We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration”
Review of Queen and Castle

Queen and Castle
Ranked #8 of 63 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Price range: US$15 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Situated opposite the beautiful Kenilworth Castle, here at the Queen And Castle we offer a variety of options for your dining experience, from a casual drink in our comfortable bar to some light bites sat on our comfy furniture right down to dining with us in our restaurant with our lovely waiting team, we're here to make sure your visit is a premium one.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First time using the pub as a family of five (2 adults and 3 boys aged 4, 1 and 3 months). Also visited today with father in law for wife's 24th birthday lunch.
Pub was quiet as only 11.30am but staff were efficient and offering quick service when ordering drinks and meals.
All food ordered was excellent (ale battered cod and chips x2 and sea vinegar sandwich) kids eat chips. Food was well priced.
Nice and relaxing and space for the children to enjoy without impacting on other dinners.
Only feedback to give was a lack of children's menu and the restaurant was busy with young families

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAtQandC, Guest Relations Manager at Queen and Castle, responded to this review, 20 January 2017
Many thanks for your review, although this is a retrospective one. We're not sure why the management at the time didn't respond but allow me to thank you on their behalf though they may be long gone.

Thanks again
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    238
    140
    103
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed after first visit”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We visited in February and had a lovely meal, so decided to return for a large group meal with family and friends, well i was very unhappy as was everyone else and i felt even more so after recommending we go there. Service was very slow, the waiters etc were lovely but it was just so slow waited for ages for food, and when starters arrived the camembert cheese well i have no idea what happened to it but it was so over cooked it had almost disappeared and what was left was lumpy and horrid, but was so hungry by that point just ate what was there, then when the mains finally arrived everything had either been left around or was over done, no one enjoyed the meal, so we left soon after, after such a nice meal before this was a real let down, we were upstairs and just felt forgotten about. Would love to give it another try but don't know if i would risk wasting my money!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissC17Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAtQandC, Guest Relations Manager at Queen and Castle, responded to this review, 20 January 2017
Hello and thanks for your review which I am addressing retrospectively. We're not happy that you had a poor experience in the past and i'd like to extend an invitation for you to come back and give our establishment another opportunity to show you we've changed and we're committed to making sure you have a great experience.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delightful ”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I often visit the queen and castle when I visit Kenilworth and I always leave feeling the need to write yet another great review. Fantastic management. Friendly staff and divine food. Even on the hottest days when they are full their service and standards never drop. Well done guys

Helpful?
Thank SNLK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAtQandC, Guest Relations Manager at Queen and Castle, responded to this review, 20 January 2017
Hello and thanks for your review. It's always great to get a fantastic review that highlights our establishment and we're glad your experience was a premium one. I can't understand why the previous team didn't thank you sooner!

Thanks again!
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had to wait a long time”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Pub ambience was nice and the menu varied, but the service took far too long and the food was fairly average. The pub appeared to be understaffed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RodFJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAtQandC, Guest Relations Manager at Queen and Castle, responded to this review, 20 January 2017
Hello and thanks for your review which I am addressing retrospectively. We're not happy that you had a poor experience in the past and i'd like to extend an invitation for you to come back and give our establishment another opportunity to show you we've changed and we're committed to making sure you have a great experience.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Staff are amazing, service excellent, food great. Will be back and will recommend to friends. Recently been done up, gardens is lovely with outdoor seating available. Staff made it a very special and enjoyable evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizi090411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAtQandC, Guest Relations Manager at Queen and Castle, responded to this review, 20 January 2017
Hello and thanks for your review. It's always great to get a fantastic review that highlights our establishment and we're glad your experience was a premium one. I can't understand why the previous team didn't thank you sooner!

Thanks again!
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queen and Castle also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to Queen and Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing