We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice drinks, awful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice place, nice drinks, awful hospitality”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

If your pretentious, snotty, pushed for time and keen for a nice drink served quickly I'd massively recommend this place as they serve nice drinks quickly (i'll give them that) and want you out. So much so your reminded of your booked slot before your delicious drink even arrives.

If you want a nice relaxed drink in a comfy chair this probably isnt the place for you in a group of more than two. A party of four sat opposite us and they also seemed to sit on each others laps.

bring a deck chair and a bib because you will spill your drinks at the speed you need to drink them and your not allowed to stand despite not being provided ample seating.

Lovely looking venue though.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebearbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotel, Owner at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
As stated before in my previous response to the same table of 20:

If you book table for 15 in December and turn up with 20 when we are full, then yes will will not have enough chairs! As much as we would love to accommodate you it would just be impossible unless you hired the whole room. You would also be given a room that is suitable for 20 people.

Our staff confirm with every guest what time their reservation is, if you want to stay longer we would try and accommodate this. It is NOT in our interest to try and get you out or 'turn tables' as we serve drinks, we are not a restaurant.

The kenilworth is ALL SEATING and we will not/do not allow any standing. We are not a pub but a cocktail lounge.

The original person that booked was told that anymore than 15 people there would be a minimum spend so you said 15 and turned up with 20 essentially having your own room in December.


Please find below a copy of your booking (emails) which states 15 people for two hours.

steve: Hi, me and my wife were hoping to come to your bar for drinks on her 30th birthday in a group of 15 or so. Is it possible to reserve a table or booth for that many? It would be on December the 7th.

(the kenilworth)
Dear Steve
We would need to know exact numbers and timings to see I we can fit you in. We are very busy on that night.
Kind regards

steve: Thanks, it would be for 15 people arriving at 7:30 on the 7th December

Regards
The kenilworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    66
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
8
150
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Booked a table for cocktails months ahead for a group of 15 people as celebrating a special birthday, we arrived on time only to be seated in an area not big enough for the entire group nevertheless we all ordered cocktails.

Before our drinks order had even arrived a waitress approached us to clarify we would be leaving by 9pm!!! I have never been so disgusted in my entire life until literally 2 minute later another waitress approached us to AGAIN ask when we would be leaving !!!! And all this before we were even given the opportunity to have a single drink! The cocktails were fine but never again will i visit a place who's staff lack basic customer service Skill and in my opinion MANNERS.

I had so looked forward to celebrating my birthday here instead it was a awful beginning to my birthday celebrations and i could not wait to leave £170 bar bill and they are rude enough to evict people from a booked table before they have even had a drink! Management should be disgusted i would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gemoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenilworthHotel, Owner at The Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Hi guys. Thank you very much for your response.

We take all of the feedback we receive very seriously and we have spoken to all the staff that worked your table on Saturday.
As you were aware we were full all night Saturday night.

You confirmed you’re the amount of guests, this is your email confirmation:
‘The table would be for 15 people arriving at 7:30 on the 7th December for 2 hours’
Unfortunately you turned up with 19 people. You are correct we did not have enough chairs for 19 people as you booked 15 and we were full.

You were made aware that any groups of over 15 had a minimum spend especially in December. You turned up with 19 which put us in an impossible situation.

The other table/guests we had next to you left as they felt intimidated by your group standing and we simply can’t have any guests feeling uncomfortable.

We are also a cocktail lounge, it is seating only and service table side.

We did have to ask the rest of your group to sit down on a number of occasions as we do not allow standing, it’s a relaxed cocktail lounge and not a pub.

We do appreciate any money that is spent at the kenilworth. I have looked at your bill and yes it was £170 for 20 people for two hours. Thank you.

We live for hospitality and customer service and employ the very best to maintain this.

It is in our interest to be ‘hospitable’ and I hope our track record backs this up.

We feel it is only courteous to remind guests how long their reservation is for and a little baffled as to why this offended you? If you wanted to stay longer we would have tried our very best to accommodate your wishes

Kind Regards
The kenilworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at The Kenilworth as a surprise from my husband for my 30th birthday. He booked the two-tiered room with a large double bath and instead of booking the cocktail package we simply paid for the cocktails separately - we are both not massive drinkers and therefore would've had to drink at least 5 cocktails each if we were to make the package value for money. We checked into our room about 5pm and chilled out watching the massive plasma TV. We had a pre-dinner cocktail which was brought to our room and we enjoyed this while getting ready. We went out for dinner at The Cross restaurant which was very nice and within walking distance of the hotel. We returned at about 9pm and enjoyed the company of the barman (as it was a Tuesday night and very quiet) who made us cocktails from the list and customized cocktails based on what we liked. It was a shame there were not more people in the bar for a bit more of an atmosphere but we enjoyed the barman's company and chilling out. We retired to our room at about 11pm and took a cocktail with us and ordered one more to the room while we enjoyed our big bath :) we both slept very well and went down to a fresh continental breakfast about 9am. There was lots on offer - fresh bread and pastries, cereals, yoghurts and breakfast snacks. There was also plenty of tea, coffee and juice. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and it was perfect for the occasion :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoegalclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had a fabulous stay here. Everything from the room, to the staff, to the cocktails were fantastic. Stayed on the cocktail package, which is excellent value for money. The bar is is beautifully decorated and has a great atmosphere. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly and very happy to make recommendations of your next drink. We stayed in room 11 and were delighted with the room, it was very opulent and everything we wanted for a relaxing night away. The shower is amazing! Thank you very much, we'll definitely return and recommend you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoliver26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff are really friendly and the cocktail bar is possibly the best I've ever been to - the drinks are all made using fresh ingredients and attention to detail is fantastic. The rooms are all unique, I stayed in room 6 and it was great. Large, warm, walk in shower, plenty of space Ina the room, very comfortable be, and the whole hotel had a well cared for feel to it.

The only minor complaint was finding the car parking originally as the hotel is mid terrace on the high street and it's not immediately obvious that you have to drive around all of the buildings, into a housing estate and then park at back of the hotel. It's discretely marked as being the Kenilworth and the website isn't clear that's where the parking is. This is only a very minor complaint though the entire stay was otherwise fantastic...

Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ianedmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for one night as I had a two day course in the area. The hotel itself it is a modern, individually designed boutique hotel within a historic building and each room is unique. We stayed in a room detached from the hotel and in the garden, which was wonderfully quiet. The hotel is perfectly situated on the main high street and has its own cocktail bar.

The room was spotlessly clean, as was the en-suite. The en-suite was a beautifully decorated wet room complete with luxury toiletries. The bedroom was not large but given the age of the building and what the owners had to work with the room was excellent. The bed was very comfortable and I had a wonderful nights sleep.

I was interested to see what the breakfast offered, as a continental breakfast is offered as standard (although a sausage roll, pastries etc can be ordered from the local baker at extra cost). We were very pleasantly surprised as not only was it laid out beautifully it had great variety. Fruit bread, cheeses, vegan and gluten free bars - they had it covered. Very impressive and well thought out.

There is free parking and free wifi for all guests.

If we are back in the Kenilworth area we would stay again without a shadow of a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the garden away from the bar area and main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredaAtTheHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights last summer. The rooms are all uniquely styled, really lovely rooms. If you do stay and like a tipple I would highly recommend the cocktail package, it's really good value for money. The hotel doesn't serve food but there are lots of cool places to eat in town. The staff are really helpful and friendly. I will certainly be returning soon.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.2 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
265 reviews
1.2 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Property: The Kenilworth Hotel
Address: 61 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kenilworth Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is an 11 bedroom boutique Hotel & Cocktail lounge in Kenilworth, Warwickshire. Contemporary features and fittings in a 16th Century Building. Award winning cocktail lounge and voted as one of the top 50 destinations in the UK by 'The Independent'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
The Hotel Kenilworth
The Kenilworth Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing