We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Old Bakery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bakery
Ranked #2 of 8 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This place has a great feel about it. It's friendly the beer is amazing get the butty Bach if they have it. And breakfast is fresh and enjoyable. The staff can't do enough for you. Then you have the local restaurants and plenty to choose from

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank glenn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for The Old Bakery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I spent four nights here while attending a training course and have to say the experience was an absolute pleasure. From the presentation of the accomodation (immaculate and well-appointed) to the breakfast provision (plentiful and home-cooked to order) there was nothing to find fault with. Add the setting of one of the prettiest little towns in the heart of England and I have to say it would make a perfect place to stay for a short break as well as business trips.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a great hotel located in a quiet part of Kennilworth. The rooms are very clean with lots of nice little extras. This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel whilst on business at the nearby NEC. The delicious breakfast is served freshly cooked to order,and really sets you up for the day, there was no need for lunch!
The Monday evening special of Fish & Chip supper is highly acclaimed by the locals, and also delicious.
The hosts are so welcoming and friendly,and I look forward to staying again later in the year, highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night recently and couldn't fault anything about the Old Bakery.
Everything first class from the cleanliness of the rooms to the excellent breakfast.
The host were very welcoming and the service excellent.
Well done all, will definitely stay again when next in the area

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The town of Kenilworth with its castle and abbey ruins has this great cosy escape as a place to stay. The owners actually run the establishment, so it is done right with attention to cleanliness and detail that makes your stay warm and welcoming. Rooms are neat and functional with plenty of power sockets for all the gadgets we now carry and nothing was too much trouble. The relaxed atmosphere and the in-house Bar, stocked with local brews and a good selection of whiskeys is a bonus…. the barman knows his stuff so ask for his drink and eating recommendations. Lots of local restaurants are within walking distance, and cater to all food tastes. The Old Bakery breakfast was spot on, freshly cooked to order, delivered hot and smelling as it mouthwateringly should, plenty of good strong coffee as well was a perfect to the start of the day.
This was a business trip, stayed here with several colleagues, I normally prefer hotel chains, because I typically know what I get, but this was a very pleasant surprise and really shows that when operated by passionate owners and run correctly, small businesses can offer even better service and deals than the bigger boys – Nice job all of you and I look forward to coming back.
.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from a terrific trip to Italy - really had an excellent time. Following our stay in Italy we flew into Birmingham and needed a place for a few days.

We booked the Old Bakery - a Bed and Breakfast - in Kenilworth. What a charming place. Very clean, peaceful and quiet rooms that are nicely appointed. A terrific pub downstairs, where in the morning, an excellent, made to order full English breakfast is served hot to your table. Really very nice.

Lots of friendly locals frequent the pub downstairs - we felt very welcome as they quickly included us in their conversations.

Alan and Janet are terrific hosts and we felt very "at home" here and would highly recommend this lovely stop for anyone in the area.

The area boasts a number of other terrific pubs and restaurants for dinner and lunches.

Highly recommended!

Darren and Rosemary McGrath

Victoria, BC
Canada

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcgrath2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were having a bit of a meander and decided to pop in to sample the ales and between the 5 of us we all managed to find something to our tastes. I was pleasantly suprised to see olives being available as a bar snack...more used to dry roasted peanuts and a packet of pork scratchings! As if that wasn't enough we were soon offered some lovely hot nibbles freshly prepared in the kitchen - it was a toss up between little squares of Welsh rarebit and some pork pastry things for the title of favourite snack of the day, needless to say we needed to double check to ensure we were certain which was nicest.

Service was all with a smile and a good bit of banter which encouraged us to break from the plan of one pint per establishment :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acct33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
2.1 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
381 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Address: 12 High Street, Kenilworth CV8 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range: £171 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are staying overnight in the immaculate accommodation or enjoying a drink in the relaxed friendly bar you will experience a warm welcome and level of service at The Old Bakery you rarely find, in this era of faceless hotel chains and conveyor belt service. We are situated in the old town part of Kenilworth near Kenilworth Castle, Stoneleigh Park and the University of Warwick. We are particular about our accommodation, proud of our freshly cooked breakfasts and passionate about our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Old Bakery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing