We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst spa day ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst spa day ever”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

An absolute comedy of errors... From the lack of attention from pretty much all the staff in the so-called 'spa' to the terrible mani and pedi treatments, to the distinctly un-peaceful pool area full of children, topped off with a dry sandwich and a grape on a stick, our afternoon was absolutely NOT worth the £50 each we spent.

We'd booked for a half day spa, expecting a lovely relaxing afternoon of treatments, swimming and chilling out... Instead this turned out to be the most disappointing part of our (otherwise) lovely bank holiday weekend in Stratford. We even almost left without paying, because the staff didn't ask us for any money and we were annoyed enough to leg it... But in the end we were honest and went back to pay. Although frankly I now wish we hadn't.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear BeccaP

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
I understand that you have written directly with further feedback which is being investigated and hopefully will be resolved to your satisfaction and give you the re - assurance to visit QHotels in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    791
    375
    114
    69
See reviews for
354
805
32
510
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed here as part of a deal and were incredibly impressed with the experience.
Staff were all polite, smart and helpful and the rooms are exceptional. Pool is open 7am - 10 pm so kids happy, food is a bit pricey but the free breakfast is fantastic with great service and lots of different choices available. Couldn't have asked for more and would definitely return and recommend to friends and family. Pay a bit more and stay here, you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russndawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Russndawn

Thank you for your fantastic review and for giving us a top score of 5. We pride ourselves on looking after families all year round, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed looking after you and your family.

Please do come back soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stopped over at Chesford Grange at the end of a book signing tour. We had a lovely greeting from the front house staff. The room was spacious and air conditioning a god send as it was very warm. Pool, grounds and spa wonderfully to relax - just what we needed. The food was very simply 'out of this world'! The waiting staff absolutely excellent - especially Stacey! The bar staff a pleasure to talk to especially a mention for Simon who made us so welcome! Whilst there we also took in Kenilworth Castle and Stoneleigh both excellent days out.
We will be back!

Room Tip: We were in room 347 - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attraction-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Attraction-Critic

Thank you for your fantastic review the team and myself are delighted we gave you a warm welcome and you found the food 'out of this world' - we love review like this!

There are some great places to visit very close to Chesford Grange including Warwick Castle and Stratford upon Avon which hopefully you will visit on your return.

Thanks again, kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

There were four of us on a overnight spa break to celebrate my sisters birthday, stayed 19th August this was my 4th visit as I have always been very happy with the Hotel and the facilities it offers.

Just a negative before I mention all the positives. We had booked spa treatments for 5pm and 5.30pm and planned to swim in the afternoon prior, unfortunately it was very busy with lots of children and as the pool only allowed 20 people at any one time only 2 of us manged to get a swim from 5-5.30 we were dissapointed as this had not ever happened before thourght it might be that the children had broken upffor the summer holidays.

The positives a beautiful hotel with lots of character and yet again we were upgraded, this time to a room with a patio so were able to enjoy the beautiful weather, cannot fault the food and choice of our evening meal it was delicious and we were given a complimetary bottle of wine how lovely was that, The breakfast room is nice and large so that you are not sitting on top of each other and also has plenty of choice to eat. All the staff were very attentive and professional from reception and the gentleman who greated us on arrival can't remember his name, to dining staff and all the spa staff . Will be visiting again what more can I stay it was a lovely break

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenkinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear jenkinst

Thank you for reviewing your 4th visit to Chesford Grange and for your lovely feedback regarding the food and the service from our friendly team. Its great to know that we are maintaining the high standards you have experienced during your visits Chesford Grange.

Chesford Grange is a child friendly hotel and during the Summer holidays we get many families visiting to explore the local area. Hopefully on your 5th visit you will be able to enjoy the pool again!

The team and myself look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed at Chesford Grange from Monday until Wednesday this week and had a great time. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble I was given a softer pillow and extra sheets for the bed instead of a duvet so on my second night I was afforded a great nights sleep ( I normally take my own pillow but won't need to when we stay here again). The breakfast is delicious and the evening meals in the restaurant were also lovely, sea bass and the pork highly recommended. The childrens menu was good my daugher enjoyed her food. The hotel pool is lovely we swam each evening after our long days out & the showers were brilliant in both the leisure area and our room. Only down side was no draws in our room so we used the wardrobe and had to have a couple of things on the floor of the wardrobe (undereware) but otherwide fantastic alround.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Sue C

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at Chesford Grange and enjoyed both the food and the facilities.

I will share your feedback with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at the Chesford Grange this weekend for 2 nights and had a great family break. Myself, husband and two children (6 yrs and 5 months) and the hotel catered for all our needs. The service, food (excellent food - sea bass wow) and room was great. We had one issue with the toilet in the room but reception dealt with the problem and we resolved it. We booked the Warwick Castle offer so our tickets for the castle were included in the hotel deal and it was great value for money break and the castle is well worth a visit. The hotel is only15 mins away from the castle so it made it very easy. My 6 year old loved the swimming pool and the games room really helped keep him enterained. Can't praise the staff (all staff from recepton, bar and housekeeping etc.) enough. If you plan on visiting Warwick I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Roey123

Thank you for your fantastic review, I am delighted you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed your visit to Warwick Castle which is only a short drive from the hotel.

QHotels has some great offers on the website all year round, another good way to visit other hotels in the group is to join our Breakaway Club which for a small joining fee gives you money off vouchers and notification of great deals available before anyone else.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Chesford Grange and QHotels in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We were warned when booking 3 nights for a family wedding (which was elsewhere) that a "major event" was taking place over the weekend we booked which would mean some extra security. This was an understatement. The womens Olympic football teams were staying at the hotel which came with a huge amount of extra security. The entrance To the hotel was set up like airport security so it took a few extra minutes to enter the building, which was fine but a tad annoying. There was also Olympics security everywhere in the hotel and we were warned not to speak to the teams! However they seemed to manage it all fairly well considering the major pressure they were under.

We were upgraded to a superior room on arrival possibly as a compensation for the hassle but the we a huge number of us staying and only my booking was upgraded. The room was nice and modern.

Unfortunately my parents disabled room had a shower over bath - this is in no way disabled friendly. They did offer to try and sort a walk in but my parents decided they would manage.

The bar is very expensive - bring your own drinks! Breakfast was very good.

The hotel overall offers a good service and appears well run.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louthemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear louthemac

Thank you for your review and I am very pleased that despite the security in place you and your family had an enjoyable stay, and your room received a complimentary upgrade. The hotel does have dedicated rooms with a walk in shower and I am very sorry they were not allocated one in advance.

The Olympic event at the hotel was a fantastic opportunity for us but a 'one off' and I hope this will not deter you from returning again in the future.

Thanks again for your feedback,
Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
8.0 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,392 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,057 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,869 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
365 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesford Grange - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesford Grange - A QHotel

Property: Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Address: Coventry Road | Chesford Bridge, Kenilworth CV8 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chesford Grange - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chesford Grange is a unique hotel based in Warwickshire. The historic charm oozes from every corner, from it's red roofed turrets and Tudor style exterior to the majestic splendour that awaits you inside. The hotel is set within 17 acres of countryside which is ideal for team building or indeed a leisurely stroll. Even though you may feel a million miles away, the hotel is near the M40 and M69, and is just 5 miles from Warwick Castle and 13 miles from Birmingham Airport.The hotel is home to state of the art conference facilities. There are 13 conference and meeting rooms with a total capacity of up to 700 delegates. For relaxation on the night the hotel is home to a relaxing leisure and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chesford Grange - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesford Grange - a q Hotel Kenilworth
Chesford Grange Kenilworth
Chesford Grange Hotel
Hotel Chesford Grange
Chesford Grange - A QHotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing