We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most hospitable hotel I have ever stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
1 review
“The most hospitable hotel I have ever stayed at.”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stay in hotels on average 100 plus nights every year.
This hotel is one of the best, it is even better that some of the Hiltons and Marriotts I have stayed at.
The hotel is clean comfy fairly modern and the staff are great.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justybiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    255
    119
    33
    16
See reviews for
113
189
18
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We spent three nights here in an Executive room. The price was reasonable and the room was clean and well-equipped with a good view. We had dinner twice in the restaurant and on both occasions thought that the food and wine were good value for a hotel. The free internet was easy to use. Staff were generally helpful and friendly. The only problem was breakfast. 9am on a Friday may be late when breakfast is only served till 9.30 but there were no rolls or croissants left and no offer to get any more. Just a rather tired warm cooked breakfast and some stale bread. Pity, as otherwise the stay had been excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hordern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisesheepy, Business Development Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have to apologise about the experience you had with our breakfast, it is practice for us to provide both Continental and full English Breakfast up until the restaurant closes for breakfast. Please be assured that this has been passed onto our Operations Manager who is looking into why this happened.

Once again please except my apologies and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Louise Sheepy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Recently stayed at Holiday Inn with my daughter as a special treat for us both before she gets married. I explained this when I booked the room and asked that if there was anything special they could do I would be very grateful. On arrival there was nothing special - very little conversation on check in, efficient but cold. Room was small and average. On the bed there was a questionnaire to complete but when I looked at it, it had already been completed by the previous visitor! When we went down to breakfast in the morning it was more like a motorway service station canteen. We stood in the queue for food and when we got to the front were greeted by empty trays! A couple of sausages remained - pale grey, cooked but not browned - ugh, no bacon! There were two fired eggs left that looked very sad. The people behind us were told the chef would cook some more but it would be 10 minutes! I tried the orange juice dispenser but it dispensed slightly coloured foul tasting water. The coffee was luke warm. Probably the worst hotel breakfast I have had for years and certainly not up to the standard you expect from the prices charged by Holiday Inn. Checkout was the same cold process, no conversation just presented with the bill - no "did you enjoy your stay?" or anything nearing friendliness. The one girl on checkout at 10am (checkout time) also had to answer the phone so by the time she had dealt with us there was quite a long queue building up. I did email the Hotel to express my disappointment at our stay but as yet no reply!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slw08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisesheepy, Business Development Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you very much for your review and can I apologise for your experience. So we can investigate into this matter further and rectify the problems you experienced please contact our Operational Manager directly, tony@hi-kenilworth.com. Please can I assure you this is not our normal standard of service within the hotel and will be looked into immediately. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnewt
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed as part of weekend at Silverstone. Hotel is comfortable and clean and any staff we had dealings with were lovely - totally charming and helpful.

Only criticism is that as part of a tour group we found the service in the restaurant to be at best haphazard, at worst totally shambolic. This was not in any way the fault of the young staff who were working hard and trying their best, but they really could have done with a bit of guidance.

If ever back in the area would stay again though, and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisesheepy, Business Development Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
Thank you very much for your review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Kenilworth. We pride ourselves in the quality and service we provide and can I apologise for the experience you received in our restaurant. Can I assure you that this information has been passed onto the Operations Manager and will be looked into.
Once again thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Kenilworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zürich
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

staff very friendly and good!!
always enjoy staying here in the business rooms. the business rooms have a very good size and nice design.
the hotel is located in the middle of kenilworth very close to many restaurants. the gym area good be a bit bigger.
thanks always for the warm welcome by the staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2011

First impression of this hotel is good, large reception and public areas and helpful and polite staff. The rooms however leave much to be desired, although well appointed with things such as irons and ironing boards the rooms are so small that it makes them uncomfortable when 2 people are trying to move around.( Where could you actually use that ironing board?) The furniture is basic and uncomfortable although there was nothing wrong with the bed. Service in the restaurant is good although I was disappointed that my very nice lamb steak was served with what was termed as "sage mash", actually instant mash at which the chef had thrown a handful of dried herbs, and missed. Breakfast,however, is excellent.
My main gripe about this hotel and many others is the very low level of lighting in the rooms, the public areas and hallways are all well lit and the bathrooms are dazzling which only makes the rooms seem even darker than they are.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisesheepy, Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. We are at present reviewing our menu and have taken your comments on board. With regards to the bedroom lighting it is at the required level of lux's for Holiday Inn Brand standards but we will forward your comments to Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My wife and I stayed stayed here for 1 night on route to our friends in the South and had a very pleasant & enjoyable stay.

Location - right in the centre of town by a busy roundabout but not noisy.
Parking - free on-site car park. You might struggle to get a space if you stayed on a busy night.
Reception - a very bright & welcoming reception area.
Rooms - smaller than we're used to but we were only staying for 1 night. Extremely clean, good facilities (rarely do we see an iron, an ironing board and a proper hairdryer). Free internet.
Bathroom - once again, clean & tidy.
Restaurant - overpriced (but you expect that in hotels) and deserted (only 8 customers at 6.15pm on a Friday night). We had 2 pizzas which were really nice. The hotel does a good 2-for-1 offer on all courses in the restaurant before 6.45pm.
Breakfast - good selection of hot & cold food & drink. All very nice (even 10 minutes before closing).
Bar - as usual, we avoided the hotel bar. £3.50 for a pint of Stella. My local charges £2.90. We only saw 2 people drinking in the bar. I wonder why?
Other - you can get a free cup of tea & coffee in Starbucks (located on the ground floor).
A nice touch.

Only one complaint - foreign workers. I do wish hotels would employ British staff who can get food orders right in the restaurant and charge you the correct amount. I didn't know whether to blow my top or laugh when we had our evening meal. We didn't have a problem with the British staff at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No-Bull-99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisesheepy, Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback and that you were pleased with the facilities on offer, we have invested alot of time and effort to ensure our product is appealing and offers value for money.
With regards to the pricing of the beer on the bar £3.50 for a pint of Stella is very competative within this town and the local public houses are charging a similar amount so we remain competative with our bar prices.
The only comment that peterbs me is the one about foreign staff. The hospitality industry has always employed persons from abroad and I would employ more English staff if they were available or even had the inclination to work in the hospitality industry. We as an industry work very hard to broaden our appeal to all staff and to no avail with the English staff this will always be an issue throughout the United Kingdom.
Once again thank you for your comments.
David Myskow - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
1.7 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.5 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
629 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick

Property: Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Address: 212 Abbey End, Kenilworth CV8 1ED, England (Formerly DeMontfort Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kenilworth set in the heart of Kenilworth easily accessible for all Midlands motorway networks M40, J15, M6, J6 J4 and M69, J21. The Holiday Inn Kenilworth is just a 20 minute drive from The National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and Birmingham International Airport and railway station. The National Agriculture Centre at Stoneleigh home to The Royal Show is 4 miles away. The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Kenilworth has 115 bedrooms and four meeting rooms. The new Holiday Inn Kenilworth offers contemporary style and comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers Free High Speed Internet Access throughout. The hotel will have four newly refurbished conference rooms all with natural daylight and air-conditioning the largest accommodating up to 250. Guest can unwind and relax in our modern newly refurbished restaurant 212 Kenilworth Bar and Brasserie, stop off at our Starbucks Coffee shop to sample their renowned coffee or take advantage of the 24 hour room service menu. The hotel has many attractions nearby ideally located within walking distance of Kenilworth Castle and Town and a short drive to Stratford Upon Avon home to The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Royal Leamington Spa and Warwick. For Families nearby attractions include Hatton Country World, Warwick Castle, Drayton Manor Park and Zoo and Cadburys World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
Demontfort Hotel Kenilworth
Kenilworth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing