We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nostalgic return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
East Midlands
Level Contributor
354 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A nostalgic return”
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here 40 years ago on our honeymoon, when it was the De Montfort Hotel. Although part of a chain, the staff made us welcome. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. We had booked an Executive room with a view of Kenilworth. Our large room was well-equiped and the air-con was very efficient on the hottest day of the year so far. After a good night's sleep we went down to breakfast. The buffet provided a good choice; the hot dishes were just that, but not dried out as they can be on a buffet.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    246
    118
    31
    16
See reviews for
109
183
18
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This hotel used to be called the De Montfort Hotel, and was under different management when we stayed there last time, unfortunately it is not even remotely the same comfort and service that it used to be.It had a comfortable old fashioned ambience last time we stayed, and the staff were wonderful.When we checked in we arrived a little early and was told by a rude receptionist that we couldnt get our room until 2pm, even though we had flown from Australia and were tired and worn out with the flight.
She asked hadn't we checked our paperwork to see what time we could get in, when we said that we would appreciate an earlier check in she said have you got a car,can't you use that for the next couple of hours.
It was like being checked into a very nasty Bed and Breakfast in a seaside town in England back in the60's. we then had the supervisor take up the problem and it was solved and low and behold our room was ready, but none of the staff on that day were even remotely interested and if we hadn't paid up front we would of simply left and found other accomodation
The quality of service and care was just not there, the new rooms were not as well furnished as they used to be or comfortable. The breakfast which was included though was very good, as were the staff in the breakfast room, they could not have been more helpful or friendly, pity this was not to be said about the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

After recently been quite unhappy with the offerings by Holiday Inn franchise, this gave me hope. Friendly staff, recently renovated rooms, easy parking.

Only downside was the bar, which had all the charm and comfort of King's Cross station.

Apart from that, lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tortellinipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We decided to stay over on a night out in Kenilworth and the room rate (including breakfast) for a suite was such good value that we booked one rather than a standard double. On arrival we were allocated the penthouse (room 703) which was a nice surprise! This is a great room; spacious with massive bed, separate lounge area, good size bathroom and sliding patio doors onto a large private balcony with panoramic views of Kenilworth, the castle and surrounding countryside. For the space and view the room rate represents incredible value for money. You pay more than this for a standard double at most other hotels.

A few mini gripes (and I am being pedantic here). Only one bathrobe for a double room, no bottle opener for use with the mini-bar, no mini-bar price list (although the prices were reasonable), and I think a more powerful shower and complimentary mineral water should be standard for a suite anywhere.

A proper gripe was the mix up at breakfast. The room information said breakfast was served until 12 noon on Sundays. When we turned up at 10.15 am we were told, rather churlishly, that breakfast ended at 10am. I asked for coffee at least which we were given and, ultimately, we did have a cooked breakfast (great quality actually) but we were made to feel somewhat uncomfortable which we did not appreciate since the error lay with the hotel info not us! We did bring this to the attention of reception on check-out who were very apologetic. It seems that the room info is correct for the larger Holiday Inn hotels but not this one.

However, other than the breakfast fiasco, all other staff were enthusiastic and helpful, particularly reception. There is a restaurant but we did not eat there and a Starbucks attached and I was generally impressed with the modern décor and furnishings. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in or around Kenilworth and for the internet advance rate we paid I would definitely recommend the penthouse – it is worth paying the extra!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Stopped here last weekend with my wife and 2 daughters (3 years old and 1 year old)
Staff were very helpful, especially the front reception staff and the restaurant staff who went out of their way to accommodate us and our children. Room nice and spacious, ac didnt seem to work correctly first night but a visit to reception next morning meant nice and cool room on our return.

Starbucks in the ground floor was handy after a quick shopping jaunt in the high street on our return as well :)

Would recommend whole heartedly

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
208 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We received a very warm welcome on arrival from the reception team who checked us in quickly and efficiently. We checked into an Executive room on the third floor which afforded views over the town. Both the bedroom and bathroom are very well appointed and very welcoming. The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout and achieves a very high standard.
The hotel is situated in the town centre just minutes from the A46 and within easy travelling distance of Leamington Spa, Warwick and Stratford on Avon. Kenilworth is itself a very attractive town with many interesting parts including Kenilworth Castle which is a few minutes walk away from the hotel.
A local market is held every Thursday morning from 9am and is held directly across from the hotel.
Meals are served in the 212 Restaurant and additionally a Starbucks Coffee Shop is also available in the hotel.
We had a very enjoyable meal in the 212 Restaurant on our 2nd nights stay.
We found the staff to be very friendly and eager to help and are a credit to the hotel and the Holiday Inn brand.
We will definitely return to stay at this hotel in the not too distant future as we enjoyed our stay very much and will this afford us the opportunity to explore the area even more.
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting the area for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Let's start with the positives. This hotel is located right in the middle of town and is surrounded by bus stops which will get you to the local rail stations (CVoventry or Leamington Spa) as well as the uni. The hotel is pretty good value (£53 b&b is a very good deal) and has free wi-fi throughout. The rooms are clean and offer the usual HI ammenities.

Unfortunately we got a rather frosty welcome from the reception staff - I can live with that to be honest! Moving on to the following morning and I was a little surprised when we got a call from the front desk reminding us that we had half an hour to chek-out (check-out is an hour earlier than the HI standard of 12.00)! I had never had a reminder like this before! It wasn't exactly welcoming!

When we checked out we were surprised to find we had been charged for a newspaper (which should be complimentary to Priority Club members). Apparently this hotel doesn't offer that service (as it is not 'owned' by Holiday Inn, it isn't committed to observing all Priority Club perks as the receptionist was very keen to point out) and only allows you to have the Telegraph for free. The receptionist handled this situation badly and the situation was only resolved when the excellent duty manager was called to the desk and cancelled the charge and made a fully apology on behalf of the receptionist.

This hotel has only recently become a HI franchise but it must realise that if guests experience poor service here they will associate it with the entire HI brand, not just the De Montrfort Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylanw_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
1.7 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick

Property: Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Address: 212 Abbey End, Kenilworth CV8 1ED, England (Formerly DeMontfort Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kenilworth set in the heart of Kenilworth easily accessible for all Midlands motorway networks M40, J15, M6, J6 J4 and M69, J21. The Holiday Inn Kenilworth is just a 20 minute drive from The National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and Birmingham International Airport and railway station. The National Agriculture Centre at Stoneleigh home to The Royal Show is 4 miles away. The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Kenilworth has 115 bedrooms and four meeting rooms. The new Holiday Inn Kenilworth offers contemporary style and comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers Free High Speed Internet Access throughout. The hotel will have four newly refurbished conference rooms all with natural daylight and air-conditioning the largest accommodating up to 250. Guest can unwind and relax in our modern newly refurbished restaurant 212 Kenilworth Bar and Brasserie, stop off at our Starbucks Coffee shop to sample their renowned coffee or take advantage of the 24 hour room service menu. The hotel has many attractions nearby ideally located within walking distance of Kenilworth Castle and Town and a short drive to Stratford Upon Avon home to The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Royal Leamington Spa and Warwick. For Families nearby attractions include Hatton Country World, Warwick Castle, Drayton Manor Park and Zoo and Cadburys World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
Demontfort Hotel Kenilworth
Kenilworth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing