We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't do enough for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We recently attended a surprise birthday party for our daughter here. The staff did everything possible to make the moment special. Their flexibility, courtesy and clear desire to make our plans work helped make for a wonderful evening. If you add the quality of the accommodation and a stunning cocktail bar to their effective customer care, then you have the ingredients for a great night and a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are particularly peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

the staff were very friendly.
good parking around the back of the hotel
the breakfast is basic. no cooked breakfast I am afraid.
The rooms were spotless and the walk in shower was amazing.
the cocktails on offer were lovely but expensive and slow to come, but then they are all made on the spot. only isue was that the wifi didn't work in the room. would I stay again. ? absolutely

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellneededrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Visited in September 2011 for boyfriends birthday, FANTASTIC! Rooms well equipped, cocktails fantastic, service amazing. Returned winter last year but didn't stay this time, just drinks with friends - again fantastic service.
Actually booked for a week-on-Thursday (9th) as my own birthday treat from the boyfriend - driving up from our new home in South Wales (previously Lichfield!) for the occasion - Cant wait! Im sure it will again exceed expectations, I shall review again on completion of this next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princessfairybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Fabulously stunning cocktail bar however service was incredibly slow, we waited nearly 30 minutes for our first drinks order to be taken and then had to ask for someone to come and get us further drinks through the night. can't even say it was because they were really busy. Cocktails were poor.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank soesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotel, Owner at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Ms Soeson
Thank you for more of your feedback. We have discussed this at length in previous emails and i thought you understood the concept of the Kenilworth?
You complained that the cocktails didn't have sparklers or umbrellas and you feel that adding 'bling' to a cocktail is the most important ingredient to a drink. I'm sorry but we will have to disagree, but we do respect your opinion.

The table of 20 that was in before you held your table up and we apologised for that but we do not want to rush any guests and its always difficult to manage how fast people drink their drinks as we explained.

We offered a free cocktail masterclass for you and your husband so you could have a one to one with one of our award winning bartenders so you could understand why we don't need to use sparklers with our drinks, but you declined based on the fact i didn't offer the free masterclass to all of your friends as well.

Kind Regards
The kenilworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

everything positive and complimentary that you read about this hotel and cocktail bar is true!!!

we had a fabulous stay here with friends for my husbands birthday. we were in two of the courtyard rooms, both were modern and stylish with large wet room style bathrooms, plenty of fluffy white towels and elemis toiletries. a coffee machine is so much better than the usual mini kettle too.!
the cocktail bar is brilliant, a great atmosphere, really buzzing and the cocktail list , well if you cant find a drink you'd fancy you must be very hard to please!!! expertly made and wonderful service.
the continental breakfast is one of the best we've experienced too.
planning our next visit for when our daughter visits us from London we can't wait to take her here!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_kdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I recently booked an evening to stay at The Kenilworth after having been to the cocktal bar before with friends, I knew my husband would enjoy the experience. On arrival and driving past their carpark :), one of the very kind members of staff came and met us and offered to bring our bags in. On discovering I had done the booking as a surprise for my husband, we were offered the choice of upgrading from a standard room to one of their larger rooms.(room 9). Room 9 was worth the little extra it cost and the bathroom is one I would love to have at home, the shower is fantastic. The staff reserve a table for you for evening cocktails and again another wonderful experience(Whoopsie Daisy is my favourite) The staff are very attentive and polite, all the training that is spoke about in their brochure shines through.

Continental breakfast again is a relaxed, casual event and is definately enough to start your day off with. All in all my husband and I had a wonderful time at The Kenilworth and would like to thank the staff for making our experience an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Wow is all I can say about this place, you name it they'll make it or say what you like and the staff are so good the will make something for you.

If you are a malt whiskey, bourbon, gin, rum , tequila, vodka, brandy connoisseur then you will be in seventh heaven here, the most extensive spirits list I've seen in a long time.

If you like cocktails, their clever cocktail compass in the centre of the menu is a great guide.

Not the cheapest of nights as most drinks are about £8 each, but the atmosphere is electric, the drinks exciting and great measures.

Is you are within 20 miles of this place, and looking for somewhere different to go.....you will not be disappointed, but phone and reserve a table as it gets very very very busy!!!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank ilc_cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Address: 61 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range: £93 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kenilworth Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is an 11 bedroom boutique Hotel & Cocktail lounge in Kenilworth, Warwickshire. Contemporary features and fittings in a 16th Century Building. Award winning cocktail lounge and voted as one of the top 50 destinations in the UK by 'The Independent'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
The Hotel Kenilworth
The Kenilworth Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing