We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Suites are very nice, but reception staff require some listening training”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Suites are very nice, but reception staff require some listening training”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed at this hotel due to an attendance of a marriage nearby, so therefore our actual stay did not consist of a long periods of time within this hotel. On our arrival we were told that our suite was not ready, but the way we were told this was not very polite and also its was some what negative behaviour from the front desk staff, we accepted that we had arrived too early and decided to go away and come back in the afternoon, we would have appreciated it more if the staff had said, "please could we offer you complimentary coffee or tea and will advise you as to when your room will be ready" like most other Holiday Inns do in the rest of the world, but since it looks like that the UK is so profit driven, I suppose common courtesy has flown out of the door.

The suites are nice but not being explained also how to get them? correctly is also a failure by the front desk staff, How would anybody know that you have to take the lift to the 6th floor and then look for a door that leads you to the some hidden stairs to the 7th floor unless you were told to do so???

The room service was lacking in attentiveness since we ordered a continental breakfast in our room and only received half of it, as I say once you get into the Suite its a nice room, but why the bad service??? also having to contact room service for a room menu seems to be confusing issue for the staff since there was not one room menu in our room for the two nights we stayed there, is this because the staff do not want to carry food to the 7th floor because of the difficult way to arrive there?

Holiday Inns you have attempted to update this hotel but, I am presuming you have not done the same with the staff in the way of training, please prove me wrong because I will be back soon to see if there is change.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    254
    119
    33
    16
See reviews for
113
189
18
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Holiday Inn Kenilworth is one of the better Holiday Inn hotels I have stayed in. The location is very nice, parking is free (though sometimes cramped), staff were very friendly, the free wifi had a good connection, and the hotel has a convenient Starbucks located on the ground floor.

However, the hotel sorely let itself down with its poorly-kept bathrooms. Most notably, the bath tiles and seals, and shower head and hose suffered with black mould. This mould was excessive, and I was not happy using the bathroom. There is really no excuse for this problem as black mould as it is easily treatable, and shower hoses/head are easily replaceable.

Excluding the bathroom issue, all-in-all a good Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londontraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here 40 years ago on our honeymoon, when it was the De Montfort Hotel. Although part of a chain, the staff made us welcome. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. We had booked an Executive room with a view of Kenilworth. Our large room was well-equiped and the air-con was very efficient on the hottest day of the year so far. After a good night's sleep we went down to breakfast. The buffet provided a good choice; the hot dishes were just that, but not dried out as they can be on a buffet.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This hotel used to be called the De Montfort Hotel, and was under different management when we stayed there last time, unfortunately it is not even remotely the same comfort and service that it used to be.It had a comfortable old fashioned ambience last time we stayed, and the staff were wonderful.When we checked in we arrived a little early and was told by a rude receptionist that we couldnt get our room until 2pm, even though we had flown from Australia and were tired and worn out with the flight.
She asked hadn't we checked our paperwork to see what time we could get in, when we said that we would appreciate an earlier check in she said have you got a car,can't you use that for the next couple of hours.
It was like being checked into a very nasty Bed and Breakfast in a seaside town in England back in the60's. we then had the supervisor take up the problem and it was solved and low and behold our room was ready, but none of the staff on that day were even remotely interested and if we hadn't paid up front we would of simply left and found other accomodation
The quality of service and care was just not there, the new rooms were not as well furnished as they used to be or comfortable. The breakfast which was included though was very good, as were the staff in the breakfast room, they could not have been more helpful or friendly, pity this was not to be said about the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeson28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

After recently been quite unhappy with the offerings by Holiday Inn franchise, this gave me hope. Friendly staff, recently renovated rooms, easy parking.

Only downside was the bar, which had all the charm and comfort of King's Cross station.

Apart from that, lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tortellinipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We decided to stay over on a night out in Kenilworth and the room rate (including breakfast) for a suite was such good value that we booked one rather than a standard double. On arrival we were allocated the penthouse (room 703) which was a nice surprise! This is a great room; spacious with massive bed, separate lounge area, good size bathroom and sliding patio doors onto a large private balcony with panoramic views of Kenilworth, the castle and surrounding countryside. For the space and view the room rate represents incredible value for money. You pay more than this for a standard double at most other hotels.

A few mini gripes (and I am being pedantic here). Only one bathrobe for a double room, no bottle opener for use with the mini-bar, no mini-bar price list (although the prices were reasonable), and I think a more powerful shower and complimentary mineral water should be standard for a suite anywhere.

A proper gripe was the mix up at breakfast. The room information said breakfast was served until 12 noon on Sundays. When we turned up at 10.15 am we were told, rather churlishly, that breakfast ended at 10am. I asked for coffee at least which we were given and, ultimately, we did have a cooked breakfast (great quality actually) but we were made to feel somewhat uncomfortable which we did not appreciate since the error lay with the hotel info not us! We did bring this to the attention of reception on check-out who were very apologetic. It seems that the room info is correct for the larger Holiday Inn hotels but not this one.

However, other than the breakfast fiasco, all other staff were enthusiastic and helpful, particularly reception. There is a restaurant but we did not eat there and a Starbucks attached and I was generally impressed with the modern décor and furnishings. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in or around Kenilworth and for the internet advance rate we paid I would definitely recommend the penthouse – it is worth paying the extra!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Stopped here last weekend with my wife and 2 daughters (3 years old and 1 year old)
Staff were very helpful, especially the front reception staff and the restaurant staff who went out of their way to accommodate us and our children. Room nice and spacious, ac didnt seem to work correctly first night but a visit to reception next morning meant nice and cool room on our return.

Starbucks in the ground floor was handy after a quick shopping jaunt in the high street on our return as well :)

Would recommend whole heartedly

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
1.7 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.5 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
629 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick

Property: Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Address: 212 Abbey End, Kenilworth CV8 1ED, England (Formerly DeMontfort Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kenilworth set in the heart of Kenilworth easily accessible for all Midlands motorway networks M40, J15, M6, J6 J4 and M69, J21. The Holiday Inn Kenilworth is just a 20 minute drive from The National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and Birmingham International Airport and railway station. The National Agriculture Centre at Stoneleigh home to The Royal Show is 4 miles away. The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Kenilworth has 115 bedrooms and four meeting rooms. The new Holiday Inn Kenilworth offers contemporary style and comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers Free High Speed Internet Access throughout. The hotel will have four newly refurbished conference rooms all with natural daylight and air-conditioning the largest accommodating up to 250. Guest can unwind and relax in our modern newly refurbished restaurant 212 Kenilworth Bar and Brasserie, stop off at our Starbucks Coffee shop to sample their renowned coffee or take advantage of the 24 hour room service menu. The hotel has many attractions nearby ideally located within walking distance of Kenilworth Castle and Town and a short drive to Stratford Upon Avon home to The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Royal Leamington Spa and Warwick. For Families nearby attractions include Hatton Country World, Warwick Castle, Drayton Manor Park and Zoo and Cadburys World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
Demontfort Hotel Kenilworth
Kenilworth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing