We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“graduation short notice booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
wales uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“graduation short notice booking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

we were pleased to find parking behind the hotel despite the £5 charge.
booking in was good. friendly staff and everywhere very clean.

our room was 312 in the garden and up in theroof of an out building conversion.
it was sweltering despite the windows being open. at 11 pm we had to get a fan from reception as it was so hot.
the four poster bed was beautifully made but the frame was lose so it creaked and every time we moved.
the bath room was immaculate with all the creams and potions you need for a stay.
the towels luxurious and fluffly.
breakfast was included but other wise if not stated it was a continental type fruit yogurt toast. the full english was sparse but sufficient if you'd had toast before it.
the coffee was refilled at whim.
there is an in house indian restaurant which smelt divine and we wouldve eaten there if we'd not had chinese curry the night before.
all in all it was a lovely room but needs a fan i the ceiling at least or best air con. the bed needs a carpenters attention. and some drapes on it.
the power shower was great after a long drive from wales. much appreciated.
would go again as its places so conveniently to clarendon rd.
keep up the service the staff were great.!!

Room Tip: the garden rooms are off the road and quiet once the staff have left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscuityboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    113
    57
    47
    46
See reviews for
38
108
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Although the staff where very friendly and helpful, the rooms where spotlessly clean, modern and tidy the hotel, a Best Western, was somehow disappointing. The stair and hall way in the hotel was dated, I think I slept next to the restaurants extraction or the hotel boiler I have no idea, but something made a noise all night! the breakfast although well presented was in a room too small for everyone so some people had to eat in the restaurant area and walk backwards and forward with toast etc. there is a hidden stealth tax on the car park of £5 and although the room comes with a power shower! you have to do battle with it to get it working and even then it’s a struggle.
I have staid in better for less but I would probably stay again all that said as I couldn’t knock the room cleanliness

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This is not a 5 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be. It is very clean, tidy and in an excellent location in the centre of Kenilworth with parking (which is worth £5 per night). The staff are brilliant. As helpful as you could imagine and very friendly. We stayed in a family room with a double bed, a single bed and camp bed and everything was exactly as we had booked. Breakfast was great and offered excellent choice (including authentic Indian breakfast dishes if you wished). Thanks for a great stay and we will be back again in the future.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We made a laterooms booking at the Peacock Hotel where the reviews were positive. Our experience was marred by an attempt to charge us (£5) for parking(!) on arrival, with statements like we would be charged £20 in central London . Thankfully our paperwork confirmed that parking was inclusive. The room itself was OK, clean and tidy, although a previous guest had taken one of the batteries from the clock. This was quickly replaced and extra tea and coffee supplies were provided without problem. The room was a little tired decoratively but towels, toiletries and linen of good standard. Breakfast a bit hit and miss, no toast offered but otherwise reasonable selection. We slept well and the bed was comfortable. We would book again if we needed a room last minute, but might be tempted to try one of the B&Bs in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coralisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed 5 nights as a solo business traveller. My room was located in the Stables (not in the main building of the hotel).

While the room was OK, it was only superficially clean - perhaps not even that. For example, the bathroom floor still had talcum powder on it from a previous guest! The cups and glasses on the hospitality tray were not clean. The room was quite dusty in places. However, the wireless internet worked reliably the whole time, which was terrific - I think it's one strong plus point of this hotel.

The bed was two singles made up as a queen, and the single mattresses were not the same - so there was a "ridge" running down the middle of the bed.

A number of items from the room came and went during my stay, which was really odd. First, there was an extra radiator in my room on arrival - the next day it was gone. Second, there was an ironing board and iron in the closet on my first day - taken away halfway through the week. This was really inconvenient.

The entrance to the stables rooms (306 and 307) is via a VERY small antechamber - not big enough for a person plus a suitcase. The lack of space was compounded by the presence of a large potted fig tree (another item that mysteriously went walkabout during my stay). The noise from guests coming and going from the adjacent room (just the door closing) was really loud and woke me up several nights. Also, the external access door did not close properly, which I think is a real security problem - anyone can walk off the street.

However, the location is fine, and the parking arrangements were also fine (for a small car - I wouldn't want to be parking an SUV in their carpark).

Room Tip: Not the stables if you value security and a not being woken up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozetraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kenilworth hotels

nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

There are many plus points here. Spacious comfortable room. Extremely friendly, helpful, courteous staff. Competitively priced. The downsides are mostly a product of the site which is near the town centre and completely surrounded by other properties. This results in a car park which tests manoeuvering skills, the smallest reception desk I have ever seen and a rather cramped and narrow staircase. The only 'in-house' problem is a lack of attention to detail on the maintenance side with odd missing/loose bits on bathroom equipment. Overall a place i am happy to return to.

Room Tip: Executive and superior rooms (I think thoise are the names) are significantly better than standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evallonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was our second visit and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay, so relaxing and clean. The staff were very friendly and keen to help. We stayed in a superior room and for the price we paid it was a real bargain. Every thing was spotless clean and tidy. Big comfortable King size bed.
We ate at the coconut lagoon restaurant which was a south Indian restaurant which was also a brilliant dining experience. The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and was great also. I would definitely recommend this hotel to every one

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
1.2 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#3 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Townhouse Hotel

Property: The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Address: 149 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HY, England (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Townhouse Hotel with spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. Raffles Restaurant and Bar with Lounge, situated in Kenilworth Town Centre. Close to Warwick University, Birmingham, Coventry and Leamington Spa. Warwick Castle and Stratford Upon Avon are closeby for a weekend break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Peacock Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kenilworth
Kenilworth Best Western
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing