We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed here last weekend for a night. On arrival hotel looks lovely but little things started to let us down. Lamp in the room wasnt working, Iron wasnt working, booked dinner, food wasnt very good, main course really greasy and had to tell the staff how awful it was, then the restaurant ran out of many of the puddings. bar staff we're very experienced (couldnt make a g&t) no real ale. Breakfast they ran out out of many items and we were there for 10am!

nice place, cheap but not very nice food, room needed a proper clean and decided we wouldnt return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellytot321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2011

Dear jellytot321

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Chesford Grange and and I thank you for your particular comments on the maintenance issues in your accommodation, also the dinner and service in the bar. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment this caused.

We do take great pride in the service we provide and we certainly do not want guests to depart the hotel with a poor impression, if your dissatisfaction had been brought to our attention during your stay, the utmost would have been done to rectify the situation and to ensure the rest of your stay was enjoyable.

Thanks again for the review, and we will take the appropriate action to ensure there is no re - occurences of your experiences.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,165)
There are newer reviews for Chesford Grange - A QHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,945 - 1,951 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at Chesford Grange on a Saturday night and had dinner as well. The hotel is in a good location not far from Leamington Spa, there is ample parking and the check in process was dealt with courteously and efficiently. The rooms are light, airy and very spacious but style wise, the design is a little odd. We went for a brief swim in the tiny pool which isn't worth bothering with frankly. Before dinner we had drinks on the bar terrace overlooking the garden. The barman was a little grumpy and when we asked him to take our bottle of wine to our table in the restaurant he seemed a little perturbed. Dinner in the River Room was very good however. The food and service were what one would expect of a 4 * hotel. Again, the only let-down is the interior design of the restaurant. Fusty colours, old-fashioned fabrics and horrible chairs which are in desperate need of a modern, fresh makeover. It's a shame as it could have been a really special evening in a lovely country location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcrmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2011

Dear mcmrel

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at Chesford Grange and I am very sorry you were disappointed with the decor in the restaurant and the service in the Bar and Terrace area.

On a more positive note, I am pleased the service from reception and your accommodation met with your expectations. However, we do pride ourselves on our One of a Kind service and your feedback regarding the staff in the bar will be taken seriously.

Thank you once again and I hope ot hasn't tainted your view of the hotel when staying in Warwickshire in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Booked a two day break through travelzoo, which included wine in room, tickets to Warwick Castle and the second night's dinner to a set value.
As the hotel is situated approx 5 miles outside Warwick Town, and in a rural location, you need a car or the use of a taxi service. Huge hotel covering 4 floors. Staff at Hotel very friendly. Amazing choice for breakfast. Extensive choice for evening meal. Leisure facilities really good. The only downside you need to prepare for is a very large wallet should you decide to purchase drinks from the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynehipkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2011

Dear jaynehipkin

Thanks for taking the time to review Chesford Grange and I am really pleased you enjoyed the facilities, food and also the service from our friendly team.

QHotels have had some brilliant deals on Travelzoo and I am glad you found this to be good value. However, if you keep your eye on our website we have some fantastic offers all year round and I hope you have the opportunity to return sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed at Chesford Grange back in February for a 2 night weekend break at this dated rundown hotel and feel we received bad service and was exploited by hidden charges so won’t be using Q hotels again.
Our first problem occurred when although we had ordered morning newspapers they did not arrive so we contacted reception only to be told that the newspaper charge would be removed from our bill but if we still wanted them we would have to take a 2 miles drive to a garage to collect them ourselves.
On the first evening in the bar and also in the restaurant, we were served wine into glasses that had advertisements for cleaning products printed on them. Not really what I would expect from a 4*hotel.
On our second night in the restaurant it was clear that they were short staffed as service was much slower than the previous night and when we had finished our desserts the waiter came over and said we had to have the bill as he was very busy serving other tables and would not have time to come back. We felt we were almost being pushed out of the door.
During the weekend we spent most of our time in the bar area and ordered drinks from our table near the bar and paid cash for them. Later we were shocked to discover that we had been charged a whopping 10% service charge each time. I checked and found that nowhere was it displayed that if we were served away from the bar we would have this charge added to our bill.
I remember at one point during the day I went up to the bar to order a coffee and a cold drink, I gestured to make payment to the barman and he said he would take it at the table; so that incurred the 10% charge as well.
I wonder who has been caught out by this same “scam” as we have, the drink prices are very high and as a resident I don’t expect to pay waiter service.
I will not be using this hotel group again and urge all those that do, check your bills and refuse to pay the “discretionary charge” be free to tip good service as you see fit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We had bed and breakfast at a really cheap rate, making the stay fantastic value for money. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean, comfortable, and well equipped. The breakfast was fantastic - lots of choice - one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had. I will be staying there again in June, and I am really looking forward to it.
However a couple of notes to the management - Firstly, my husband told our friends that the hotel had tatty worn-out carpets on the corridors, particularly outside the lifts, and that it needed refurbishing. However the carpets are not worn out, they are just a horrible pattern and colour combination that makes them look old & worn out! Secondly, the text on the signage is very small, and we got lost a few times looking for reception and the room where breakfast was served. I don't know how someone without 20-20 vision would cope.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

Dear BigEM

I am delighted that overall you had an enjoyable stay at Chesford Grange and you found an offer that was great value. If you go to the QHotels website great deals can be found all year round particularly with Easter fast approaching.

Thank you for your observations regarding the carpet and the signage around the hotel we will certainly pass them on!

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to Chesford Grange in June.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and found everything to our satisfaction, the rooms were large and well equipedd with lovely bathrooms and in room fridge, ironing board and safe.
The health spa was brilliant with state of the art gym, a heated indoor pool and steam room. But the best part for me was the dining facilities, we had buffet breakfast and three course meals in the evening nothing was short of perfect for us and for me as a coeliac the staff really looked after me with gluten free meals at night and gluten free bread at breakfast.
The grounds are very spacious and there is plenty of free parking.
Places to visit nearby are Kenilworth Castle, Ryton Gardens, Warwick Casstle, Stoneliegh Abbey, Stratford On Avon just to name a few and all within easy reach
We will definately return here.
Ray and Cheryl Bilbie

Room Tip: The Breakaway Club offered by this group is wortht
Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Bilbotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

Dear Bilbotraveller

Thank you for your excellent feedback with regards to your recent break at Chesford Grange, and for giving us a top score and recommending us to friends.

I am really pleased the team looked after you well in relation to your allergy, and you enjoyed the food and our great leisure facilities. Thank you also for listing the attractions that are nearby it will help other reviewers to see how close we are to some fantastic local attractions and places.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chesford Grange and QHotels sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Very pleasant bedroom (love that bathroom mirror that doesnt steam up - I want one). The restaurant and meals (and portions) were very good. In this short stay what stood out for us in particular was the very pleasant and helpful staff - in all departments. Two significant Hotels we have recently stayed at in London could do with sending thier staff here for training.

Room Tip: Well located for visitor attractions
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheresthefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

Dear Wheresthefire

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay at Chesford Grange and I am delighted you enjoyed the food as well as the mirror in our Superior rooms!

Thank you also for highlighting the team for their service, this certainly give us all a boost and I will share your comments with them all.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
8.0 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,431 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,102 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,970 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.1 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesford Grange - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesford Grange - A QHotel

Address: Coventry Road | Chesford Bridge, Kenilworth CV8 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: £74 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chesford Grange - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chesford Grange is a unique hotel based in Warwickshire. The historic charm oozes from every corner, from it's red roofed turrets and Tudor style exterior to the majestic splendour that awaits you inside. The hotel is set within 17 acres of countryside which is ideal for team building or indeed a leisurely stroll. Even though you may feel a million miles away, the hotel is near the M40 and M69, and is just 5 miles from Warwick Castle and 13 miles from Birmingham Airport.The hotel is home to state of the art conference facilities. There are 13 conference and meeting rooms with a total capacity of up to 700 delegates. For relaxation on the night the hotel is home to a relaxing leisure and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chesford Grange - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesford Grange - a q Hotel Kenilworth
Chesford Grange Kenilworth
Chesford Grange Hotel
Hotel Chesford Grange
Chesford Grange - A QHotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing