We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect boutique hotel for a quiet weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed two nights in room 8. The room was at the back of the hotel so very quiet. Comfy bed, slick decor and a shower to die for! The staff were helpful and friendly, they made a special effort to find space for us in the cocktail bar on Saturday night despite it being very busy. We sampled the cocktails which were excellent! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waverley81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

I was waiting for a breakfast in a cocktail bar.....

Fabulous rooms, delightful decor, sumptious cocktails. wretched parking, no cooked food capability and all in the centre of Kenilworth. Right next to lots of good restaurants so almost great...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I would be giving this place top scores if they had tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Everything else about the place is excellent. The bathrooms are beautiful, and the rooms are comfortable and very well designed. I stayed for one night in May and we enjoyed many cocktails in the bar. The staff are excellent. Extremely friendly and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. They really know their cocktails ! Breakfast is also very good. Not much parking space available, and if you're not fortunate enough to get a space at the hotel, you have to park in the Sainsbury's car park opposite, but it is free. Great location for shops and motorway links. Try to get a room at the back of the hotel as the road outside the front can be a little noisey.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My only reluctance in reviewing the Kenilworth is that I will be increasing competition for the dozen or so individual rooms when I next need to use it for an expo at the NEC from which it is less than half an hour away in ruh hour agians the traffic. For the price of a Premier Inn you get luxorious contemporary design with a personal touch and standards that have been consistenetly maintained since the launch. All this one of the world's most talented barmen, with international awards to prove it, and a bar to match. Whilst it does not have a restaurant it is immediately surrounded by Malaysian, Indian and Italian restaurants with several pubs in strolling distance. If a fried breakfast is more important to you than any of the above then head for the Premier Inn in BAlsall Common, otherwise it is difficult not to be charmed by this exquisite boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wentworth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I like places that are a little different from the norm and also have a bit of character to them. The Kenilworth certainly has what I like..... character, charm, sophistication, great service, stunning rooms and gorgeous cocktails!

The Rooms

The minute I looked on the website I saw Room 3 and that was it, I booked! Room 3 felt like you were in a little apartment and I would love to have this as my own bedroom and en suite at home! The bath was just heaven!

The Cocktails

We tried the Millionaires, PainKillers and the Rumbullion cocktails and each of those were gorgeous. I am definitely doing the all inclusive deal next time as looking forward to trying lots more.

The Food

The cheese and meat platter was delicious. We had it delivered up to the room while we chilled and we had to eat it throughout the evening because it was so big to eat in one go. At that price it was surprising how much you got.

Then being a bank holiday we decided to have a lie in, so we called down stairs in the morning and had some coffee, orange juice and croissants delivered up to our room which was great.


We had an amazing stay, with the only bad part being having to get out of the very comfortable big bed to leave and go home!!! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This was our 5th visit to the Kenilworth Hotel and we keep coming back for more. This visit was a last minute idea and we managed to get the last room available. We have stayed in 4 different rooms, this time it was room 1. All the rooms have been of a high standard. Our favourite room is room 3 it has a bathroom in the attic. Room 1 was probably the most basic of the 4 we have stayed in but still lovely and at £79 real value. Some of the rooms have amazing wet rooms. All the rooms have huge tvs and beds. All the staff are really friendly and will do anything to help. The breakfast is continental but still nice and plentiful.
The bar area is really funky and has an abundance of cocktails to choose and the bar staff are happy to assist with your choice or make whatever you request if it's not on the menu. We had eaten a large lunch so didn't need a meal but we sat in the bar sipping cocktails and munching on the very large kenilworth board which is a selection of meats and cheeses. Nothing more was needed. If you want a quiet room don't choose room 1,2 or 3 as they are above the bar which can be noisy until around midnight but if you are down sipping cocktails you won't notice. A recommendation to the hotel would be to add coffee making facilities to the rooms (I can't remember if they have them in the new rooms at the back but they don't in the upstairs rooms) but this is a minor thing. We have recommended this hotel to all our friends and work colleagues and can't wait to go back. Thank you for another lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a real little romantic haven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The lack of any sound proofing in rooms four and five is absurd, you can literally talk to the occupant of the next room without raising your voice,I kid you not. £89 with a very basic continental breakfast this hotel needs to take a long hard look at itself for not advising customers of the problem.

Stayed: March 2012
4  Thank Laticstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotel, Owner at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Sir
1: We We would very much like to apologise for the fact your son (in room 4 next to you) kept you up late after being in our cocktail lounge until the early hours.
2: I would also like to apologise to your son for YOUR singing at 5am just to get your own back on your son (according to your son).
3: I can confirm that the rooms are sound proofed
4: We WANT you to have a great stay, its our livelihood so PLEASE (next time) if you had/have any issues with your son (or any other issue) why not just say at the time? we would have gladly put you in another room away from your work colleagues/family. It's in our interest to make your stay an enjoyable one, so why didn't you mention it on your first night of your three night stay? We would have acted on it and made sure you where happy. Instead you say nothing and post on this site?
5: £74+vat for your room with a huge wet-room and breakfast does not seem that unreasonable.
6: I can confirm that we, at The Kenilworth, love what we do. We take pride in our hospitality and we go the extra mile for every single guest we meet.
We uphold and learn from genuine complaints (very rare) and act on them fast as it is in our interest to do so. Thank you, The kenilworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#5 of 7 in Kenilworth
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
1.2 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Address: 61 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range: £93 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kenilworth Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is an 11 bedroom boutique Hotel & Cocktail lounge in Kenilworth, Warwickshire. Contemporary features and fittings in a 16th Century Building. Award winning cocktail lounge and voted as one of the top 50 destinations in the UK by 'The Independent'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
The Hotel Kenilworth
The Kenilworth Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing