We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Queen & Castle

The Queen & Castle
Ranked #9 of 66 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Price range: US$14 - US$63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located on the outskirts of Kenilworth in the shadow of Kenilworth Castle, The Queen & Castle is a fabulous village pub that is perfectly equipped to deliver top-notch food, in truly premium surroundings. With its stylish interiors and stunning dining and bar space, The Queen & Castle is the perfect place to enjoy a romantic evening for two, a lively celebration with friends, or a Sunday roast with all the family. In addition to this, we also boast a fantastic outdoor space, where you can enjoy your meal or drinks whilst taking in breath-taking views of Kenilworth Castle. There really is no better place to relax, unwind and indulge in the sunshine during the summer months.
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Similar experience to Dec2301. Six of us went for Sunday Lunch 10th August. The restaurant asked for feedback and I sent an e-mail but they have never replied. One portion of roast pork was so tiny we sent it back. As a vegetarian I was concerned that they thought that serving duck fat roast potatoes with the vegetarian roast option was acceptable and I was charged £1.95 for an extra crust of bread!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carol268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAtQandC, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Hello and thanks for your review which I am addressing retrospectively. We're not happy that you had a poor experience in the past and i'd like to extend an invitation for you to come back and give our establishment another opportunity to show you we've changed and we're committed to making sure you have a great experience.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 689 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Went last Saturday evening food was very overpriced and poor quality, staff were helpful but service was very slow. Smart restaurant just shame the food wasn't better.

Thank Dec2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAtQandC, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Hello and thanks for your review which I am addressing retrospectively. We're not happy that you had a poor experience in the past and i'd like to extend an invitation for you to come back and give our establishment another opportunity to show you we've changed and we're committed to making sure you have a great experience.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I have been to this pub several times in the past month. It is one of the best places to eat in Kenilworth. The service is good and relaxed. If you want Danish style service then this is not the place for you (they let you finish the meal in comfort before they're clearing the plates) but if you like good food then this is the place for you. The minty mushy peas make the tasty fish and chips sublime and the risotto is fantastic. The belly pork is good but could be crispier. I'm definitely coming back!

Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAtQandC, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Many thanks for your review, although this is a retrospective one. We're not sure why the management at the time didn't respond but allow me to thank you on their behalf though they may be long gone.

Thanks again
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very popular and busy with a HUGE menu. Tasty, tasty, tasty. Great Sunday lunches, good prices and terrific wait staff. Thoroughly recommend!

1  Thank Paula790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAtQandC, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Many thanks for your review, although this is a retrospective one. We're not sure why the management at the time didn't respond but allow me to thank you on their behalf though they may be long gone.

Thanks again
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

First time using the pub as a family of five (2 adults and 3 boys aged 4, 1 and 3 months). Also visited today with father in law for wife's 24th birthday lunch.
Pub was quiet as only 11.30am but staff were efficient and offering quick service when ordering drinks and meals.
All food ordered was excellent (ale battered cod and chips x2 and sea vinegar sandwich) kids eat chips. Food was well priced.
Nice and relaxing and space for the children to enjoy without impacting on other dinners.
Only feedback to give was a lack of children's menu and the restaurant was busy with young families

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAtQandC, Guest Relations Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Many thanks for your review, although this is a retrospective one. We're not sure why the management at the time didn't respond but allow me to thank you on their behalf though they may be long gone.

Thanks again
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queen & Castle also viewed

 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Queen & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing