We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Function at Woodside”
Review of Woodside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Evening Function at Woodside”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is the third year that we have held our Annual Gala Dinner at the Woodside and once again we were not disappointed. The meal was
delicious, well presented, and served by helpful and cheeful staff.
Nothing was too much trouble. All special needs catered for in a polite and friendly way. The surroundings of this venue are beautiful to say the least and we were entertained by the antics of rabbits running around the grounds. Very peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle of busy roads. As we were not residents we cannot comment on the hotel side.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jppb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent event we were so pleased that Woodside was chosen for a third time to host this evening function, and that you felt that the standard of service and food was excellent again. We do hope that you will continue to visit us for this event and look forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    117
    47
    18
    10
See reviews for
75
107
7
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
196 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I spent three nights here on business. Many similar venues (and I have been to a lot of them) are tired and suffer from a lack of investment. This place is set in lovely and well maintained grounds. My room, while quite small had everything I needed and a very good shower. A good internet connection is free (as it should be but is not always the case in hotels). The food was good - it was varied and the lunchtime buffet was tasty while the evening meals were excellent, well-cooked and the vegetables were fresh and not overdone. Staff were helpful and friendly. It's not the Ritz but it does its job very well indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms apparently varied quite a lot - I had a recently refurbished one and while it was a bit crampe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westyorkshireman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review following you recent stay with us .We do appreciate you noticing the investment that we are currently making within our property. We were also pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities, food and customer service that you received during your stay, and do hope that you are able to visit us again in the near future weather it be for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I had the pleasure of visiting the Woodside in Kenilworth as part of an I-B-E Advanced Performance Management event. What can I say? Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings, tranquil and lovely food.

The conference room was light and airy, which on a hot June day, was ideal. The catering was fantastic, with REAL coffee. Yes you are even given choices of coffee syrups to put in your latte!

And then lovely delicate scones for afternoon tea.

10/10. Will definitely come back if I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinGavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review following your event at Woodside we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the conference facilities that we offer our guests and do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future weather it be for business or pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We called for dinner not really knowing what to expect after being intrigued as to what lied beyond the automatic entrance gates to the grounds. What we found didn’t disappoint. The grounds are beautiful and lead to a delightful main building.
Signage isn’t brilliant but staff were very helpful in directing us to the bar for a pre-dinner drink after first reserving a table. The bar was very nice and as it was a gorgeous night we sat outside. Drinks were brought to table by a very friendly barman called Nick who was very polite and helpful which created a nice start to the evening.
Dinner was served in an attractive dining room overlooking the grounds. The Maître d’ who introduced himself as Martin was excellent throughout the evening and nothing was too much trouble. As well as the service the food also didn’t disappoint and can be summarised as exceptional.
We all opted for the corned beef hash with poached egg and it was delicious, runny yolk and home-made brown sauce a marriage made in heaven. So too were the main courses of Pork, Duck and Cod and were faultless. The night was completed with an exquisite chocolate bombe desert and the cheeseboard which again excellent quality and a good selection.
I’m not sure why this place isn’t advertised and is more open to the general public but I would recommend you take the time to find it, go beyond the gates and if our experiences were typical of the quality and service this place gives you will not be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WayneD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review we were so pleased that you took the time to share your recent experience from visiting Woodside. Please be assured that all of your comments will be shared with all the staff and we do hope that we can welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We went with friends for Sunday lunch - this is not always available, you have to ring and enquire because they sometimes have private functions going on.
It was a lovely sunny day so we sat outside with our pre-lunch drinks. Only 2 choices for each course but not a problem as all our tastes were catered for.
The starter of prawns and smoked salmon was very good.
The main course was a carvery, again very good with beef and pork, excellent meat cooked very well. Good choice of vegetables, although the Yorkshire pudding was obviously of the frozen variety.
Pudding was either Chocolate Brownie or a Lemon "Bombe" - again bought in frozen we thought. Not bad but not brilliant.
The prices were reasonable, £17.50 for 3 courses plus coffee, and the wine list varied.
One thing that irritated me and my husband was the fact that the Maitre d' was charming and friendly to begin with, but really pushed his luck later on, making rather cheeky and rude comments to my husband - we feel he overstepped the mark and our friends were quite embarrassed, not wanting to make a fuss therefore laughing "politely" at his comments. Luckily, the young man who waited at table was exemplary and my husband tipped him separately - he normally is a very generous tipper but not on this occasion.
Apart from that we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review following your recent Sunday Lunch at Woodside we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and the food that was served. Please be assured that all of our food we serve is produced from our kitchen and are dedicated to always serve quality produce. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future so that you can enjoy the facilities that Woodside has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A one night stay on my way to Leamington Spa. Great location and beautiful setting. Very helpful staff at check in . The gentleman carried the bags for me and my colleague so we could hold the umbrella during the torrents of rain .
Car park is small , we got in after a conference left but before the next one arrived.
Room was in the accomodation block, very simple and well contained.
Food in the bar was ok, my halloumi salad was tasty but the pizza wasn't fantastic. Service was a mixture of table service and bar service.
Perfectly good sleep on a comfy bed. Nice touches such as the bottle of water in the room.
Small gym, only one treadmill. Need to get early to it.
Breakfast was lovely.Though don't understand why the fruit teas are a DIY job yet normal tea and coffee are served to the table.
Great efficient checkout . Definately would use this property again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niviksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review following your recent stay with us at Woodside we were pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities and found our level of customer service of a high standard we do hope that you are able to visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed at The Woodside Hotel on a number of occasions over the last 4 weeks after beginning a new job which takes me to this area at least once a week. The staff are possibly the friendliest that I have come across at a hotel! From the reception, to the cleaners and all between they look after your every need. Plenty of parking, a small gym and pool, tennis court and a pitch and putt course there are lots to do to fill your time. The bar and restaurant provide excellent food and a great range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. The town of Kenilworth is about 2 miles away and there is plenty to see and do and plenty of pubs and restaurants to keep you busy!

I am looking forward to visiting again in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review it was very pleasing to read that you enjoy your regular stays with us so much our standard of customer service is so important and also the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff is key to our success at Woodside.
We do hope that you are able to continue to visit us on a regular basis and look forward to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
24.9 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
679 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
265 reviews
7.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Hotel

Property: Woodside Hotel
Address: Glasshouse Lane, Kenilworth CV8 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodside is an Edwardian mansion set within 32 acres of grounds and enjoys a quiet woodland location on the outskirts of Kenilworth in Warwickshire. The 74 en-suite bedrooms which are housed in accommodation buildings adjacent to the main house, are individually decorated and beautifully appointed. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. Your stay also includes free Wi-Fi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Food is prepared daily by the award-winning team of chefs and is served in two restaurants - The Mulberry Brasserie and The Orchard. The Parson`s Folly bar is the perfect place to enjoy a snack or relax with a drink. There are a range of leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, fitness suite, croquet lawn,tennis court and a 9 hole pitch`n`putt golf course which is complimentary to guests. Woodside`s 32 acres also offer an idyllic setting for walking and jogging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodside, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Kenilworth
Woodside Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing