We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous and looking forward to staying again”
Review of Woodside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I would compare Woodside (Sundial Group) with De Vere Hotels but rate them higher.
Great location, visited some nearby National Trust Homes, wonderful scenery all round.
The Reception, Restaurant and Cleaning Staff were very friendly and efficient.
We had our evening meal in the Hotel on the first night and our only regret is that we didn't use the Hotel Restaurant on our second evening.
Our room was very clean and well maintained, we used the swimming pool during our stay which was great fun.
Wouldn't hesitate in booking this Hotel again, and would now consider using another Sundial Group Hotel. Many Thanks and Well Done!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfrednoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank your for taking time to leave such a wonderful review for us.

It is very pleasing that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us, and that you particularly enjoyed your meal here. With Kenilworth having so many fine places to eat, it is good to know that you enjoyed dining with us.

I sincerely hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future as there are so many lovely places to visit within a short drive.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave feedback for us.

Regards
Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Have stayed at this Hotel once before and at Highgate House twice before, but was left disappointed this time. I had won this weekend on Ebay and was impressed by the initial booking process. The bedroom (11) needed some basic repairs which weren't attended to during our stay, and this, was quite suprising given the high standards this Company appear to have. Food was lovely, staff as always very polite, attentive and professional. Sorry but I think it correct to mark you down on this occasion.

Room Tip: Ask the staf for one, they will do their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendo9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us.

I am sorry that your stay with us was not as good as you have previously experienced. It was obviously a breakdown in communication on our behalf, and the issues you raised should have been dealt with immediately.

It is good to know that you enjoyed the food whilst you were with us and the staff looked after you. I do hope that you will return in the future, when we will hopefully manage to secure a higher score from you.

Regards
Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is situated in a lovely landscape, a bit outside Kenilworth, very quite location and basically a conference center with lots of conference rooms.Very good conference service and dedicated staff, solid conference technique available, good food but unfortunately the rooms are pretty basic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Till_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your comments regarding the staff here and the quality of food,

I hope that we can welcome you back soon, and I thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us.

Regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just wanted to share our stay at Woodside, Sundial Group, Kenilworth. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast 3 night break, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The food was superb, they catered exceptionally well for 2 of our family with a gluten free diet, nothing was too much trouble. The kids loved the golf, tennis and swimming pool, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel and will be rebooking soon! Perkins family

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerkinsBristl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Mrs Perkins,

Thank you very much for the kind words you wrote about your stay with us. I am extremely pleased that you and your family enjoyed your three night break with us, and that we catered for your dietary needs well. It must be very frustrating to have to watch exactly what you are eating all the time, so it is important that we get it right for you.

We run family breaks during the Easter Holidays and throughout the summer, so, look forward to your return soon.

Kind Regards
Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Booked at comparatively short notice,my three night experience at Woodside exceeded all expectations.A nice room with superb bed,delicious food and and some really professional and attentive service from every department.As a jaded road-runner well-accustomed to the indifferent,staying at Woodside reminded me that there are still establishments that can provide
comfortable,efficient service combined with great value.Well done!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your three nights with us, particularly as you were looked after at every point of your stay. It is good to know that you deemed all the staff you encountered in the same light, as we know we are lucky to have such an efficient and professional team.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future, whether it be business or pleasure.

Regards
Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Having decided to have a weekend break and meet friends for Sunday lunch, we were looking for somewhere to stay and relax on the Saturday night in the midlands area. A friend recommended Woodside in Kenilworth and we booked at short notice. From a location point of view it was ideal, with Warwick, Coventry, Stratford upon Avon and Royal Leamington Spa all within a 20 minute drive and Birmingham a further 10 minutes away.

We went into our stay with our eyes wide open - Woodside is primarlity a Conference and Wedding venue, but that doesn't mean it can't do other things well. Upon arrival we were welcomed by the most professional hotel reception staff we have ever encountered. Their thoughtfulness, friendliness and manner was exceptional and really gave us a great first impression of the hotel. We were given a room that was more that adequate - spacious, clean and with good decor and facilities. It was warm and welcoming on a cold weekend.

Having no evening plans, we were given a variety of options with regards to our evening meal and the daily menu for the Orchard room was posted under the door so we could choose where to eat from the comfort of our own room.

We went with the daily menu from the Orchard room, and whilst there was a celebration in the adjoining conservatory, the restaurant staff were friendly and attentive and the food was excellent. This theme was carried through to breakfast, where there was more than ample choice and everything was well organised.

Our only slighty negative from our stay was the temperature of the indoor swimming pool - to say it was cold was a bit of an understatement, but we fully appreciated that of a weekend this probably is a facility that isn't used very much!

I think the leisure facilities are the only let down between Woodside and a really nice 4/5 star hotel, but the price we paid and our expectations meant this wasn't a problem. The staff and their service really was comparible with a 5 star hotel and that's why I will be recommending Woodside to others looking for somewhere convenient and relaxing to stay.

Based upon the service we experienced and the level of detail that the staff went to, I wouldn't be surprised if the conferences and weddings that are held there aren't also of an extremely high standard.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and the kind words you wrote.

I am extremely pleased that from the moment you arrived our staff looked after you We are very lucky with the staff we have here and it is good to know that they are recognised. It is also very pleasing that you enjoyed your meal with us, particularly as Kenilworth has many good restaurants now and our competition in that area is very strong.

As you rightly pointed out we are very well located to Coventry/Warwick/Stratford upon Avon and Leamington Spa, so I hope, should you be returning to the area you will choose to stay with us again.

Thank you once again.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Loved the pool but would have prefered better (separate) changing/showering facilities.
The room wasn't ideal for getting ready for a party ie difficult to access the main mirror for making up/drying hair due to position - bed & bedside table in the way. Old fashioned TV & very thin walls meant i heard next doors conversation into the early hours of the morning although they weren't talking loudly.
The hold water for the basin was dangerously scalding hot.
Staff wonderful & food exceptional

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casagirasol14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewHewitt, Deputy General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you for leaving a review for us on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that you did not find all of our facilities favourable. As you pointed out we do have one communal changing area with separate changing areas for the pool. I can only assume that the room you stayed in would have been one of our smaller rooms, as we do have other more larger rooms that may have been more appropriate.

Thank you for your comments about the food and staff. As in previous reviews, we take great pride in customer service at all levels, so it is good to know that you were looked after.

I do hope that you would consider staying with us again, should you need a 'base' for visiting the local area.

Regards
Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
1.5 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#5 of 7 in Kenilworth
288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
680 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
6.6 mi away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Hotel

Address: Woodside Lodge Glasshouse Lane, Kenilworth CV8 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: £74 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodside is an Edwardian mansion set within 32 acres of grounds and enjoys a quiet woodland location on the outskirts of Kenilworth in Warwickshire. There are 74 en-suite bedrooms, housed in accommodation buildings adjacent to the main house. Your stay also includes a Full English & Continental Breakfast, free Wi-Fi, use of the leisure facilities, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Food is prepared daily by the award-winning team of chefs and is served in two restaurants - The Mulberry Brasserie and The Orchard. The Parsons Folly bar is the perfect place to enjoy a snack or relax with a drink. There are a range of leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, fitness suite, croquet lawn,tennis court and a 9 hole pitch`n`putt golf course which is complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodside, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Kenilworth
Woodside Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing