We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and a great nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent service and a great nights sleep”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for one night as I had a two day course in the area. The hotel itself it is a modern, individually designed boutique hotel within a historic building and each room is unique. We stayed in a room detached from the hotel and in the garden, which was wonderfully quiet. The hotel is perfectly situated on the main high street and has its own cocktail bar.

The room was spotlessly clean, as was the en-suite. The en-suite was a beautifully decorated wet room complete with luxury toiletries. The bedroom was not large but given the age of the building and what the owners had to work with the room was excellent. The bed was very comfortable and I had a wonderful nights sleep.

I was interested to see what the breakfast offered, as a continental breakfast is offered as standard (although a sausage roll, pastries etc can be ordered from the local baker at extra cost). We were very pleasantly surprised as not only was it laid out beautifully it had great variety. Fruit bread, cheeses, vegan and gluten free bars - they had it covered. Very impressive and well thought out.

There is free parking and free wifi for all guests.

If we are back in the Kenilworth area we would stay again without a shadow of a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the garden away from the bar area and main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredaAtTheHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    66
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
8
149
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights last summer. The rooms are all uniquely styled, really lovely rooms. If you do stay and like a tipple I would highly recommend the cocktail package, it's really good value for money. The hotel doesn't serve food but there are lots of cool places to eat in town. The staff are really helpful and friendly. I will certainly be returning soon.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have used this hotel for 4 years, and always a pleasure. Breakfast is simple but very good quality. Bread is fresh from the local bakers, fruit bread delicious. Yoghurts, biscuits, cereal, tea, coffee, fruit, juice, how much more do you need. All rooms are well cared for, great bathrooms, fresh clean towels and all of high quality.

As for staff a chat over breakfast with the Receptionist, who has a great sense of humour, or alone in the bar area. Outside, there are lots of restaurant options to choose from.

What's not to like ?

Room Tip: All rooms are individual, so check all the option. Loft room over the bar sometimes noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 802helent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed with a group of friends as we needed a hotel in the area.

The rooms are all individually designed and very modern. Storage space in our room was a bit limited, but for a short stay it was just about adequate. The en-suite wet room was AMAZING and probably one of the best showers ever!

The staff were lovely and Robert was very helpful, offering to book restaurants etc for us.

Cocktails galore are available in the bar. However, some are a little pricey, so you might not want to get too carried away!!

Breakfast was a self service continental style. Good quality bread, cheeses and fruits.

Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here on the cocktail package with another couple and had a wonderful time. The atmosphere and service were amazing all night. The bar staff were friendly, professional and helpful and we had a wonderfully relaxing evening sat in the garden. They were understanding when one of the party broke a glass after kicking the table (not through drunkenness, but rather mobility difficulties). We stayed in room 9 and it was beautiful. The other couple had 7, which we had booked for ourselves but swapped because of the stairs. Both were stunning and are hard to choose between, but 7 probably only just won! Bed was on the softer side, but this is personal preferences and they were certainly good quality. Shower was amazing! We had been slightly concerned that there were not pictures of the bathroom for 9 on the website, but that was even nicer that 7.

Breakfast was wonderful! Having seen people's previous comments about it, I was concerned. For a continental only there was an extensive choice and it was lovely. The whole experience, until checkout, was fabulous.

Upon checkout, however, we found some extras we were not expecting. Two of us had ordered drinks that were not included in the package by accident. Although this wasnt pointed out to us at the time, we had no issue with this as we had made the mistake (probably having had a couple already) and the service had been so amazing, we didn't begrudge it. Our only issue was that for the first drink (and therefore certainly not a alcohol-induced mistake) one of us wanted a vodka martini, we had been advised to ask about any cocktails that were common and not on the menu. I asked about a vodka martini for the other person and asked if it was included in the package. I was quite clearly told by the barman that it was.

Between this conversation and checking out, this decision had clearly been rethought and we were charged for it (the fact that it was on the wrong room was neither here not there). I did try to explain that we had been told it was included in the package, but now I was told that it wasn't. It didn't seem to matter what we had been told the night before. He then told me what the bar bill would have been had we not been on the cocktail package, and implied that we had got a good deal anyway. We had had a good deal, (although I'd don't feel that we took advantage at all, we certainly were not downing cocktails and we left for an hour to get dinner), but I don't feel that it was relevant to whether we should have been charged for something that we had been told was included in our package.

This was the only downside to the whole experience and left me feeling very upset over the principle. It was probably only about £9 for this drink and I didn't want to have a big argument about it because it had been such a nice experience. We would very much like to go back.

(Service and value would have been excellent had it not been for this - we debated giving service 2 stars but I really didn't want one incident undermine how wonderful the staff were the night before)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethAndRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights at the beginning of August 13' for a short trip away and to see some local sights and attractions.

It's around 25 minutes from Stratford, 20 minutes from Warwick Castle and also 40 minutes from Cadburys World!

Pro's:
Good, clean room
Good quality bedding
Good quality furniture in room
Nice modern bathroom
TV + Freeview
Nice Coffee Machine
Power sockets next to bed!
Car Parking
Opposite supermarket
Lots of nice restaurants nearby

Cons:
Lacking breakfast - very limited and £6 for a bacon roll is extortionate.

Expensive cocktails (would expect maybe a free cocktail when booking a room?)

Lack of service - barely talk to anyone from the hotel at all, wasn't asked how my stay was on any of the 3-days we were there

Wet-room bathroom was ok, but the water on the floor took too long to drain - so if you wanted to go to the toilet - your feet get drenched!

Tea/coffee selection very limited

Rooms small, but well decorated and furnished.

Generally our stay was absolutely fine, but we walked away thinking that we came second to the cocktail bar. It seems like their main focus is the cocktails, and the hotel rooms come after. We felt a bit ignored by staff - and would have liked more interaction and also a better breakfast!

However, it's a nice clean hotel in a good location for a reasonable price for what you get.

Limited car parking

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron-hill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for 1 night at The Kenilworth last night and have hijacked my Dad's tripadvisor account just to write this review. In search of an evening's mini-getaway to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday we booked The Kenilworth on recommendation from a friend. Upon arriving we were greeted immediately by a member of hotel staff who was working on the bar at the time, he took us to our room straight away without even asking our names or reservation details (as though they were awaiting our arrival) which made us feel very important, he even offered to make us a drink while we unpacked. Upon arriving at the bar we were asked if we were headed out for dinner and at what time so that they could order us a taxi without the need for us to even ask, we really felt the staff wanted to make us have a good time.

As for the room, we stayed in the aforementioned room 3 (above the bar opposite the road) which we found to be lovely and quiet in comparisson to connap's review. In all fairness it was our intention to go out and have a drink rather than get an early night in time for work in the morning but the room was very quite despite the bar downstairs being busy. The room itself was everything we could have asked for. Being a duplex the bathroom was upstairs equipped with large 2-person tub and stocked with beautiful toiletries. The room was as clean and tidy as you'd expect, fitted with a huge 50inch TV in front of the comortable bed (The TV was bigger than advertised and the bed was as comfortable as I've ever slept on). Upon returning to the hotel after dinner we took a seat in the cocktail bar where the staff were immediately on hand to serve us our drinks. Their drinks knowlledge is nothing short of impressive and you really feel they want to entertain you, there is absolutely nothing pretentious about it either. A continental breakfast was served in bed to soak up our hangovers and the hotel CAN offer breakfast sandwiches, they collect it for you from a local bakery.

All in all, a stunning hotel perfect for a mini-break drinking cocktails and watching films. Personally, in contrast to another review here found none of the features at all tacky, we wanted to move in. For us, though, the staff made us feel so welcome and sealed the deal for us, can't wait to return.

Tom & Chloe 20, 23

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
1.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
0.2 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Property: The Kenilworth Hotel
Address: 61 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kenilworth Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is an 11 bedroom boutique Hotel & Cocktail lounge in Kenilworth, Warwickshire. Contemporary features and fittings in a 16th Century Building. Award winning cocktail lounge and voted as one of the top 50 destinations in the UK by 'The Independent'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
The Hotel Kenilworth
The Kenilworth Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing