We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find, happy to stay again”
Review of Woodside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great find, happy to stay again”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We discovered this gem almost by accident after my youngest daughter started to feel unwell on our recent holidays, booked on the last minute to find us a bed for the night we didn't really have much in the way of expectations, and were very pleasantly surprised.
The Main building and grounds are very imposing and the staff were incredibly helpful even providing us with cleaning materials after my youngest had thrown up in the car. The accommodation blocks did feel a little "basic" compared to the main building but once in our family room the interior was fresh and modern, and the kids beds were already set up for us despite the 20 or so minutes notice we had given them of arrival.
If I had to criticise the room, it would be the flat panel television was lost on the wall it was mounted on and could have been a bigger size. The hotel swimming pool looked inviting, but I didn't get around to trying it. The breakfast was a comprehensive buffet, and was absolutely top notch, with very good quality sausages and bacon. Although the hotel seems to target business conferences, it is a really nice place and we will happily return again in the future.

Room Tip: we had a family room with two Z beds laid out, and surprisingly there was still room to move!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spexmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for writing this review following your recent stay with us at Woodside . We were so pleased that you chose to stay at such short notice . It was also good to read that you enjoyed the facilities level of customer service and the food that you experienced during your stay .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    118
    48
    18
    10
See reviews for
76
107
7
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My partner and I booked via Booking.com on a last minute whim to get a way for the weekend. Having had previous major disappointments I am delighted to say this hotel did not fail us. It is a typical conference hotel and the rooms are pretty basic and down corridors reminiscent of school dorms and they are also a little boxy but it is a perfectly clean and comfortable place to lay your head at night and great value for money.

The customer service was excellent, the evening meal was excellent and the breakfast was magnificent. The bar area was comfortable and relaxed, the drinks were priced very reasonably for hotel prices and again the bar staff went out of their way to assist us.

All in all it was a great find and we enjoyed our stay - thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review following your recent stay with us at Woodside we were pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities and customer service so much and your comments regarding the standard of food were appreciated also.
We do hope that you have the opportunity to visit Woodside again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The approach and grounds are impressive and the best part of this place. Good and easy parking. Reception was a bit vague and needs improvement. Rooms reminded us of college halls of residence and poor. No lifts, long corridors and small 'student' type. Room 45 very poor (cabin style with not room to swing a cat), and bathroom abysmal. Clean but needs updating. Tea making facilities but small wardrobe full with ironing board, iron and other 'stuff'. No aircon and hot even with windows open. Country view the best bit. No safe deposit. Breakfast selection OK but staff service poor. Swimming pool approached through seedy/grubby looking unisex? changing rooms and pool small, hot and uninviting so didn't use it. Would not stay at this place by choice. Probably a conference centre with good facilities? but not a good hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank juniperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Woodside it was disappointing to read that you found our facilities not to your satisfaction but did feel that we were a good facility for conferencing . please be assured that your comments will be used to continue to improve our offering and the standard of customer service that we always strive to offer our guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

On approach hotel and grounds are very nice for sure. There is plenty of parking close to both reception and bedroom block. Reception, staff and check in very nice and professional. Problem for me is the bedroom blocks and rooms are very reminicent of a university halls of residence and very beige and basic. My double room for example had a bathroom with shower over bath and in need of a bit of decorating, although a decent size. A double bed, a wardrobe, a bedside table and a piece of wood across an alcove with a single leg as a desk all in 1970s formica style repro wood. Plus a small TV and a remote that didnt work. I stopped here for 4 nights which might have been the issue for me as for a night it probably wouldnt have been an issue but 4 nights its a bit basic for the price i paid at an average of £80/night. Leisure facilities ok, pool nice but small, sauna excellent and hot hot hot. Breakfast was ok not the best but not too bad. What lets this down is that I think they cater more for overnighters which is ok for one night but there are better hotels for the price in the area for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theelk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review following your recent stay with us at Woodside. Your feedback is very important us and you were right to comment that we are a Conference Center/Hotel and Meetings, Events and Celebrations are what we are specialists in.
I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again weather it be for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My Partner & I booked on Laterooms.com for a last minute break.
Great value for money on a one night B&B stay at Woodside. The Staff on reception were friendly & very helpful with any questions asked.The Double room was lovely and clean & welcoming with complimentary tea & coffee in the room. Flat screen tv, Kettle, Fan, Hair drier, Ironing board and Iron. In the en-suit bathroom it was very clean and tidy with fresh towels & toiletries, only grip was that the toilet cistern took ages to re fill and the toilet seat was loose and did not stay up. This was a problem as had to hold up when going to toilet as a guy as had to hold seat up. Swimming pool , Sauna & changing room area was clean and Refreshing with plenty of clean towels and locker. All the staff at Woodside were very Polite & helpful making our stay pleasurable & the food was exultant and plentiful. Room service was very good too.
Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordladywilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review following your weekend break with us at Woodside We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities and customer service. Please be assured that are maintenance team will rectify the frustration that you had with the toilet seat and thank you for bringing the problem to our attention. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We held a family party for 16 here over a weekend. Hotel clean and comfortable. Staff very professional and accommodating. Food at breakfast and evening meal celebration excellent. Some rooms are yet to be refurbished but all are clean, bathrooms a bit tired. Swimming pool , tennis court and small pitch and putt nice facilities for a weekend away. Would come again for similar occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leedssally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review following your recent visit to Woodside we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities that we offer and We hope that you have the opportunity to visit again in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stopped here for one night and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff on reception were friendly end informative and the room was small but had everything we needed! A lovely location with a nice field and it's resident bunnies for a view...

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Faye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review following your recent stay with us at Woodside we were pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the standard of customer service that we offer. We do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
24.9 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
693 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
267 reviews
7.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Hotel

Property: Woodside Hotel
Address: Glasshouse Lane, Kenilworth CV8 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodside is an Edwardian mansion set within 32 acres of grounds and enjoys a quiet woodland location on the outskirts of Kenilworth in Warwickshire. The 74 en-suite bedrooms which are housed in accommodation buildings adjacent to the main house, are individually decorated and beautifully appointed. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. Your stay also includes free Wi-Fi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Food is prepared daily by the award-winning team of chefs and is served in two restaurants - The Mulberry Brasserie and The Orchard. The Parson`s Folly bar is the perfect place to enjoy a snack or relax with a drink. There are a range of leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, fitness suite, croquet lawn,tennis court and a 9 hole pitch`n`putt golf course which is complimentary to guests. Woodside`s 32 acres also offer an idyllic setting for walking and jogging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Woodside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodside, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Kenilworth
Woodside Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing