We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Woodside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

we have just returned from a stay here and it was brilliant. the facilities are excellent and the staff are very helpful and welcoming. the rooms are large and spacious and the pool and sauna are good and very clean. the choice of food is wide and cooked to an excellent standard. we have enjoyed it greatly and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Woodside, and that you had time to make the most of the facilities. Being so close to beautiful places such as Stratford upon Avon and Warwick, I hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Thank you for writing a review for us.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    120
    49
    18
    10
See reviews for
77
111
7
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Some rooms are OK but others are so small and you have to climb over the bed to get in as it is tight against the wall.

Room Tip: Ask at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for leaving a review for us following your stay with us. We do have a small number of rooms where the bed is against the wall and endeavour to let people know where possible when booking.

I hope that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay with us.
Kind Regards
Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Me and my wife stayed here after staying at a few high quality hotels during the week. Firstly the price was amazing value so we had set our expectations low, how wrong we were from the moment the automatic gates open this hotel is quality, the grounds are beautiful, the staff are so helpful and pleasant and the room we had was brilliant and a pleasure to be in. The food was top class I highly recommend the white chocolate fondue and the breakfast Buffett. Overall it was a pleasure to stay here and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crjw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and happy that we exceeded any expectations you had.

As we have offers on throughout the year I hope we can welcome you back to Woodside in the near future.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We really loved this hotel set in a quiet location with no traffic noise. The beautiful grounds are well maintained and we received a warm helpful welcome, the staff found us costumes for the pool which was pretty, clean, tidy with a sauna and a place to keep your valuables and extra towels. The shower had white stuff toiletries. Our room was small but not in any way cramped. It was also very clean, smelling fresh and laid out well. The breakfast has free range eggs, tasty sausages and fair trade coffee. Overall the feeling you take away from this hotel is that they care and that you are important.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that we looked after you. We do thoroughly believe in assuring every guest that stays with us has an enjoyable time, and we are very lucky to have a lot of staff who epitomise that ethos.

I hope that we can welcome you back soon as we have many offers available throughout the summer.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Very good value for money, will definately return. Will be trying out the other hotels in the group. Makes a fantastic wedding venue.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully you get chance to stay in one of our other properties soon. You can find details and offers on our website.

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have never stayed in a Sundial Hotel before and did not know what to expect, however the £70 per night double room charge including cooked breakfast was remarkable considering the level of amenities and service that the Woodside had on offer. Beautiful grounds, a pool, 5 star bar, terrace and restaurant service (in fact some 5 star hotels could learn a thing or two about real service at this hotel).

The rooms were spacious with comfortable and clean beds. An i-pod dock in every room was a novelty and well received, but the TV was CRT portable and lowered the tone of the room a little.

Towels were enormous and fluffy and food was of the highest standard. Giving them a call and finding the right weekend ensures that deals on room prices are on offer. Has the feel of a well run family hotel.

Room Tip: Call reception at the hotel and negotiate, they are very happy to do this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardnailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you very much for the glowing review you left for us. It is reassuring to know that you were looked after throughout your stay with us.

We do indeed do a lot of Weddings and private functions at Woodside and pride ourselves on the service we give. So, it is good to know you enjoyed your stay here.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This trip had been booked for us as we were going to a graduation ceremony at Warwick University and what a pleasant surprise! The accomodation was refreshing, contemporary and clean and the staff were very helpful. We used the pool - they even had spare swimwear!!!- it was clean and pleasant. The breakfast was luxurious, and although a bit quick to clear the table, the service was great! Definitely planning to go back and seems to be a great place to stay for exploring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly that we exceeded any expectations that you had.

As you say we are close to Warwick University, but also Warwick and Leamington Spa are only 10 minutes away, and Stratford upon Avon only a 20 minute drive. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
1.5 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
7.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,917 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Hotel

Property: Woodside Hotel
Address: Glasshouse Lane, Kenilworth CV8 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodside is an Edwardian mansion set within 32 acres of grounds and enjoys a quiet woodland location on the outskirts of Kenilworth in Warwickshire. The 74 en-suite bedrooms which are housed in accommodation buildings adjacent to the main house, are individually decorated and beautifully appointed. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. Your stay also includes free Wi-Fi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Food is prepared daily by the award-winning team of chefs and is served in two restaurants - The Mulberry Brasserie and The Orchard. The Parson`s Folly bar is the perfect place to enjoy a snack or relax with a drink. There are a range of leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, fitness suite, croquet lawn,tennis court and a 9 hole pitch`n`putt golf course which is complimentary to guests. Woodside`s 32 acres also offer an idyllic setting for walking and jogging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Woodside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodside, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Kenilworth
Woodside Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing