We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking hotel, excellent value for money.”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Coventry
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cracking hotel, excellent value for money.”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I needed to find a hotel for wedding guests to stay in for early June. We had booked the entire Kenilworth hotel out at a very high cost, but needed somewhere close, but a bit cheaper for other guests.

I found the Grand hotel via one of the hotel booking sites and booked up about 4 rooms. I also told other guests who also booked up a number of rooms. So we had quite a few rooms all together. Worth noting that those guests who waited until last minute managed get this hotel at a very big reduced price. Im sure some were quoted around £48 a night which was very reasonable.

Imagine my total horror therefore when nearer the date we were all due to check in, when I decided to checkout reviews on tripadvisor. OMG.... I was seriously kicking myself. 1/5 stars from a lot of people and some of the worst reviews id ever read.

However, it was a bit too late to change bookings, so we went ahead.

I phoned up as we were driving to the hotel to check about parking, a very polite man answered the phone quickly and told me parking was no problem. Sure enough, parking was not a problem. Theres a carpark outside the hotel, which granted, is fairly small when compared to the number of rooms in the hotel, but we arrived at around 11am and had no problem parking.

The checking process was smooth and when I looked at the rooms (I checked 3 of them out personally), I was extemely impressed. Very very big rooms, nice pine furniture, a seriously massive comfortable bed, chairs, table, coffee/tea facilities, modern Sony LCD TV (32inch i think). The whole room looked like it had been recently redecorated. The bathroom also looked very modern, nice tiles, nice clean bathroom suite. All in all I couldnt fault it.

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good, we stayed 1 nights and had the full english both times.

The only thing I could fault was one of the guests had room 1. Which was as described above, but it backed onto the kitchens from the sounds of it, so there was pots & pans noise and also piano playing. But the guest who stayed in there said it stopped at 10pm and therefore wasnt a problem. In any case, on the Saturday night we all attended a wedding and so wasnt back until about 11pm.

All in all what I expected to be a hotel which made Fawlty Towers look like the Ritz turned out to be a cracking bargain. Id definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackinbox99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    38
    16
    21
    36
See reviews for
23
46
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Booked my son into this hotel for one night, and despite the reviews was pleasantly surprised. Nice large clean and tidy room with a great breakfast. Hotel even gave us a call to check on approx. arrival time.
They do need to make the entrance clearer. There is one entrance on high street which clearly marked but is locked. The next entrance is an indian restaurant, where they politely advised us that the entrance is in fact around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights when visiting a museum nearby. A large double room with a spotless clean large new bathroom. Tea coffee,biscuits complementary toiletries and bottled water. Temperature in room a little erratic radiator cold when we arrived but then turned on from late evening onward. Extra pillows available and wi-fi in room. Breakfast selection of continental and or freshly cooked to order. Small car park , location of hotel,is good right on the Warwick Road and spoilt for choice for good eating places. Only downside was the carpet in our room needed replacing but other than that very good for the money we paid would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumsieSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We arrived there after staying in two Coventry´s hotel. Our experience was great. His manager left us a big room, so we had plenty of space to leave the baggage. In fact, he helped us in order to the take the luggage from our car. The bath was also spacious and we had free Internet, so I have to say that it´s worth every penny you pay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karra_Herrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Terrible service. Room hadn't been cleaned from whoever stayed in it prior to us. The manager Peri is dishonest and will say what he has to secure your business. Be aware.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGSINGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kenilworth hotels

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed at 'Grand Hotel' on business, although the staff were friendly and helpful the buildings (the hotel actually seems to be a series of residential properties) were well below par, even for a budget hotel. I paid £57 as I booked on the day, the website I booked it on claimed that the standard rate was £120 which I find completely unbelievable.

On entry the first issue I found was that the carpet was completely filthy and stained, which was unpleasant. Other unpleasantries were a broken window in the bathroom which wouldn't shut (this made the room extremely cold), stains all over the walls, dirty windows and a mouldy set of blinds in the bathroom, and a trouser press which made my trousers stink!! As well as the issues with the decor and general cleanliness of the room's furnishings the whole room was very noisy whenever even a slight wind blew outside, it would whistle very loudly - the wind blew all night which meant I had very little sleep.

The food at the hotel owned Raffles restaurant is not up to much either, the breakfast in the hotel was ok at absolute best. The whole stay was pretty poor apart from the staff who were good.

Room Tip: From what I have read and my own experience don't stay on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midalnds uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel is very close to my house and I was looking for somewhere to put my family not long before Christmas 2011. Bit of a delay writing this, sorry. Due to the negative reviews on here I decided to go have a look a look in advance. The gentleman on reception was very very helpful and he happily showed me one of the rooms. Everything looked perfectly fine and the room was very large and clean, so I booked one double room and one family room. The man explained that the family room would be on the other side and checked that it wouldn't be an issue.

My family stayed at the hotel and I asked them if everything was ok, the reported back and said that the rooms were great, clean and warm and that the staff were very family... And some members of my family can be a bit of a handful!

Overall this is ver good value wham you compare it to other hotels in Kenilworth, for the money you pay the rooms are large and clean and the staff are helpful. It's not the Ritz, but it's not trying to be.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBillyClint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
0.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.2 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 60 Waverley Road, Kenilworth CV8 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing