We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded all Expectations, Can't Wait to Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Billericay
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exceeded all Expectations, Can't Wait to Return”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for 1 night at The Kenilworth last night and have hijacked my Dad's tripadvisor account just to write this review. In search of an evening's mini-getaway to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday we booked The Kenilworth on recommendation from a friend. Upon arriving we were greeted immediately by a member of hotel staff who was working on the bar at the time, he took us to our room straight away without even asking our names or reservation details (as though they were awaiting our arrival) which made us feel very important, he even offered to make us a drink while we unpacked. Upon arriving at the bar we were asked if we were headed out for dinner and at what time so that they could order us a taxi without the need for us to even ask, we really felt the staff wanted to make us have a good time.

As for the room, we stayed in the aforementioned room 3 (above the bar opposite the road) which we found to be lovely and quiet in comparisson to connap's review. In all fairness it was our intention to go out and have a drink rather than get an early night in time for work in the morning but the room was very quite despite the bar downstairs being busy. The room itself was everything we could have asked for. Being a duplex the bathroom was upstairs equipped with large 2-person tub and stocked with beautiful toiletries. The room was as clean and tidy as you'd expect, fitted with a huge 50inch TV in front of the comortable bed (The TV was bigger than advertised and the bed was as comfortable as I've ever slept on). Upon returning to the hotel after dinner we took a seat in the cocktail bar where the staff were immediately on hand to serve us our drinks. Their drinks knowlledge is nothing short of impressive and you really feel they want to entertain you, there is absolutely nothing pretentious about it either. A continental breakfast was served in bed to soak up our hangovers and the hotel CAN offer breakfast sandwiches, they collect it for you from a local bakery.

All in all, a stunning hotel perfect for a mini-break drinking cocktails and watching films. Personally, in contrast to another review here found none of the features at all tacky, we wanted to move in. For us, though, the staff made us feel so welcome and sealed the deal for us, can't wait to return.

Tom & Chloe 20, 23

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    66
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
8
149
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bournemouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My room was over the bar which was noisy until midnight which is not good when you have to get up for business meetings the next day. the rooms have tried hard to be trendy and boutique style and some things work like the coffee machines, the Elemis toiletries and the big screen Tv. however, it looks like there has been a lot if cheap DIY in the bathroom and cheap wardrobes which dont work. fake leather walls, fake leather furniture, strange pictures and furry bed covers dont help. They have turned an old tudor building complete with exposed beams into a New Orleans style boutique hotel but I dont think it has worked. Black furniture with brown curtains etc makes it very dark. my room was at the front whuch was noisy with traffuc. You cant eat in the hotel so not good for single women to have to go out at night although they do a nice simple continental breakfast. The car park is difficult to find too and limited parking spaces with little alternative. this is not a place to stay for families or on business but would be great for hen or stag weekends as it has a lively cocktail bar and garden area in the middle of the town. My rating is purely based on personal taste and suitability for business and although not my cup of tea, it is probably heaven for someone else.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotel, Owner at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hi, Thank you for your comments. We have a policy of not using real leather, that's just a personal standard.
It also must meet with today's fire regulations so fire proof 'faux' leather is all we are allowed to use on the walls.

The furniture/wardrobes are bought from a fashion designer in london by the name of Charles Gillmore. Sorry you dont like them.

We lived in New Orleans for over 20 years before setting business back in our home town. These old 16th Century cottages were derelict buildings which we lovingly restored and tried to find a balance of old and new, most like it, but we will never please everyone as everyone has different tastes.

95% of our business in the week is corporate business and those who have an issue with noise chose to stay in the rooms away from the main building :)

The bar is really quiet in the week and the bar hardly generates noise, BUT if there is ever an issue with noise please inform us, we want your stay to be a good relaxing one.

Your room was over the bar area and yes that can be noisier(room3), its a really tough balance for us to keep guests happy in the cocktail lounge whilst making no noise at all (Due to the size of the building this is always tricky)

We combat this by turning all the music off at the latest 11.30pm in the week and closing all the doors to minimise noise, we also ask guests to move away from the bar area, again this really helps.

We are always trying to improve at the kenilworth so really appreciate your comments.

Kind Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wow, what a gem. Lovely rooms and a top class cocktail bar that is 5*. They don't do food, but there are lots of eateries within walking distance. Staff are very friendly and breakfast is continental, no hot food

Room Tip: room 1,2 and 3 are above bar and VERY noisy, so avoid, unless your the ones making the noise !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayney123gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
241 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here for a cocktail package on a Sunday night which was great value.

The hotel is right on the high street but there is parking behind it. We parked at the rear of the building and walked through the out door courtyard / drinking area and got checked in.

At the time there was a group of, shall we say, loud 20 somethings clearly having a good time outside which wasn't ideal but you can't blame them for enjoying the sun.

The room itself was in a house which which had been split up into rooms. Our room, 11, was on the top floor and therefore had some character thanks to the sloping roof. We loved the room, it was large, well laid out and really well decorated. Special mention to the bathroom, the shower was awesome. Absolutely brilliant shower and very stylish room overall. Certainly felt high quality in the room.

There was a continental breakfast included in the rate which was lovely but we didn't eat very much thanks to the cocktails the night before.

Room Tip: Room 11 is huge, with a sofa, coffee machine and amazing bathroom with a massive shower and full siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We recently attended a surprise birthday party for our daughter here. The staff did everything possible to make the moment special. Their flexibility, courtesy and clear desire to make our plans work helped make for a wonderful evening. If you add the quality of the accommodation and a stunning cocktail bar to their effective customer care, then you have the ingredients for a great night and a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are particularly peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellneededrest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

the staff were very friendly.
good parking around the back of the hotel
the breakfast is basic. no cooked breakfast I am afraid.
The rooms were spotless and the walk in shower was amazing.
the cocktails on offer were lovely but expensive and slow to come, but then they are all made on the spot. only isue was that the wifi didn't work in the room. would I stay again. ? absolutely

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellneededrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Visited in September 2011 for boyfriends birthday, FANTASTIC! Rooms well equipped, cocktails fantastic, service amazing. Returned winter last year but didn't stay this time, just drinks with friends - again fantastic service.
Actually booked for a week-on-Thursday (9th) as my own birthday treat from the boyfriend - driving up from our new home in South Wales (previously Lichfield!) for the occasion - Cant wait! Im sure it will again exceed expectations, I shall review again on completion of this next visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessfairybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
1.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.2 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Property: The Kenilworth Hotel
Address: 61 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kenilworth Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is an 11 bedroom boutique Hotel & Cocktail lounge in Kenilworth, Warwickshire. Contemporary features and fittings in a 16th Century Building. Award winning cocktail lounge and voted as one of the top 50 destinations in the UK by 'The Independent'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
The Hotel Kenilworth
The Kenilworth Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing