We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one night only”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

had a one night stay here and that was enough for me. Not my cup of tea, nearly missed the hotel as entrance to hotel down an alley. Thought bad start, anyway on entering hotel, not much better inside, poor reception area. Room was upstairs in a warren of corridors. Interior of room was ok, everything you need but no sound proofing at all. Every movement outside room, you could hear. We were lucky with guests who stayed in hotel at same time as us, as all settled down at a reasonable time, around 11.00 pm. Shudder to think if we had had even one noisy neighbour. Breakfast had a few choices. I opted for scrambled egg on brown toast with bacon. Mistake as scrambled egg was very dry and brown bread was cheap and nasty. Bacon was not too bad.

Would not go back to this hotel as just not too my taste.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemcginnity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    117
    57
    48
    46
See reviews for
39
109
27
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel it's self is very much a three star property which is fine however there are elements in which the hotel underperforms.

My room for example smelt of damp and this damp was evident in the bathroom. Although shower was hot, water came out at a dribble. Some areas of the room and bathroom need a makeover. My room was also cold even with hearing ramped up.

Good points are - service is decent, wifi is free and fast, ample free parking and breakfast is good.

My colleague stayed in a room in the actual main building and wasn't too complimentary!

I think the hotel needs to sort out the issues in the room and give a bit of attention to the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veejnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Well my wife and I stayed at the hotel in April 2013. The room although not huge was clean and comfortable. Great value for money but I had booked through late rooms .com so it was half the listed price. The shower was a little bit of a let down as the water pressure was very low. The breakfast was included and this was excellent as was the service from the staff. We ate one evening at the Coconut Lagoon I would highly recomend if your visiting Keniworth and looking for good food give this a try 10/10.

Room Tip: Free car park to rear of the hotel. Lots of stairs to many rooms so be sure to tell them you need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin1957187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

i stayed on sat 23rd march 2013 for just one night.this hotel is very special!from the reception staff who make you feel so welcome - to fantastic menu in the coconut lagoon and the food quality- there is nothing at all which is not absolutely excellent. friendly staff... clean contemporary room. with a comfortable bed.very large tv to watch,and had a lovely night to sleep after visiting kenilworth....clean and stylish in the bedroom and bathroom.

the breakfast was a wide variety, i would possibly return next month.

Room Tip: book straight away to the peacock hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valli435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The staff are friendly and efficient. Booked at short notice so we got a good discount and were upgraded to a Club room. Unfortunately we were disappointed with the room. Although a good size it was showing many signs of wear, with cracks in the wall and missing wallpaper. The shower door was tricky to open and the water had to be turned off mid shower to allow it to drain before overflowing. We were woken several times in the night by loud creaking of floorboards as the persons in the room above walked around. We would have complained at check out but someone was already sounding off. Great possibilities here but needs a makeover. Keep the staff though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FozzyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

OK....my feelings about the Peacock are really mixed. Start with the good bits. The Resturant was great, mostly Indian food but that is the theme of the hotel. The staff were great, always willing to help and interested in the customer. My room unfortunatly was tiny....I had a double room and there really wasnt any space that wasnt unfilled with furniture.....felt very cramped. The corridors were cold and it did take ages for the hot water to come through for the shower, but I was at the end of a corridor. I would stay again saying all that.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nismo350z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Ok so its not the Ritz, but I had a very pleasant stay whilst travelling on business. The room was a good size and clean, the staff were very welcoming to me and I felt very at ease and relaxed.

Really enjoyed the fantastic meal at the restaurant, so many different dishes and flavours, it was worth going there for that alone.

I would go back.

Room Tip: I always like to stay in a room close to reception when travelling on business (as a lone female) bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymacb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
1.2 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Townhouse Hotel

Property: The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Address: 149 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HY, England (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Townhouse Hotel with spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. Raffles Restaurant and Bar with Lounge, situated in Kenilworth Town Centre. Close to Warwick University, Birmingham, Coventry and Leamington Spa. Warwick Castle and Stratford Upon Avon are closeby for a weekend break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Peacock Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kenilworth
Kenilworth Best Western
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing