We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

The Cross at Kenilworth
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$58
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Bus Stop on New Street
Description: The Cross, Kenilworth is a pub restaurant serving excellent food, cooked by award winning chefs. The Cross started out as an inn back in the 19th century and was recently refurbished to reveal its original features. Expect a warm welcome, friendly service and stunning dishes, cooked using the very best local ingredients.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Visited The Cross after checking out their website, was not disappointed, great food, friendly and efficient staff, would definitely recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank CT11camb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    163
    89
    42
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Taken here by the relatives for a birthday meal.

The food was excellent; there was not a thing on the menu I would not have eaten. It was the right balance of fine-dining and accessibility. The presentation was also outstanding. The service was very, very good; attentive, friendly, but discrete.

I really feel this restaurant aims very high and achieves on every level - well worth a detour and very deserving of a visit if in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonerHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Ate hear on a midweek night after hearing really good things about the place. The food was amazing,the wine good and the overall service was fantastic. Will definatly be coming back again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warwickfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent on every level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I have been to The Cross a couple of times before and never has it been as good as it is now. Four of us visited on a Friday night and everything from the table (round in front of the terrace window), to the service (perfect balance of friendly, attentive and professional) and of course the food was excellent. We had three courses (naughty!) and they were all equally excellent, especially the beef main with sirloin and cheek. The only critique I could give is that the truffle notes didn't quite make it through on my terrine, if of course they were meant to. Also I know it's not the main event, but the bread and butter is just to die for! mmmmmmm

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“10 out of 10!!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

4 of us went for Dinner on Friday 15th August and what a wonderful evening was had by all.
The food was wonderful and take it from me it takes a lot to impress me as I am in catering myself.
I personally started with the Cornish Crab Soup which I have to say was fabulous and I would go back just for a bowl of it any day, I then had the Lamb Rump cooked to perfection and melted in my mouth, Dessert of Creme Carmel was ok but the 2 Madeleine Cakes that came with it were light as a feather, full of flavour and warm from the oven a absolute delight.
My fellow diners also enjoyed their meals, 2 Duck egg starters 1 Salmon, then all 3 had fish, Cod, Sea Bream and the traditional Fish n chips. Not a complaint from any dish, however I do believe mine was the best by fair!
The servers were always on hand and very polite.

The staff aways on hand but not in the way.

Can wait to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank LoverOfWonderfulFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cross at Kenilworth also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Cross at Kenilworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing