We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“characterful, peaceful and compact home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cowshed, perfect for a relaxing stay away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cowshed, perfect for a relaxing stay away
Outdoor seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The Cowshed, perfect for a relaxing stay away
Outdoor seating area
King size double bed
Cows on our farm
The old High Street, about 15 mins walk
Kenilworth Castle, just a field away
Lake in Abbey Fields
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kenilworth, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SirHumphr...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“characterful, peaceful and compact home from home”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

i was working in the area, and this suited my needs perfectly. Warm and cosy, everything I needed for a comfortable week was there - including wifi and all mod cons including a dishwasher which I wasn't expecting! Zoe was lovely and welcoming. I can't fault it. I arrived quite late in the evening and did begin to wonder if I was lost when the sat nav abandoned me about half a mile short - but all was well. I recommend arriving in the light to appreciate the lovely views. Kenilworth is a nice town with lots of restaurants and shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: character
Liked least: no bath!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly M
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The Cow Shed was fantastic accommodation and I would highly recommend it and I will definitely book again! It is in a lovely quiet location on farm grounds just beyond Kenilworth Castle. It's in a great spot for Kenilworth, Leamington Spa, Warwick and we also went to Birmingham shopping which was just half an hour drive. The place itself is immaculate and has been beautifully and simply fitted. All modern conveniences, comfy big bed, great shower, great kitchen and brilliant under floor heating! Perfectly clean and cozy. It was definitely value for money we loved it and will stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2015
We would love to have you back. Thank you for your lovely comments. Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe7...
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well designed and functional”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

All good (location, quietness, internal arrangement, cleanliness, contact with owner). The remote control for the heating system was a bit hard to understand fully, but after two nights we had it well in hand.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the inconvenience with the heating and I am glad you worked it out in the end. We were struggling to explain with our limited french language skills!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris s
1 review
“Good choice for a relaxing mini break”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Friendly welcome from hostess Zoe. Accommodation spotlessly clean and well kitted out. Good location, castle, park, pool and pubs within easy walking distance, only a fifteen minute drive to Warwick castle.
A splendid choice for a relaxing mini break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private and tranquil
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Lowton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect little cow shed...”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I was lucky enough to find this perfect little getaway at quite late notice. It is set, surrounded by fields and a short walk from Kenilworth Castle. On first glance it appears rather small but I can say for two people, it is perfectly formed. The interior is characterful and of high quality. There are many restaurants within a 2 mile radius and plenty of places to visit. One tiny niggle for some visitors may be the fact that it does appear to be below a flight path but for me this wasn't a problem. I have no hesitation in recommending it and I would certainly hope I am able to return again. Thank-you to Zoe for being a lovely host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Luckily the planes are still quite high up when they are over us so don't make much of a noise. The flights definitely seem to get less after peak summer holiday period. We hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in Kenilworth in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2010phil1...
Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France
1 review
“to try absolutely”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a great time in the countryside, the place is calm and the house is very nice, fonctional and well decorated.
The owners are friendly and discreet
Ideal for walking and visiting.
Only one default : the wifi connection is impossible in the house and very weak outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the design and the tranquility
Liked least: the wifi connection
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane B
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Property”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Enjoyed a three night stay in this lovely property. Excellent facilities in the Cow Shed, great area for walking. Places to eat and town centre within walking distance, but really enjoyed the feel of being in the middle of the countryside. Many thanks to Zoe for a warm welcome.
Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you so much and I am really glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope we see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing