We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good staff shame about the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good staff shame about the hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A n overnight stay after attending a nearby wedding was more than enough. The staff were excellent helping organise transport to and frm the wedding venue. Despite a relatively small breakfast area, the staff did their utmost all needs we're accommodated. Access to our room on the 4th floor was via 2 small lifts which were kept busy during our stay. Seeking to use the stairs we were directed round the hotel and down what we thought were the stairs only to fond an external emergency only exit or the kitchen! Clarity of signage to stairs to the reception is clearly required. The room was small but clean. The bed was small and the mattress was soft and provided poor support for any back sufferers. Premier inns have set a high standard, this Holiday inn fell well short,

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quieter the room but be patient during busy times waiting for the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDwed2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear KDwed2010,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel. I am pleased with your positive comments regarding our staff. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfalls, particularly with the accessibility of the rooms assigned to you and the mattresses that fell below your standards. Your comments will be used to improve on our end and provide our valued guests with a better experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts and we hope we get another chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    246
    118
    31
    16
See reviews for
109
183
18
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here when our friends were married nearby. This hotel was clean, tidy and entirely functional.

The room was a decent size and the bed was comfy.

The bathroom was also clean and had everything we needed, albeit, the water pressure in the shower was a bit 'temperamental'.

There was a nice selection of food for breakfast. However, some of it had been sat for a while, so perhaps best to get there early!

Unfortunately we didn't have chance to explore the local area, but would stay here again if we ever return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank apperley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisesheepy, Business Development Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you very much for your review all of your comments have been passed onto the teams here at the Hotel.

Thank you once again

Kind Regards
Louise Sheepy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Another stay at the HI Kenilworth and all was very goof throughout. Service very good, and i was upgraded to a suite on the top floor, which was spacious, well appointed and nice views over town. Great location with a number of restaurants in the town, all within a few mins walk.

Room Tip: book a suite room, they are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisesheepy, Business Development Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with , I am glad that you found all aspects of your stay comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Louise Sheepy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for one night as part of a larger party. The service from the front desk staff was absolutely brilliant. Helpful and friendly certainly are good words to use. Our room was excellent - really nothing to improve on. Perhaps the breakfast was a little lack lustre?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisesheepy, Business Development Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you very much for your review I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been passed onto the team here at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed for 1 night with my husband and 2 sons, as we were attending a family party in a nearby house. The room was very pleasant and very clean, the beds were comfortable and we all had a good, undisturbed sleep. Unfortunately, my husband had booked and paid for the family room (2 double beds) on line and when we arrived the receptionist advised us we would have to pay an additional £50 for my 2 sons (aged 17 and 14) as they were classed as additional adults in the room. Having checked all the paperwork and online booking there was no mention of this so we asked to see the manager. She was not at all helpful and became quite aggressive when we refused to pay the additional "adult" charges for our children. In the morning, my husband had to spend his valuable family time online and on the phone to the main Holiday Inn customer services and they advised him that the charges were not appropriate and they were waived, but I wouldn't stay there again after the treatment we received.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not going to be subjected to additional charges for having CHILDREN in your family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SKW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear SKW18,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted you liked your room accommodation. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you had surrounding the extra charges. We also regret you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and service we offer.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location of this hotel is great for Kenilworth Castle and a quick browse around Kenilworth High Street and we got a good price for a Saturday evening stay.

Free parking- although limited- we arrived early and parked up- popping in to ask reception if they needed our number plate ahead of time. We asked a young guy on reception who looked aghast at us asking anything and looked across to a female colleague to answer us. Not the best first impression of a hotel! He looked quite frankly- clueless.

When we booked in later that afternoon we were asked to pay the full bill at that time- as they have too many incidences of guests leaving before they have paid or providing counterfeit credit card details. Sort of gave an impression of the hotel that wasn’t that favourable!

Our room- 504 was absolutely tiny. In its favour it was on the 5th floor and thus away from any noise- as they were having a wedding reception on the Saturday we were there,
The room just about fit a double bed and nothing else. The bed was comfortable however and they had provided feather pillows as I had requested.

Flat screen TV on the wall was small and had a very limited number of TV channels and many were a poor reception. This really is the sort of place you just come to sleep and not much else.

Free wifi was appreciated and a seemingly good signal.

Breakfast the next day was average to poor. Three members of female staff stood pointing out the buffet and that everyone should basically serve themselves and then stood around chatting, rather than tidying the buffet, replenishing or taking away dirty plates on the tables. Gave a very poor impression and they basically looked bored at having to be there. Actual cooked items were of poor quality, other cold items were good with lots of cereal choice and fresh and tinned fruit. Let’s just say if it wasn't included in the price I wouldn't have paid separately for it.

So all in all- not that impressed. Lots of stains on the carpets in the hallway, Chicken korma coloured walls and an impression of everything done on the cheap. This is really no better than a Premier Inn but the price point is that much higher. Based on my stay I am not entirely sure what it has going for it other than location. Could do better!

Room Tip: Upper floors awar from any potential noise if having a function
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Gslade,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Comfortable room new furnished and contemporary style, the hotel is centrally located and close to,local,restaurants. Stayed in for meal one night and food very bland and tasteless vegetables. There was s smell of paint while I was there only a slight irritant. Staff very friendly and helpful but because of the food and small bar area I have to rate average. Slightly overpriced for HOliday Inns in this type of location. Watch out for coach loads of German tourists they get up early and are like locusts all over the breakfast buffet.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Zel-Kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Zel-Kel,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
1.7 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick

Property: Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Address: 212 Abbey End, Kenilworth CV8 1ED, England (Formerly DeMontfort Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kenilworth set in the heart of Kenilworth easily accessible for all Midlands motorway networks M40, J15, M6, J6 J4 and M69, J21. The Holiday Inn Kenilworth is just a 20 minute drive from The National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and Birmingham International Airport and railway station. The National Agriculture Centre at Stoneleigh home to The Royal Show is 4 miles away. The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Kenilworth has 115 bedrooms and four meeting rooms. The new Holiday Inn Kenilworth offers contemporary style and comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers Free High Speed Internet Access throughout. The hotel will have four newly refurbished conference rooms all with natural daylight and air-conditioning the largest accommodating up to 250. Guest can unwind and relax in our modern newly refurbished restaurant 212 Kenilworth Bar and Brasserie, stop off at our Starbucks Coffee shop to sample their renowned coffee or take advantage of the 24 hour room service menu. The hotel has many attractions nearby ideally located within walking distance of Kenilworth Castle and Town and a short drive to Stratford Upon Avon home to The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Royal Leamington Spa and Warwick. For Families nearby attractions include Hatton Country World, Warwick Castle, Drayton Manor Park and Zoo and Cadburys World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
Demontfort Hotel Kenilworth
Kenilworth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing