We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of The Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Fareham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed for one night at the Cottage Inn in Kenilworth. It is not a fancy venue and the room was a little small but that was not a problem. The accommodation was clean, the shower was hot and their was sufficient brew kit. The food in the bar was well cooked and there was lots of it and it was well priced.

The staff were excellent and if you are looking for a short stay stop over where you get value for money, nothing fancy but more than good enought, this is the place.

I will stay there again the next time I am in that area I assure you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tug128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    27
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
17
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bispham, Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The reviewers who are sniffy about The Cottage Inn were looking for Top Class at Budget Price - idiots: you get what you pay for.
Clean (though rooms are cramped), spotless bathroom, friendly, helpful but professional staff, very tasty food and drink - ideal for my three nights' stay for the Warwick Literary Festival.
I'd recommend this to friends who understand hospitality as I do having owned and operated two Blackpool Guest Houses.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I booked the back room of this pub for a 30th birthday gathering with friends. The staff were so pleasant, friendly and accommodating, which made organising the event stress-free. We also ordered some buffet food which was great- very generous portions.
Thank you for a lovely night. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed in double room facing the road £49.50: On the plus side: clean towels and sheets, comfy bed and good shower (although the hose was badly in need of replacement). On the negative side: small, in urgent need of refurbishment, no attention to details eg. spiders in corners of rooms, no soap. En-suite was in what is best described as a cupboard and we were greeted by a notice advising how to dispose of condoms.

The squeaky floorboards, drunks coming in at 3:20am, next door's tv at 5am did not allow us to sleep.

Staff offered no personal touch and we wouldn't describe as particularly friendly eg no acknowledgement in morning and the request for vegetarian breakfast was met with surprise.

We stay in hotels across the country most weekends and have never felt cause to post a review before however, we are very disappointed as it would have been an ideal regular base to visit Daughter but will be paying more next time to get some sleep and feel welcomed rather than intruding.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kenilworth hotels

buckley
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

what an excellent pub very well run friendliest staff we have come across in quiet some time good selection of food good choice of well kept cask ales rooms although small are adequate and kept spotless we would and have recommended this pub to any one staying in this area as being bgood value for money . we will be going back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Good food from a wide range of dishes available from the main menu plus a specials board. Generous portions. Mixed meat salad is always my favourite. Curry with rice AND chips - amazing! Good range of real ales always on offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Booked this on LateRooms for 1 night £49.50 just to get our heads down for the night en route home. The pub looked OK for a traditional pub but the rooms are in need of total refurbishment. So small, nowhere to put your luggage and you had to take it in turns to move around. The en suite shower room (old electric shower) was damp, musty with mould on ceiling and grouting. The bedding and towels were in good condition and freshly laundered. Breakfast was a take it or leave it affair and basic but acceptable. The location is very close if you are driving to Warwick Castle. Overall we got a good night's sleep (despite the squishy bed) for what we paid but I would not recommend or stay there again. Pay a bit more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiresUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.0 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#3 of 7 in Kenilworth
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#4 of 8 in Kenilworth
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn

Property: The Cottage Inn
Address: 36 Stoneleigh Road | Kenilworth, Warwickshire, Kenilworth CV8 2GD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Cottage Inn Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing