We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again if you paid us!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Very poor hotel, one of the worst we've ever stayed in, rock hard bed, musty smell in the bathroom, paper thin walls, very noisy bathroom extract fans, creaking floor boards, damp in the restaurant. Wifi did not work. We had to leave at 1am to check into a premier inn nearby due to very noisy refrigerant chiller unit mounted on the floor outside, vibrating the whole room and they still wanted to charge us for our stay! We had to speak to the Best Western complaints/customer services on a premium rate 0845 number to get them to deal with the complaint/non-charge as found the staff member we dealt with to be incompetent, all in all very disappointing hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

The Peacock is a small Malaysian hotel with big character. We went here recently for our wedding anniversary. Our room was spacious and very clean with gorgeous solid wood furniture, the bed was one of the most comfiest hotel beds we have slept in. The hospitality and service of the staff was first class.
We had our evening meal in their Raffles restaurant - which is a short walk down the high street. The food was delicious and we didn't have to wait long between meals. The hotel bar had a lovely intimate and relaxing ambiance.
The Peacock boasts attractive Southern Indian influences in the decor. The breakfast had a varied choice including a range of fruit juices, freshly cut fruit salad, prunes muffins, pastries, toast, and cereal..........The full english was very tasty.

Room Tip: If you like a really spacious light room its worth paying a little extra for a club room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Be warned: our room was nothing like any of the ones in the photos. It was small, tired and tatty (chipped, mahogany effect chipboard furniture and a strange musty smell). Our air con was broken so our room was unbearably hot all night. The wifi wasn't working. The car park was very tight but just about usable.

Despite booking for two people, we were only given one towel and had to request a second one. The bed had only two (flat) pillows, although we were able to find two more (tatty) pillows in the wardrobe.

On the plus side, the staff were polite (if indifferent - we thought our booking included breakfast but it was a 'computer says no' situation). Also the tiny ensuite had been newly tiled and the room was clean.
I would never stay here again, it was horribly disappointing - do not rely on those photos!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank debcoll81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My recent experiences of Best Western had left me a little wary but the BEST WESTERN Peacock Hotel was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is attached to a small Indian restaurant and is a 5-10 minute drive from Coventry. The room I had was well appointed with free wifi (Many bigger hotels could take note as I often have to pay up to £5 per night for not very good internet access) The breakfast was lovely and very accommodating. The staff were helpful, polite and offered to me with everything I should want or needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

overall review on trip advisor was good which is why I booked the hotel. On a business trip and wanted a peaceful evening to do my work. While wifi was a boon and very welcome the rest of the experience was very average. Gr8 that the bus from warwick university stops very close to hotel. The receptionist when I called of course very confidently suggested the wrong number. Luckily the bus driver put me right. No airconditioning, and decor is dated. Given a room on the ground floor that overlooks the cark park - I dare not open the windows. Apparently this happens to the most spacious single room. While OK for a business trip I dare not bring the family along. Haven't tried the shower as yet but can believe it to be a drip feed!WC squashed between walls, small shower enclosure. Better be slim to squeeze into it! The staff are a nice bunch. So some good and some not so good. All in all average!

Room Tip: Sorry, can't help with this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilakay542561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed for a long weekend with my partner and had the most amazing time. The hotel was clean an comfortable. The room was spacioius and had everything you need. The breakfast was lovely and very accommodating. The staff were helpful, polite and helped us with everything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

What a fantastic place to stay!!! We had an overnight stay in this hotel on 13th April to enable us to have an early start visiting Warwick Castle on the 14th. On arrival, we were checked in by a really friendly member of staff and we were extremely happy with the room we were given. It wasn't a huge room but there was plenty of space to move arround freely and everything we needed for a trouble-free stay was to hand. The whole hotel was very clean and nicely furnished throughout and the full english breakfast was cooked to perfection. The hotel is located on the main road through Kenilworth so we were spoiled for choice will all the bars and restaraunts in walking distance. I would definately recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation is staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzylipgloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.1 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Townhouse Hotel

Address: 149 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HY, England (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: £58 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Townhouse Hotel with spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. Raffles Restaurant and Bar with Lounge, situated in Kenilworth Town Centre. Close to Warwick University, Birmingham, Coventry and Leamington Spa. Warwick Castle and Stratford Upon Avon are closeby for a weekend break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Peacock Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kenilworth
Kenilworth Best Western
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing