We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities but basic rooms”
Review of Woodside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woodside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed for a Saturday night when visiting the local area. The hotel is actually a conference centre, set in some nice grounds about a mile outside of town.

Our room was not in the main building, but in the modern annex behind the swimming pool. Our room was fairly small for a double, and had a chain hotel impersonal feel. But the bed was comfortable and it had everything we needed (tv, kettle, alarm clock, etc.). The bathroom was well equipped, with a bath and fixed overhead shower.

We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening. The breakfast the following morning was a buffet service. The fried breakfast was very good, but some of the other bits were lacking (dry croissants, bitter orange juice).

The facilities here were very good and because it's geared up for business and party bookings were hardly being used. We had the 20 metre pool and sauna to ourselves for an hour on Saturday afternoon. Free Wifi throughout the site worked well. There is a pitch & putt course and a gym, so you should find something to suit you.

The staff all seemed friendly and welcoming, Overall, for a one night leisure break it suited our needs. It's not a romantic or boutique hotel, but the facilities make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Woodside we were pleased to read that you found the facilities acceptable and also enjoyed the standard of breakfast that we offer . We do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit Woodside again in the near future weather it be a business trip or that you visit Warwickshire for leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here with colleagues for two nights on business. The hotel is tucked away in lovely country side about a mile outside Kenilworth where there lots of restaurants and bars but you would need to drive. The food in the hotel is of a good standard. It has everything you need for a short stay including gym and swimming pool. The breakfast was good and plentiful. The staff were also friendly. Free wi fi is also a bonus. I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your review following your recent business stay with us at Woodside . We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities food and level of customer service during your stay and do hope that you have the opportunity to visit again in the near future weather it be for business again or indeed leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel set in lovely grounds with many pretty features. Rooms are set apart from main building and ours was quite small but spotlessly clean and well equiped, lovely to have toiletries provided and was pleased to see no 'elf n safety' restrictions on windows and fan & mini fridge provided. We only stayed one night but took advantage of the facilities, lovely pool and sauna, again spotlessly clean and lovely big towels provided. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Didn't have dinner here but breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and all seemed very fresh.
A wonderful relaxing weekend, can't fault the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvconnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for writing this excellent review we were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much. We do hope if you are visiting Warwickshire again in the future you will choose Woodside as your preferred venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding last year, the venue is great wedding went smoothly , food was great staff wet super also . The room was fine didn't spend too much time in there . Our room was ground floor which I'm not a fan of personally . The fronds are overrun by bunnies

Stayed: August 2013
Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your review following your recent wedding event with us hear at Woodside. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of Woodside from its facilities to the food and customer service that you received during the event. We do hope that you have the oppertunity to visit us again in the future weather it be for business or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Came to this hotel with my partner and his parents for a few nights as a little get away. It was a very lovely stay, the rooms where lovely, big, clean and comfortable. The pool was gorgeous and the grounds fantastic. The accommodation was only a short drive away from the town.
Food in the hotel was lovely and the bar had a great variety. Lovely hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Charrylooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review it was good to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you also enjoyed the facilities that we have at Woodside .
We do hope that if you plan to visit Warwickshire in the future you will choose Woodside again as your preferred venue to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was delighted when a recent wedding invitation had the Woodside Kenilworth as the venue. We celebrated my husbands 50th birthday with a 2 night stay with some very dear friends in 2011 and we had a fabulous stay. We decided to make it a mini break again for the wedding and the very helpful lady in booking, Kirsty delighted us with a two night B&B special that included dinner the first night so we stayed for the night before the wedding and the night of the wedding too. What a great idea we arrived on the Thursday enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal in the restaurant, had a lay in and then had full cooked brekkie, we had a refreshing lunch time swim in the excellent pool and then got ready for the Wedding, arrived in the reception area 15 mins before kick off, cool and freshly done up ready for an afternoon & evening of celebration, food and too much drink, still at least neither of us had to drive. The wedding was extremely enjoyable and the venue was not a disappointment for the guests as the food and survive from the staff was fabulous. The rooms were very well appointed and lovely and clean as well as obviously having been refurbished recently, very nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable too! Really enjoyed the stay as well as the Wedding so a very big Well Done to all the staff, they are a credit to the business.

Room Tip: We had a very nice room overlooking the fields in the annex, no noise from the car park or hotel in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiskeywhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to write your review following your second visit to Woodside. We were so pleased to read that your stay was as enjoyable as the first, and that you took advantage of one of our summer offers that we have. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit Woodside again in the future and enjoy our facilities and customer service that we all ways strive to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were married at Woodside on Saturday 19th July . From the time we first booked the staff were really helpful and could not do enough to ensure that the day was exactly what we wanted . Everything on the day was perfect , food was delicious and staff were cheerful and helpful . The grounds are beautiful and guests were able to make use of the swimming pool sauna and tennis court - what a wonderful addition to the normal wedding entertainment . A large number of guests stayed overnight and breakfast was plentiful and good quality.
Thank you to all the staff but especially Andra and Martin for everything

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanetWoodfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to write this review following your wedding celebration at Woodside were so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of the day and the customer service that you received was of a high standard also.
We do hope that you will have the opportunity to return in the future to enjoy our facilities that we offer weather it be for business or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
1.5 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#5 of 7 in Kenilworth
278 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
24.9 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
745 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Hotel

Address: Woodside Lodge Glasshouse Lane, Kenilworth CV8 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: £66 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodside is an Edwardian mansion set within 32 acres of grounds and enjoys a quiet woodland location on the outskirts of Kenilworth in Warwickshire. There are 74 en-suite bedrooms, housed in accommodation buildings adjacent to the main house. Your stay also includes a Full English & Continental Breakfast, free Wi-Fi, use of the leisure facilities, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Food is prepared daily by the award-winning team of chefs and is served in two restaurants - The Mulberry Brasserie and The Orchard. The Parsons Folly bar is the perfect place to enjoy a snack or relax with a drink. There are a range of leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, fitness suite, croquet lawn,tennis court and a 9 hole pitch`n`putt golf course which is complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Woodside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodside, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Kenilworth
Woodside Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing