We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Reviewed 5 August 2013

After reading earlier reviews was a little concerned. However on arrival couldn't have been more pleased. Ben and his staff were very helpful and the room was very nice. Huge bed, plenty of storage, complimentary tea, coffee and water. Large bathroom with corner bath and very quiet location in the Annex . The breafast was plentiful and delicious. It shows that you shouldnt always
believe what is written, i'm glad we took a chance and i'm sure you will !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter, 101 in Annex is lovely
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyweekender2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Travelling 140 miles from Garstang to attend a Golden Wedding anniversary party, we attempted to book in to The Grand Hotel, arranged through 'Booking.com'.

On arrival we were informed that they hadn't been notified of our arrival and all rooms were full.

Having checked with Booking.com, it appears that a fax had been sent and a delivery receipt recieved. So why didn't they know we were coming? Had the fax been lost? Had the hotel decided to re-let our room to a higher bidder? I'll never know, but the receptionist did spend an age finding us alternative accommodation in Leamington.

We never got to see the room, so can't really comment. The moral of this story is; if you book through an agent, you're not guaranteed a room unless you personally follow it up yourself. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Very run down certainly not worthy of the name 'Grand'. Poor selection of drinks at the bar no draught beer despite pumps on show. Rooms and carpets dirty and not impressed in having to walk outside from one building to another for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacNotts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Very poor run down hotel and should not be allowed to be called Grand as it is not in any way!

Manager tried hard to please but the place is set back in the 50's and it doesn't appear to have been cleaned since. My shower cubicle was a disgrace with heavy mold around the pan, not what you would expect for £105 / night room.

Beer was limited to bottled Cobra and the restaurant and bar facilities are an 'add on, rather than a place to relax and chill

Rooms on the front are very noisy and all in all I would not go near this place again, a very poor experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Having read previous reviews, we got exactly what we expected (3 night stay). Yes, the decor was perhaps a little tired and the building is not in its first flush of youth. However, staff very pleasant and helpful, everything clean and tidy, everything worked, comfortable bed, the hotel location was great for us and pretty good value for money. It isn't a 4-star luxury hotel, and doesn't pretend to be

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexPilgrim285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I stay regularly on business, the service is top drawer by Ben and his team, the bed and breakfast rate really can't be beaten for the size and comfort of the rooms on offer and the hot selection at breakfast is always freshly prepared. And for an evening meal you can do better than their sister restaurant Raffles which sits inbetween the hotel's main road annexes. OK parking can be a little tight in the small car park and some of the décor a little "tired" but for the rates charged this really is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJVCheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Helen on reception is very helpful and friendly. Room was clean if a little tired however for the price paid it was more than acceptable. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of both hot and cold dishes, fruit, cereals juice etc. Can't fault it for the price and the service made it well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 60 Waverley Road, Kenilworth CV8 1JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: £64 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing