We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a lovely hotel!The staff are lovely,they were very friendly on arrival.The room was lovely & clean.Breakfast was amazing,my husband had the full English on both mornings.He said 5stars only thing he suggested was maybe some beans! I had an Indian breakfast which was AMAZING!! I can't remember the name of it!So much so we ate at the restaurant (The Coconut Lagoon) that night because it was so good!
The hotel is central for everything & we will be defientley be returning!
The only negatives would be paying for the car park & drinks too expensive, but it won't stop us going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisacourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    126
    60
    48
    47
See reviews for
43
120
29
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor,, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great character being old former monastery. Good pool, elevated position with fine views, sunny terraces, excellent food and service. Quite good large grounds with olive trees. Well above town but convenient access via safe footpath with some steps to Sorrento.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Wendy,mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

after booking this via bw arrived and reception is a cupboard under the stairs ...wanted my veh reg and was told there was £5.00 CHARGE TO PARK...told them was not paying it ...a male then printed a copy of there website showing it has A PARKING CHARGE i then offered to show him the bw hotel search site which does not show it but he declined the offer...had a stable block room which was clean and presentable...but bulb out and only 3 pillows....went to the bar and ordered a pint of becks and the receptionist who had become waitress then became barperson tried pouring it and said the barrel had gone and did i want a bottle of cobra instead...offer was declined i am suprised they don't give the poor girl a high vis jacket and a wheel clamp then she can patrol the car park as well,,,instead of making money out of the car park get the hotel running and incoporate a charge for the cap park in the price ...sadly disappointed with the establishment..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared H, Manager at The Peacock Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear jetboot

I was sad to learn that you felt that you were wrongly charged for parking during your recent stay. We do try our best to ensure that this charge is communicated to guests up front at the point of booking in as many places as possible. I have today checked the websites as follows and can see that parking charges are listed on all of these; http://www.peacockhotel.com/, www.bestwestern.co.uk and www.bestwestern.com.

If you are able to let me know where you saw the hotel advertised and if car parking was shown as free or not listed as charged then I will be able to address this for future guests.

I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again at some stage as we appreciate your business and value each of our many customers very much.

If you would prefer to discuss this directly with me please do call the hotel an your convenience.

Kind regards

Jared
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kenilworth hotels

Fleet, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I liked this hotel more than the standard faceless business hotel. I stayed on business for one night. The staff were all friendly, cheerful and helpful. I chose a superior double room for single occupancy. The room was clean, spacious and well furnished. Although the decor may have been a little faded and slightly dated, this helped with the atmosphere of an old colonial hotel which was clearly intended. The mixture of Indian and English food and staff was in keeping with this. My evening meal in the bar was good as was the freshly cooked breakfast.

If you want somewhere immaculate, shiny and faceless go to one of the big chain hotels - if you want somewhere more friendly and personal then give the Peacock a try.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews after booking on Tesco voucher deal we were rather concerned. But we were delighted to find a warm welcome, a very clean and spacious, recently decorated room and comfortable beds. It is certainly quirky but unpretentious and whilst some of the communal corridors and stairs are a little tired-looking, everywhere that matters is cared for. Service was excellent and the breakfast generous and with the addition of an Indian breakfast if you wanted to try it, unusual. What matters most about a hotel stay is that you can relax, sleep well and wake refreshed ready for a good breakfast. The staff were attentive without being overbearing. We would definitely stay again. We stayed in room 206, a family room, which was lovely. Hots water seemed to struggle from the basin tap but the power shower more than compensated.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Strange little hotel. Don't make the mistake I did and book a single room if you are intending on trying to get any work done in your room. It was a very shallow desk and there was so little space in the room that I couldn't put my reference material around me while working. There's a whole list of reasons I was not happy with my stay here:

1. Tiny room
2. Tiny single bed
3. Squeaky bed (sounded like angry ducks any time I moved)
4. Internet works on a voucher system, which is free, but every time you turn off your computer or smartphone it loses the connection and you have to re-enter the password when you want to go back on line.
5. They charge for parking. Now it's not a total rip-off at a fiver, but some of the parking spaces are so small I would worry about parking a motorcycle there, much less a car.
6. Depending on your room, your window could be facing the flue from the kitchen. So I smelled curry all night.
7. The restaurant is not very good value for money if you are used to local similar establishments in the area. In my opinion as well, the food isn't that special either.
8. Shallow desk (see above).
9. Squeaky floor boards in hall-way and poor sound insulation.
10. Incomprehensible billing. My invoice doesn't match what I actually paid.

Having said all that, it is definitely an unusual hotel, and is run by friendly people. So if that's what floats your boat, go for it.

Room Tip: Don't get a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfg_hightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

In addition to the £5 parking charge (which isn't mentioned until you get to the car park), an extra £5 was added to my bill without explanation when I paid, as requested, at check-in. I did manage to get it refunded at checkout time - but I had to ask about it. Nobody checked the bill against the amount paid and they certainly didn't volunteer a refund.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 737A_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.2 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.1 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Townhouse Hotel

Property: The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Address: 149 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HY, England (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Townhouse Hotel with spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. Raffles Restaurant and Bar with Lounge, situated in Kenilworth Town Centre. Close to Warwick University, Birmingham, Coventry and Leamington Spa. Warwick Castle and Stratford Upon Avon are closeby for a weekend break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Peacock Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kenilworth
Kenilworth Best Western
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing