We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenilworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Ranked #1 of 11 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stumbled upon The Old Bakery last week as we were driving past. The pleasant exterior enticed us to go inside rather than the tired old public house over the road. Lovely decor and a very nice atmosphere. Very friendly and helpful staff. We only had drinks but we will be back for a meal in the future. Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
28
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This place has a great feel about it. It's friendly the beer is amazing get the butty Bach if they have it. And breakfast is fresh and enjoyable. The staff can't do enough for you. Then you have the local restaurants and plenty to choose from

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank glenn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I spent four nights here while attending a training course and have to say the experience was an absolute pleasure. From the presentation of the accomodation (immaculate and well-appointed) to the breakfast provision (plentiful and home-cooked to order) there was nothing to find fault with. Add the setting of one of the prettiest little towns in the heart of England and I have to say it would make a perfect place to stay for a short break as well as business trips.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is a great hotel located in a quiet part of Kennilworth. The rooms are very clean with lots of nice little extras. This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel whilst on business at the nearby NEC. The delicious breakfast is served freshly cooked to order,and really sets you up for the day, there was no need for lunch!
The Monday evening special of Fish & Chip supper is highly acclaimed by the locals, and also delicious.
The hosts are so welcoming and friendly,and I look forward to staying again later in the year, highly recommended to all!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night recently and couldn't fault anything about the Old Bakery.
Everything first class from the cleanliness of the rooms to the excellent breakfast.
The host were very welcoming and the service excellent.
Well done all, will definitely stay again when next in the area

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The town of Kenilworth with its castle and abbey ruins has this great cosy escape as a place to stay. The owners actually run the establishment, so it is done right with attention to cleanliness and detail that makes your stay warm and welcoming. Rooms are neat and functional with plenty of power sockets for all the gadgets we now carry and nothing was too much trouble. The relaxed atmosphere and the in-house Bar, stocked with local brews and a good selection of whiskeys is a bonus…. the barman knows his stuff so ask for his drink and eating recommendations. Lots of local restaurants are within walking distance, and cater to all food tastes. The Old Bakery breakfast was spot on, freshly cooked to order, delivered hot and smelling as it mouthwateringly should, plenty of good strong coffee as well was a perfect to the start of the day.
This was a business trip, stayed here with several colleagues, I normally prefer hotel chains, because I typically know what I get, but this was a very pleasant surprise and really shows that when operated by passionate owners and run correctly, small businesses can offer even better service and deals than the bigger boys – Nice job all of you and I look forward to coming back.
.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from a terrific trip to Italy - really had an excellent time. Following our stay in Italy we flew into Birmingham and needed a place for a few days.

We booked the Old Bakery - a Bed and Breakfast - in Kenilworth. What a charming place. Very clean, peaceful and quiet rooms that are nicely appointed. A terrific pub downstairs, where in the morning, an excellent, made to order full English breakfast is served hot to your table. Really very nice.

Lots of friendly locals frequent the pub downstairs - we felt very welcome as they quickly included us in their conversations.

Alan and Janet are terrific hosts and we felt very "at home" here and would highly recommend this lovely stop for anyone in the area.

The area boasts a number of other terrific pubs and restaurants for dinner and lunches.

Highly recommended!

Darren and Rosemary McGrath

Victoria, BC
Canada

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcgrath2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
0.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#3 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Coventry South (A45) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Property: The Old Bakery
Address: 12 High Street, Kenilworth CV8 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are staying overnight in the immaculate accommodation or enjoying a drink in the relaxed friendly bar you will experience a warm welcome and level of service at The Old Bakery you rarely find, in this era of faceless hotel chains and conveyor belt service. We are situated in the old town part of Kenilworth near Kenilworth Castle, Stoneleigh Park and the University of Warwick. We are particular about our accommodation, proud of our freshly cooked breakfasts and passionate about our bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing