We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break perfect for visiting Warwick Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Myself, my husband and our 2 boys aged 8 & 10 stayed here August 2013, our stay was fantastic value, we had a 2 night break in a superior room which included free tickets to Warwick castle, plus if we went to the castle for 2 consecutive days the second day was free too. Free 3 course evening meal which could be taken on either evening we stayed, children eat and stay free, plus free use of the Spa and its facilities. Free cups for both children, which when they took to the bar they could have free squash anytime. Free bottled water in our room each night. Free activity packs for the children to do. Overall this hotel offers excellent value and better comfort than quite a few other hotels we've stayed at. Our room was spacious, with large tv, sitting area, proper beds for everyone, iron, hairdryer, fridge which was lovely to chill your drinks in ready for the castle. Free air conditioning - so no stuffy hot room, free safe, free toiletries, plenty of towels. Free use of towelling robes. The bed was lovely and comfortable, lots of pillows.The hotel offers round the clock room service. We used the pool, steam room & heated loungers too all free, free towels supplied for the pool, the changing rooms where nice, there where lots of nice touches through out the hotel which where lovely, instead of being charged for everything. In the changing rooms there was free shampoo, a costume spinner plus a bag dispenser to carry wet items back in. The breakfast buffet was huge, pastries, cooked breakfast, pancakes, cereals, fresh fruit etc, something for everyone. Our evening meal was nice, the children had a buffet they could just help themselves too - which was great, chicken stir fry, fish fingers, jacket potatoes etc plus puddings. I will definitely stay with this chain of hotels again, excellent value, comfortable great service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear2no1,
Many thanks for posting a review following on from your family break on our Warwick Castle package. I am delighted that you found all aspects of your stay to your liking and the package great value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,285 - 1,291 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I accompanied our two friends who were celebrating their pearl anniversary. Although a little 'corporate' in appearance, the hotel was superb. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant. At one stage, we were unable to operate the air-con, and one of the cleaners, who had heard us, courteously asked if we needed her help. The courtesy of the staff was matched by the cleanliness of the parts of the hotel which we saw. The restaurant food was very good, with a reasonable menu selection. The hotel is also very conveniently located for many attractions, such as Warwick Castle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sosbanfach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Sosbanfach,
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I am pleased to see that a member of our housekeeping team assisted you with your air-conditioning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I had not been in the hotel since 1969, so it was an interesting experience to re-visit with my wife. We were very impressed with our Superior Room (bottle of wine, spacious, nice views, good air conditioning, two comfortable chairs and good space for clothes and luggage).

We dined in the hotel restaurant on the second night, the food was well served by very competent and pleasant staff. The choice of dishes for those on the fixed price menu was excellent. We also observed that the price of wine was very reasonable.

In general, we had a comfortable and extremely pleasant two night stay, and the free ticket access to Warwick Castle was a very worthwhile bonus.

Negative points were: 1) no non-alcoholic beers or cocktails in the bar; 2) breakfast choice was excellent for those desiring "English breakfast" but not so good if you would have liked something less pork oriented (e.g. beef sausages and pancakes would have been a nice alternative)

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms, the extra cost is well worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear tony1046,
Many thanks for submitting a review following your recent stay with us, particularly after last visiting in 1969! I am delighted that you found the aspects of dinner, the service and your bedroom to your liking. Your comments regarding the breakfast choice have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My niece held her wedding at this hotel and the rooms which we were in for the wedding ceremony and thereafter reception afternoon/evening meal were lovely. The grounds and setting of the hotel is very beautiful.

Cannot comment on food, staff, rooms as we stayed at a nearby hotel for the night.

A word of warning the hotel is very poorly lit outside in the evening. My elderly father tripped on the steps outside reception area as the lights were not on, he missed a step and it was very dark. It was lucky for him he had his walking stick otherwise he could have been seriously injured. We did bring this incident to the attention of the young gentleman when he arrived on reception.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TomandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear TomandJane,
Many thanks for giving us feedback following on from your niece's wedding here at the hotel. I am please you enjoyed the meal. Thank you for bring your father's trip to our attention, we will review our outside lighting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and stayed here on our honeymoon for 3 nights. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the food was excellent. The pool was a little small but overall we can't be positive enough about our stay here. The inclusion of the ticket to Warwick castle was excellent and it proved to be a great coupe of days out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morkthemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Morkthemad,
Many thanks for posting a review following on from your Warwick Castle package here at the hotel. I am delighted that your break was enjoyable and many congratulations on your recent marriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our family group of 3 adults and 2 children stayed overnight. We found staff welcoming, friendly and helpful, rooms comfortable and very good apart from the lighting. The bedside lights were too dim to read. Swimming pool good but small and busy, we enjoyed the games room but new table tennis balls needed Dinner very good but would have liked vegetables to accompany main meal. The service at dinner was excellent and the atmosphere good. My husband's beer was not good despite having 2 good beer suppliers. Breakfast was disappointing, could have better choice of fruit, and toast served at your table instead of waiting in a queue to diy. My husband said his cooked breakfast was cold and all items hard. Gardens good and spacious. We all enjoyed the hotel and would stay again if coming to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear JoanLM,
Many thanks for posting your review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay. Your comments regarding the bedroom lighting, beer quality and the tea and toast service during such a busy period have been noted. Hopefully you will have reason to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife, daughter and I booked in for a quick break in the area since paying for childcare is so unbelievably expensive, this was all we could afford. We got a family booking that included a three course meal on one of the evenings and a family ticket to go to Warwick Castle. I'd say this is very good value for money. The room had everything we needed - the air con came in handy. The meal we had was quite nice and the breakfast food on offer was of good quality. We were really happy with the well maintained pool too. I was also happy with the range of beers too. I think a lot of care and attention goes into every aspect of the hotel, except for the bar food which I'm afraid to say was utterly dreadful. All three meals ordered from the bar were tasteless and of very poor standard. Considering my meal cost £13.50 I felt the standard was less than £2. I would have been happier with a Pot Noodle! The bar staff seemed to be in the know about the food and rather than listen to our complaint was passed immediately to the duty manager who was fairly understanding. We managed to get a full refund and a free pint, but we went hungry that evening since we hadn't really eaten.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkWirralW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear MarkWirralW,
Many thanks for posting your feedback. I am delighted that you found our Warwick Castle package good value and that you were happy with your bedroom, dinner, pool and range of drinks. Your comments regarding the the bar food have been noted and will be raised with the relevant manager. I was pleased that the Duty Manager went some way to make amends. On the whole I am glad you had an enjoyable time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
8.0 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,439 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,119 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,004 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.1 mi away
Woodland Grange
Woodland Grange
#3 of 16 in Leamington Spa
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesford Grange - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesford Grange - A QHotel

Address: Coventry Road | Chesford Bridge, Kenilworth CV8 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: £80 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chesford Grange - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chesford Grange is a unique hotel based in Warwickshire. The historic charm oozes from every corner, from it's red roofed turrets and Tudor style exterior to the majestic splendour that awaits you inside. The hotel is set within 17 acres of countryside which is ideal for team building or indeed a leisurely stroll. Even though you may feel a million miles away, the hotel is near the M40 and M69, and is just 5 miles from Warwick Castle and 13 miles from Birmingham Airport.The hotel is home to state of the art conference facilities. There are 13 conference and meeting rooms with a total capacity of up to 700 delegates. For relaxation on the night the hotel is home to a relaxing leisure and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesford Grange - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesford Grange - a q Hotel Kenilworth
Chesford Grange Kenilworth
Chesford Grange Hotel
Hotel Chesford Grange
Chesford Grange - A QHotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing