We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B we have stayed in”
Review of Buckle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckle House
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best B&B we have stayed in”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I don't normally write reviews, but thought I would for this exceptional B&B. Everything about it was better than I would have expected for the cost - lovely large bedroom, spotlessly clean, fantastic breakfast and to top it all off, tea and cakes served in our room on arrival! I would go as far as to say that I cannot remember staying in a better B&B - hence this review.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Honeybadger496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
108
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I were lucky enough to find this wonderful hotel
It was as clean as a new pin
The breakfast was wonderful
Mark & Donna were friendly all in all one of the best hotel stays we have done
Thank you Mark & Donna

Room Tip: The room we had unfortunately was the last one available and it had a separate bath room but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RAY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrevieja, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have now stayed at Buckle House three times (twice last year and have just stayed for three nights). We are booked in for a further week in September plus hopefully time in June if they can fit us in! We live in Spain and come over to visit family most of whom are in Bidford. It is pretty hectic when we come over and as soon as we walk into Buckle House we breathe a sigh of relief and start to chill!! It is like home from home, a very relaxing place with a very welcoming and tranquil atmosphere and we absolutely love it there. Mark and Donna are great hosts, very friendly, approachable and cannot do enough for you. The breakfasts are wonderful whichever one you choose and the view from the breakfast room into the beautiful garden is a fantastic way to start the day. We have stayed in two of the rooms and they are both a very good size and done to a very high standard. The decor of the rooms is lovely, they are a very good size and have seating in there for two people. Also the little touches that are in the rooms are great ie; glasses, corkscrew, dressing gowns etc. The lounge has wonderful sofas and it is lovely to be able to sit in there and relax if the weather is not nice enough for sitting in the garden. The garden is "huge" with different areas to sit in and chill out! We cannot speak too highly of Mark and Donna and their fantastic B & B and when you leave Buckle House you will definitely want to go back. Thanks for everything and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Sue & Derek

Room Tip: Room 1 with the balcony and walk in shower is wonderful and definitely our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SueandDerek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful two day stay at buckle house.
When we first arrived we were greeted by Donna and Mark, we were shown to our room which was highly decorated and very cosy.
Our room looked out onto a spacious garden that had lots of different seating areas to suit all needs. There were lovely tree's, bushes and flowers, it was peaceful and tranquil.
Mark and Donna are wonderful people, food is fantastic too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've just returned from our stay at Buckle House - we were there for only one night, but Donna and Mark left such an impression on us we can't wait to return and stay for much longer.
The accommodation is excellent, decor in perfect condition. Food is superb, and the location ideal for touring Stratford and The Cotswolds.
But what, for us, iced the cake was the outstandingly warm and informal feel of the place - this entirely due to Donna and Mark, two most engaging and thoughtful hosts who go out of their way to broaden the smile on your face.
We had a room with a balcony overlooking the garden - perfection, but with this level of hospitality I'd have happily curled up in the garage.

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking the garden highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucklehq, Owner at Buckle House, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments we try hard to put a smile on the face of our guests and enjoy the feedback when people are satisfied with our service. We have been nominated and are in the AA final 25 "Most Friendly Bed & Breakfasts in Britain", we have been invited to London on 13th May this year for the presentation lunch, when the lucky winner will be awarded,we will keep you informed. Regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend and couldn't be more pleased. On pulling onto the gravel driveway, you are greeted with an abundance of greenery from the hedge rows, trees, flowers and home grown veg! From the front, the building itself doesn't look too big, but how wrong could I be! Upon ringing the doorbell, we were greeted by Mark who is a genuinely friendly chap who couldn't do enough for you. You only have to see the luxurious, spacious hallway to get a treat of what's to come with the rest of the accommodation, with it's grand appearance that's so inviting. the lounge, although we didn't really spend much time in, could easily be on Escape To The Country, with it's selection of beautiful furniture and country feel with immaculate attention to detail. No expense spared in any way. Now to the bedroom itself. Spacious enough for what you need with all the usual facilities with tea, kettle etc. but the difference here? Unlike every other hotel/B&B we have stayed in, we were supplied with fresh milk which was refilled daily. The decor was beautiful, the bed easily the most comfortable I've slept in, the furniture, as with the rest of the house, was of the highest quality. No cheap shoddy cabinets etc. here. The en suite bathroom, although not huge has everything you need, a sink, toilet and great shower, and like everything else here, it's all of high quality with an excellent finish. You are given a great choice for breakfast, all served to you in a spacious, attractive dining room, again no expense spared with the furniture, decoration etc. Donna and Mark rustle up a fantastic breakfast which you cannot fault in any way (my wife did struggle, but that was due to the amount of shandys she had consumed the previous night!) which was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented, again the best I've had, and I've eaten a fair few in my time! There is a large garden wrapping itself around the property which is overlooked, I guess, by all the rooms available. Garden looked beautiful, although due to the typical English weather, we didn't get to have a good look around with the rain. Although taxis are a bit difficult to get in this area, Donna kindly gave us a lift into the village which was only a few minutes drive away, again giving that little bit extra you don't normally get elsewhere. There are some cracking pubs/restaurants in the area, and the town of Bidford itself is lovely with Stratford only a 20 minute drive away. All in all, I can't recommend this place enough. Warm welcome, luxurious accommodation run by a friendly, welcoming couple. Thank you! Dave and Rach

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davheyhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wokingham United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had a lovely time at Buckle House, we were taken care of by Diane who is very friendly.

The House is very cosy and is kept immaculately clean, our bathroom sparkled.

Plenty of hot drinks in the room and the bed was comfortable.

We enjoyed our stay and it was an easy drive to Stratford upon Avon and Warwick castle.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MfcVdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bidford-on-Avon
2.5 mi away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbots Salford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Fosbroke House
#1 of 2 in Bidford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
5.3 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#15 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brookleys Bed & Breakfast
Brookleys Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Bidford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Harbour Guest House
The Harbour Guest House
#3 of 3 in Bidford-on-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.6 mi away
Broom Hall Inn
Broom Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Broom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckle House

Property: Buckle House
Address: Buckle House Honeybourne Road | Bickmarsh, Bidford-on-Avon B50 4PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Bidford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bidford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckle House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckle House is a large contemporary country home set within one acre of landscape gardens with lawns, colourful flowers and shrubs, plus free range chickens and vegetable beds. Ample parking is provided for guests. Mark and Donna will go out of their way to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible with large comfortable rooms, excellent home cooked breakfasts, King size beds and a great location. Free wireless internet access is provided for those on business or wishing to 'keep in touch'. One of our rooms is a self contained apartment with master bedroom containing King size bed, lounge, bathroom and kitchen. The second bedroom has a king size bed, en suite bathroom and a lovely view of the nearby Cotswold hills All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities Plenty to see and do in the area; Hidcote Manor Gardens, Honeybourne Rare Breeds Centre, The Pudding Club, The Shire Horse Centre, or for the more adventurous, flying lessons at the neighbouring gliding club. Trains from Honeybourne (2 miles) are one stop from Moreton in Marsh on London Paddington/Hereford line so a good spot for day trips to Oxford, London, Hereford or hop on or off at the various Cotswold towns and villages. The House is 1.5 Miles from the small town on Bidford-on-Avon with restaurants, shops and pubs, river walks to quaint Warwickshire villages. On the edge of the Cotswolds within a few minutes drive of picturesque Chipping Campden, Broadway, Mickleton and many more. Historic Stratford-upon-Avon is just 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buckle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing