We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Posh without the pomp” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Canadian in England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Posh without the pomp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days for a wedding, and the whole experience at the hotel was great. The employees were extremely helpful and friendly. In particular I want to mention Mr Tony R. who went above and beyond to sort out a meal for our 2 year old who took a nap during dinner time, all without prompting. Everyone seemed really happy to work there.

Beds were good, rooms were good although a safe would have been useful.

Loved the bunnies.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl0betr0tter1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this reveiw following your recent stay at Woodside and a special mention for Tony R. Please be assured that your reveiw will be shared with all the staff at Woodside and i hope that you are able to visit us again in the future weather it be for business or pleasure to enjoy the facilities we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    113
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
71
106
7
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for 1 night whilst visiting Coventry. Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Beautiful grounds, great facilities, scrummy food and love the thoughtful goody bag to take on your return journey!! The bunnies are cute

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your reveiw following your recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and standard of customer service that we always strive to give our guests . We hope you are able to visit Woodside again in the near future . if you are in the warwickshire area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed here for a three day conference - conference rooms are good with natural lighting - bedroom was small but comfortable. However the bathroom was rather basic and looked tired - more importantly there were real problems with the shower water pressure and lack of really hot water. I complained but it seemed to have little effect. Shame really as otherwise the place is not too bad. But at a minimum you expect hot water in a hotel!

Room Tip: Check quality of room and plumbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ichdien000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback following your recent stay with us at Woodside. Please be assured your comments regarding the plumbing will be fully investigated . I do hope that you have the oppertunity to visit us again in the futre weather it be for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Staff are just lovely, particularly Pietr and Tomas in the bar, nothing was too much trouble for either of them, they are a credit to the hotel.

Pool area very clean. Bedroom and ensuite also very clean, had a double room which was small as was the bed, glad to have been on single occupancy as it certainly would have been cramped for two people. The room did look in need of a freshen up, ie: painting of walls and ceiling, 'hot' and 'cold' tap markers were missing, and the shower is crying out for a pressurised system, but always with lashings of hot water. Bed really comfy, fabulous!

Ate in the hotel each night, good selection on the menu. Breakfast was plentiful, freshly cooked and tasty.

Sadly on our last night there was a family group in the bar who insisted on having the TV on so loud we were shouting to be heard, the staff did ask them turn it down, and to respect the diners around them which did happen for a while........ later this group then sadly turned on a gentleman who we believe was the duty manager becoming very aggressive with him and rather racist. Shame they couldn't have been forcibly removed off the premises as no employee should have to tolerate behaviour like this regardless of them being paying guests. I would suggest the hotel either put the TV in a smaller room as a residents lounge or just remove the TV permanently and let the diners enjoy some background music as opposed to boxing and general crappy Saturday night TV!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for writing this positve reveiw following your recent stay at Woodside we are so pleased that you enjoyed the facilities we offer. Our standard of customer service is always very important to us and thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We do hope that can welcome you back to Woodside again in the the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have just had a one night stay here (8th June) with our 18 month old son. I cannot praise the staff of this lovely hotel enough, they were fantastic from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The food was excellent, we chose to have our evening meal in the bar as could eat at 6pm, although the barman actually let us order at 5.40pm. The hotel itself is beautiful, great location and grounds. Our room, which was located on the ground floor for ease with a little one, was very clean and had a travel cot (Mamas & Papas) provided ready for us. If I had to be really really picky then I would say a black out blind would have been helpful but the blind in the room was very dark by normal standards anyway. My husband was pleased to see 'decent' toilet roll, not the usual 2 ply thin paper usually provided in hotels, but quilted toilet paper!
The staff were very accommodating providing our sons milk and warming up for us both evening and morning.
The pool was very clean, lovely changing rooms with towels and lockers with keys provided.
Breakfast was excellent, great selection of hot and cold, lots of staff to attend to everyone - even at 7.30am on a Sunday.
All in all a 10/10 hotel & staff. I would recommend to anyone but from personal experience those with children you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your excellent reveiw we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Woodside so much. Please be assured that your reveiw will be shared with all the staff,and I do hope that you are able visit Woodside in the future and again enjoy the facilities and customer service that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lovely grounds. Watch out for ramps, a bit of a shock the first time need repainting please. Conference centre/wedding venue. I have mixed feelings about the hotel. Rooms are separate from main building. Not a problem when weather fine. We were lucky. Bed was very comfortable, looking at other rooms as we walked along corridor we had one of the bigger rooms. Telly small but not a prob, for us, thought the place was best suited for conferences/weddings. Accommodation block was not secure (there seem to have been a security system previously, not repaired. Electronic gates on entry) when we arrived no one at reception.| Lots of lovely wild rabbits. (in grounds) Went for breakfast at 8.30 tables not cleared,(same each day) staff lovely and great selection for breakfast. Bar closed in evening? Room attendants very loud, keen to get us out at 10am, but three different people asked us when we going before 9.30! One came in room but did apologise and then asked for sheets! Room was pleasant but needed a better clean. (Edges of carpet next to walls needed vacuuming, overflow on sink needed good clean, maybe I am too fussy but have been in cheaper places and they were cleaner. Something missing. (curtains/bed trim dated). maybe that was it. Did raise an issue with reception which was addressed. Lovely trolley with sweets, water, apple and biscuits for departure, same it was not stocked up! Pool area clean, room attendants shouting on and off to one another in different languages, on and off which was a bit scary. Good idea about sauna, switch it on before use, lovely size. Not unpleasant but feel it is overpriced for what it is, needs an extra touch.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before booking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpikybuffyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete this reveiw following your recent stay at Woodside. Your feedback is important to us and is always shared and used to help us to continue to improve our facilities and the standard of customer service we always strive to offer.
We do hope you are able to come and stay at Woodside again in the near future if you are visiting the Warwickshire area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while attending a wedding reception.
Check in was quick and hassle free, I had a single room with comfy double bed. Only gripe was that they should invest in some black out blinds as I woke up far too early after the celebrations if the night before due to sunlight coming through the window.
Bathroom is pleasant and clean enough, with nice shampoo etc, not cheap stuff!
Wedding reception was great, plenty of room for a dance. Food was tasty.
Breakfast wasn't the best as they kept running out if things and it took them ages to bring toast to the table!
Check out was simple with friendly staff to see you on your way.
Fantastic surroundings with loads if rabbits everywhere! And a 'sword in the stone' in the garden area too!!!
All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for for your positive feedback following your recent stay at Woodside we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed the enviroment and our facilities that we offer . Please be assured that the feedback that you gave regarding the bedroom will be actioned . We do hope that you are able to visit Woodside again in the future weather it be for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
24.9 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
7.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
6.1 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Hotel

Property: Woodside Hotel
Address: Glasshouse Lane, Kenilworth CV8 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodside is an Edwardian mansion set within 32 acres of grounds and enjoys a quiet woodland location on the outskirts of Kenilworth in Warwickshire. The 74 en-suite bedrooms which are housed in accommodation buildings adjacent to the main house, are individually decorated and beautifully appointed. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. Your stay also includes free Wi-Fi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Food is prepared daily by the award-winning team of chefs and is served in two restaurants - The Mulberry Brasserie and The Orchard. The Parson`s Folly bar is the perfect place to enjoy a snack or relax with a drink. There are a range of leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, fitness suite, croquet lawn,tennis court and a 9 hole pitch`n`putt golf course which is complimentary to guests. Woodside`s 32 acres also offer an idyllic setting for walking and jogging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Woodside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodside, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Kenilworth
Woodside Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing