We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wow, what a gem. Lovely rooms and a top class cocktail bar that is 5*. They don't do food, but there are lots of eateries within walking distance. Staff are very friendly and breakfast is continental, no hot food

Room Tip: room 1,2 and 3 are above bar and VERY noisy, so avoid, unless your the ones making the noise !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayney123gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    66
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
8
149
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
241 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here for a cocktail package on a Sunday night which was great value.

The hotel is right on the high street but there is parking behind it. We parked at the rear of the building and walked through the out door courtyard / drinking area and got checked in.

At the time there was a group of, shall we say, loud 20 somethings clearly having a good time outside which wasn't ideal but you can't blame them for enjoying the sun.

The room itself was in a house which which had been split up into rooms. Our room, 11, was on the top floor and therefore had some character thanks to the sloping roof. We loved the room, it was large, well laid out and really well decorated. Special mention to the bathroom, the shower was awesome. Absolutely brilliant shower and very stylish room overall. Certainly felt high quality in the room.

There was a continental breakfast included in the rate which was lovely but we didn't eat very much thanks to the cocktails the night before.

Room Tip: Room 11 is huge, with a sofa, coffee machine and amazing bathroom with a massive shower and full siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We recently attended a surprise birthday party for our daughter here. The staff did everything possible to make the moment special. Their flexibility, courtesy and clear desire to make our plans work helped make for a wonderful evening. If you add the quality of the accommodation and a stunning cocktail bar to their effective customer care, then you have the ingredients for a great night and a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are particularly peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellneededrest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

the staff were very friendly.
good parking around the back of the hotel
the breakfast is basic. no cooked breakfast I am afraid.
The rooms were spotless and the walk in shower was amazing.
the cocktails on offer were lovely but expensive and slow to come, but then they are all made on the spot. only isue was that the wifi didn't work in the room. would I stay again. ? absolutely

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellneededrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Visited in September 2011 for boyfriends birthday, FANTASTIC! Rooms well equipped, cocktails fantastic, service amazing. Returned winter last year but didn't stay this time, just drinks with friends - again fantastic service.
Actually booked for a week-on-Thursday (9th) as my own birthday treat from the boyfriend - driving up from our new home in South Wales (previously Lichfield!) for the occasion - Cant wait! Im sure it will again exceed expectations, I shall review again on completion of this next visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessfairybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Fabulously stunning cocktail bar however service was incredibly slow, we waited nearly 30 minutes for our first drinks order to be taken and then had to ask for someone to come and get us further drinks through the night. can't even say it was because they were really busy. Cocktails were poor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank soesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotel, Owner at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Ms Soeson
Thank you for more of your feedback. We have discussed this at length in previous emails and i thought you understood the concept of the Kenilworth?
You complained that the cocktails didn't have sparklers or umbrellas and you feel that adding 'bling' to a cocktail is the most important ingredient to a drink. I'm sorry but we will have to disagree, but we do respect your opinion.

The table of 20 that was in before you held your table up and we apologised for that but we do not want to rush any guests and its always difficult to manage how fast people drink their drinks as we explained.

We offered a free cocktail masterclass for you and your husband so you could have a one to one with one of our award winning bartenders so you could understand why we don't need to use sparklers with our drinks, but you declined based on the fact i didn't offer the free masterclass to all of your friends as well.

Kind Regards
The kenilworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

everything positive and complimentary that you read about this hotel and cocktail bar is true!!!

we had a fabulous stay here with friends for my husbands birthday. we were in two of the courtyard rooms, both were modern and stylish with large wet room style bathrooms, plenty of fluffy white towels and elemis toiletries. a coffee machine is so much better than the usual mini kettle too.!
the cocktail bar is brilliant, a great atmosphere, really buzzing and the cocktail list , well if you cant find a drink you'd fancy you must be very hard to please!!! expertly made and wonderful service.
the continental breakfast is one of the best we've experienced too.
planning our next visit for when our daughter visits us from London we can't wait to take her here!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_kdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
1.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
0.2 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Property: The Kenilworth Hotel
Address: 61 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kenilworth Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is an 11 bedroom boutique Hotel & Cocktail lounge in Kenilworth, Warwickshire. Contemporary features and fittings in a 16th Century Building. Award winning cocktail lounge and voted as one of the top 50 destinations in the UK by 'The Independent'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
The Hotel Kenilworth
The Kenilworth Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing