owner at Buckle House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for your comments we try hard to put a smile on the face of our guests and enjoy the feedback when people are satisfied with our service. We have been nominated and are in the AA final 25 "Most Friendly Bed & Breakfasts in Britain", we have been invited to London on 13th May this year for the presentation lunch, when the lucky winner will be awarded,we will keep you informed. Regards Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend and couldn't be more pleased. On pulling onto the gravel driveway, you are greeted with an abundance of greenery from the hedge rows, trees, flowers and home grown veg! From the front, the building itself doesn't look too big, but how wrong could I be! Upon ringing the doorbell, we were greeted by Mark who is a genuinely friendly chap who couldn't do enough for you. You only have to see the luxurious, spacious hallway to get a treat of what's to come with the rest of the accommodation, with it's grand appearance that's so inviting. the lounge, although we didn't really spend much time in, could easily be on Escape To The Country, with it's selection of beautiful furniture and country feel with immaculate attention to detail. No expense spared in any way. Now to the bedroom itself. Spacious enough for what you need with all the usual facilities with tea, kettle etc. but the difference here? Unlike every other hotel/B&B we have stayed in, we were supplied with fresh milk which was refilled daily. The decor was beautiful, the bed easily the most comfortable I've slept in, the furniture, as with the rest of the house, was of the highest quality. No cheap shoddy cabinets etc. here. The en suite bathroom, although not huge has everything you need, a sink, toilet and great shower, and like everything else here, it's all of high quality with an excellent finish. You are given a great choice for breakfast, all served to you in a spacious, attractive dining room, again no expense spared with the furniture, decoration etc. Donna and Mark rustle up a fantastic breakfast which you cannot fault in any way (my wife did struggle, but that was due to the amount of shandys she had consumed the previous night!) which was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented, again the best I've had, and I've eaten a fair few in my time! There is a large garden wrapping itself around the property which is overlooked, I guess, by all the rooms available. Garden looked beautiful, although due to the typical English weather, we didn't get to have a good look around with the rain. Although taxis are a bit difficult to get in this area, Donna kindly gave us a lift into the village which was only a few minutes drive away, again giving that little bit extra you don't normally get elsewhere. There are some cracking pubs/restaurants in the area, and the town of Bidford itself is lovely with Stratford only a 20 minute drive away. All in all, I can't recommend this place enough. Warm welcome, luxurious accommodation run by a friendly, welcoming couple. Thank you! Dave and Rach

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davheyhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had a lovely time at Buckle House, we were taken care of by Diane who is very friendly.

The House is very cosy and is kept immaculately clean, our bathroom sparkled.

Plenty of hot drinks in the room and the bed was comfortable.

We enjoyed our stay and it was an easy drive to Stratford upon Avon and Warwick castle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MfcVdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My children booked a surprise weekend break for my wife and I for our 30th wedding anniversary,Buckle house was our destination,they could not have chosen better,we arrived late to a warm caring and concerned welcome from Donna, the house was lovely as was the room,we met Mark on the first morning who gave us a warm hearty greeting with best full English ever lol.The grounds were well kept and a joy to sit and relax in.We were also looked after by Di who is a lovely friendly lady, we will definitely be going back and will be recommending to family and friends, with Stratford upon Avon and Warwick castle nearby their is plenty to do,They deserve their 5 stars.....ENJOY.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Subject: Buckle House
Location: Bidford-on-Avon, Warwickshire, England, United Kingdom, Europe
Title: On the eve of a 90th Birthday.
ID#: 174333570

Dumfries...cross border...Wigan.....collect Granny and set off down south.
A service station stop over to satisfy my mouth.
Pass busy Birmingham and then the silence grew.
Buckle House Alcester then came into view.
The granite chips slowed us down a beautiful home appeared.
I kissed my wife for finding this and she stroked my beard.

Time to decide on which side to pass the dominant tree in the drive.
Loads of room to negotiate on each garden side

After making acquaintances and depositing over night bags we were informed afternoon tea would await us in the garden. Where was Percy Thrower and the BBC TV cameras? This was a garden not only to sit in but photograph too. It may have been late August but the scent of flowers and their hues so vivid were a joy to behold. The tea so refreshing, in fact three cups of tea. No wonder we relaxed instantly. We were directed to an excellent restaurant to eat that evening and had our table booked by our hosts.

We slept like felled Scots pines and woke to our previously selected breakfasts. My porridge was top class and the full breakfast so well prepared. It was an experience of its own and one I'd like to repeat.

Some of us are dog lovers while others not. We both win. The family Parson's Terrier had to be coaxed in to meet us after breakfast and he was a most biddable dog. He moved from one calling guest to the other. It was an added pleasure to meet such a distinguished and unobtrusive breed.

But this morning was also Mother-in-law's 90th Birthday and so we had a slightly later arrival at the breakfast table. This caused absolutely no problem. Our 90 year old agreed with us that that day got off to the best possible start. So hats off to Buckle House Bed and Breakfast on Honeybourne Road Alcester. If we are ever down this way again, it will be a must to return. Why? Well the comfort, the breakfast and the care and attention given were second to none. Why risk an inferior stay?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abetifi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucklehq, Owner at Buckle House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you very much for going the extra mile in taking such time and care in putting together a well thought out and entertaining review. We appreciate all of our guests who have taken a few minutes time to share their experience is gives future visitors the reassurance that they wil be looked after when visiting Buckle House. Mark and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We found this gem of B&B accomodation searching Tripadvisor web site. Having read the reviews it was obviously somewhere people rated highly.I can now vouch for the great reviews having spent 3 nights in this glorious country location.Mark and Donna are the perfect hosts, Tea and Cakes in the garden on arrival, a great breakfast menu all cooked to order, Queen size bed, walk in shower, flat screen tv, tea making facilities, including a very comfortable sofa to relax while having a nightcap. Visit with confidence.

Room Tip: We managed to stay in room 1. First floor with a balcony and sunloungers over looking a quiet garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbancliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Buckle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckle House

Address: Buckle House Honeybourne Road | Bickmarsh, Bidford-on-Avon B50 4PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Bidford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bidford-on-Avon
Price Range: £50 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckle House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckle House is a large contemporary country home set within one acre of landscape gardens with lawns, colourful flowers and shrubs, plus free range chickens and vegetable beds. Ample parking is provided for guests. Mark and Donna will go out of their way to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible with large comfortable rooms, excellent home cooked breakfasts, King size beds and a great location. Free wireless internet access is provided for those on business or wishing to 'keep in touch'. One of our rooms is a self contained apartment with master bedroom containing King size bed, lounge, bathroom and kitchen. The second bedroom has a king size bed, en suite bathroom and a lovely view of the nearby Cotswold hills All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities Plenty to see and do in the area; Hidcote Manor Gardens, Honeybourne Rare Breeds Centre, The Pudding Club, The Shire Horse Centre, or for the more adventurous, flying lessons at the neighbouring gliding club. Trains from Honeybourne (2 miles) are one stop from Moreton in Marsh on London Paddington/Hereford line so a good spot for day trips to Oxford, London, Hereford or hop on or off at the various Cotswold towns and villages. The House is 1.5 Miles from the small town on Bidford-on-Avon with restaurants, shops and pubs, river walks to quaint Warwickshire villages. On the edge of the Cotswolds within a few minutes drive of picturesque Chipping Campden, Broadway, Mickleton and many more. Historic Stratford-upon-Avon is just 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buckle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing