We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have asked for a more perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Southampton
1 review
“We couldn't have asked for a more perfect stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We booked this as part of the Fantastic Friday offer (bed, dinner and breakfast), as it was our wedding anniversary and we had left booking a weekend away until quite late.

The hotel far exceeded our expectations. On arrival we were greeted with a 'Happy Anniversary' from the reception staff. We were upgraded to a fabulous room with beautiful views over the grounds of the hotel which was extremely kind of the hotel.

Although we had a large flat screen tv in our room, we decided to watch the semi final tennis with Murray in the bar area with other guests. The Pimms made by the bar staff was fantastic as we sat and cheered our british tennis player on.

Dinner was even better and we had complimentary champagne...again all the restaurant staff were also told it was our anniversary! Jimmy, our waiter, was just so very attentive.
We had a wonderful walk after dinner down to the river and through the grounds...just perfect!

The room was so very comfortable in every way and breakfast set us up for the entire day. There was everything including, cereals, fruits, pastries, hams/cheese, toast, and the fully loaded cooked options too!

Sadly my husband and I forgot to pack our leisure wear so we were unable to use the Spa...but we did take a cheeky look and it looked so lovely!
This is a chain of hotels that we will certainly go back to and certainly this one will be one that we return to!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegoodeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear Thegoodeve

Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding your recent visit to Chesford Grange to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary.

I am delighted you had a lovely time which was made even more special by the service from our friendly team (particularly Jimmy) I will share your comments with them all.

In the meantime, I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back sometime in the future to Chesford Grange or another QHotel in the group.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    782
    370
    114
    68
See reviews for
354
795
32
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
142 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a B & B basis on Saturday evening after having stayed on Friday night at the Stratford Manor, Stratford Upon Avon. The hotel is a mixture of old & new, is in a quiet location and set in lovely grounds. However due to a wedding, it took us a while to get into reception whilst we politely waited for the Photographer to finish taking his pictures.

Check in was pleasant & efficient and we had a spacious room overlooking the grounds over the back of the hotel. A fan was provided in the room, which was good as we did need it. Having eaten in Stratford during the day we did not sample the restaurant for dinner so I cannot comment on that but breakfast was not a particularly pleasant experience! It was extremely busy (probably due to the wedding the previous day). There appeared to be plenty of staff on duty but no-one in overall charge. They all seemed to be doing everything instead of specific people being allotted to certain tasks. This meant tables were slow to be cleared & made ready again, the fruit juices, cold meats and pastries took a long time to be replenished and plates and bowls were in short supply! Also there is no back corridor from the hot food serving area to the kitchen and I watched in horror as a member of staff continued back and forth carrying piping hot dishes through the guests that were at the fresh fruit & yogurt area. The staff were all very friendly and pleasant but it was all a bit chaotic and not conducive to the relaxing Sunday breakfast which we have come to expect from Q Hotels.

We took a stroll outside around the hotel after breakfast and found the older part in need of some maintenance, looking quite shabby, with paint peeling off windows etc. Also although we did not use the pool it seemed rather small for the size of the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the grounds at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthamptonRicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear NorthamptonRicho

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Chesford Grange and I'm very sorry you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay particularly the ambiance at breakfast and the delay to check in the hotel.

On a more positive note, I am pleased the service from our team met with your expectations, your comments have been passed onto our Restaurant Manager who will address the issues you have raised. With regards to the windows you mentioned, as part of our on going maintenance of the property these are scheduled to be refurbished within the next month.

Thank you once again and I hope it hasn't tainted your view of the hotel when visiting the area in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed here with my husband last weekend; on arrival at 3pm (check in time displayed on website) we were told room was not ready and we were asked to wait in the bar. After an hour we asked at reception and again we were told that the room was still not ready. After a further 45 minutes waiting we were eventually able to check in.
Considering we had booked a superior room, we did expect a room with a 'stunning view' as described on the website, however unfortunately we had a view of the car park and rear laundry access area making the room an unpleasant place to sit.
Breakfast was a very noisy, unpleasant experience. We were seated right next to the busy buffet and kitchen doors. We had to wait a while to be offered tea/coffee and also found that the buffet was not replenished frequently (the cheese and meat display remained empty for the duration of our time in the breakfast room and we had to ask for plates and glasses as they ran out)
Unfortunately for us, what we had hoped to be a special treat away ended up in a disappointing waste of money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cloggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear Cloggle

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Chesford Grange and I would like to apologise for the disappointment you experienced on check - in and with the breakfast service.

I have passed a copy onto the relevant Heads of Department for immediate action and we will also look at the wording for the description of our Superior rooms - thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

After assisting to organise several conferences over the past 5-6 years, Chesford Grange has come out on top for professional and courteous service and NO problems! Believe me, that is rare!
Jamie,Emma and Luke were all exceptionally helpful, as were all the other staff throughout the hotel.
Super bedrooms and facilites as well.
Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkTraveller1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear UKTravellers1951

Thank you for your excellent and glowing review following your recent event here at Chesford Grange, thank you also for highlighting the team for their service I will share your comments with them all particularly Jamie, Luke and Emma.

Its a great morale boost for all of us to receive praise such as this and hopefully, reviewers who are also event organisers will book on the strength of your recommendation!

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed here for one night as we were visiting Warwick castle. Excellent location for the castle. Upon arrival with my husband a 2 children aged 3 and 5 we were warmly greeted and checked quickly in despite the hotel very busy with a wedding. We had a superior family room which was very modern, clean and spacious. Everything you could need in the room. We dined in the restaurant with the children and the staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, they provided plenty of crayons and pictures and the kids menu was great and very reasonable, excellent value. again the restaurant was very busy but the staff were brilliant. Hotel facilities were great, kids loved the pool. Breakfast great vast choice. We have never stayed with the 'Q' brand before however after staying at this hotel we will certainly look to stay with them elsewhere and we will certainly be back to the chesford grange, excellent value. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrisongracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Harrisongracie

Thank you for your lovely feedback and I am pleased you and your family had an enjoyable stay.

I will share your comments regarding the service with the team and I am delighted you will try one of the other 20 hotels in the group where you will also find a friendly welcome and excellent service.

If you go to the QHotels website you will find some fantastic 'family friendly' offers all year round.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Chesford Grange and QHotels sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My boyfriend recently surprised with a lovely weekend trip up to Warwick for my birthday. The hotel room was spacious and cleaned on a daily basis. The hotel is very quiet during the night as it's based on the outskirts of Kenilworth. I would say that the only downfall of the trip was a powercut that happened whilst we were in the swimming pool however the hotel staff were very helpful and tried to keep everybody in good spirits. The powercut issue was resolved in less than an hour and we were still able to go down to the hotel restaurant and enjoy a delicious three course meal!

One of the nights we took a stroll down to Kenilworth town which is about a 25-30mins walk. The town isn't very big however it has plenty of pubs and restaurants to keep you entertained during the evenings.

The hotel is a good base to visit other local places such as Coventry, Warwick Castle and Birmingham. I would definately return in the future...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soni_Perez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Soni_Perez

I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Chesford Grange and thank you for your patience during the unfortunate power cut.

As you rightly state, the hotel is a great base for visiting local historic attractions such as Warwick Castle and Stratford upon Avon is also a short distance away.

Thank you again for your comments and should you consider returning in the future, just go to the QHotels website for some fantastic offers all year round.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We have previously stayed here six years ago and think we even got the same room! Very modern, extremely large comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. It was a great contrast with the traditional decor and furniture in the original building which houses the bars and reception. Dinners and breakfast were excellent. All staff pleasant and courteous. There are a lot of corporate guests in the hotel and this might put some people off if they are looking for a quiet romantic break but this wasn't a problem for us. The location is excellent for easy reach to the park and ride for Stratford and Warwick..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annl044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElaineWarwickshire, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear anne1044

Thank you for your excellent review following your recent stay and for giving us a top score and recommending us to a friend. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you also for highlighting the team for their service it certainly gives us all a boost at the hotel and I will share your comments with them all.

In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
8.0 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,380 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,036 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.5 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesford Grange - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesford Grange - A QHotel

Property: Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Address: Coventry Road | Chesford Bridge, Kenilworth CV8 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chesford Grange - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chesford Grange is a unique hotel based in Warwickshire. The historic charm oozes from every corner, from it's red roofed turrets and Tudor style exterior to the majestic splendour that awaits you inside. The hotel is set within 17 acres of countryside which is ideal for team building or indeed a leisurely stroll. Even though you may feel a million miles away, the hotel is near the M40 and M69, and is just 5 miles from Warwick Castle and 13 miles from Birmingham Airport.The hotel is home to state of the art conference facilities. There are 13 conference and meeting rooms with a total capacity of up to 700 delegates. For relaxation on the night the hotel is home to a relaxing leisure and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chesford Grange - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesford Grange - a q Hotel Kenilworth
Chesford Grange Kenilworth
Chesford Grange Hotel
Hotel Chesford Grange
Chesford Grange - A QHotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing