We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of The Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Cottage Inn is a traditional back street pub with rooms and as a place to stay with good access to Kenilworth itself and a short drive from Warwick is great value. The rooms are small and basic as you'd expect at the price they charge, but they are clean and have everything you need.
Breakfast is good and freshly cooked and in the evening the pub bar is welcoming with friendly locals, good beer and good straightforward food. As long as you're not expecting 3* hotel comforts for B&B money you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanBStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    27
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
17
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We've eaten here regularly for years, and for value for money, good food and a pleasant atmosphere this is a really good choice for a meal.

The food is excellent quality, good value, well presented and served with a smile. It doesn't pretend to be a fancy restaurant, but serves excellent pub food!

Our last visit was for Easter Sunday lunch - 5 adults and two children - £75 for 3 course meals. We had booked a table for 3pm, but inclement weather meant we were looking to eat early - one phone call and we were fitted in early - no problem.

Always good value over the years - keep it up!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildechilde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I would say that this B&B is below average but to categorise it as poor would be a bit harsh.

Everything in my room worked and it was clean, no nasty smells but just very shabby and in very desperate need of a complete renovation. It probably hasn't been touched since the '80s!
I had dinner and breakfast there and although it was nothing to shout about, it was ok. Quite worryingly there was little concern about the smell of gas in the pub that evening despite it being brought to their attention by many people. Staff were ok but not particularly friendly. This is not the place to stay if you want to sleep in - the vacuum cleaning started at 7am!

In terms of value for money, I have stayed at far nicer B&Bs for the same price or cheaper. I wouldn't go back or recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotsofholsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here on a number of occasions now and have found the quality of food to be consistently good whether it be lunchtime or a busy Saturday night. We've always found it to be clean and the staff friendly. Good home cooked forms part of the menu and there are specials every day.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DiSolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed for one night at the Cottage Inn in Kenilworth. It is not a fancy venue and the room was a little small but that was not a problem. The accommodation was clean, the shower was hot and their was sufficient brew kit. The food in the bar was well cooked and there was lots of it and it was well priced.

The staff were excellent and if you are looking for a short stay stop over where you get value for money, nothing fancy but more than good enought, this is the place.

I will stay there again the next time I am in that area I assure you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tug128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bispham, Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The reviewers who are sniffy about The Cottage Inn were looking for Top Class at Budget Price - idiots: you get what you pay for.
Clean (though rooms are cramped), spotless bathroom, friendly, helpful but professional staff, very tasty food and drink - ideal for my three nights' stay for the Warwick Literary Festival.
I'd recommend this to friends who understand hospitality as I do having owned and operated two Blackpool Guest Houses.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I booked the back room of this pub for a 30th birthday gathering with friends. The staff were so pleasant, friendly and accommodating, which made organising the event stress-free. We also ordered some buffet food which was great- very generous portions.
Thank you for a lovely night. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.0 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#3 of 7 in Kenilworth
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#4 of 8 in Kenilworth
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn

Property: The Cottage Inn
Address: 36 Stoneleigh Road | Kenilworth, Warwickshire, Kenilworth CV8 2GD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Cottage Inn Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing