We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Larkrise Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Larkrise Cottage
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A lovely welcome from Alan, and our stay got better and better. Very comfortable stay with a super breakfast. Nice and quiet, an ideal place to stay for visiting Stratford-upon-Avon - where we and our two friends went to see a couple of plays - and other local attractions. Alan is very knowledgable about the local area, very helpful in knowing what to do. Stay if you can!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NigelandDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

You can't expect more from a host than what Alain does!
He gives your journey just that little bit more to make it special.
Thanks to all the help from him how to visit the most nice places around!
Really a place to go back to!
The cottage is just a few minutes outside of Stratford and in nice and quiet enviremont.
Beautiful wide views at the front of the house!!
Also a compliment to the hens doing a great job too, the eggs are fantastic ;-)

All in all, you can feel Alain is enjoying your visit most likely as much as you do, where can you find a host like this??

Again Alain , thanks so much making our stay comfortable and feeling like 'home abroad', you're doing great and we hope to visit you again some day!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Mummy and I went to Larkrise Cottage in Upper Billesley. It was amazing! It was a little remote in the dark but a beautiful surrounding. We had never been before but we will be coming back. I would recommend having the fish and egg for breakfast. It was delicious! You can have tea in Upper Billlesley but there are mainly pubs. The owner of the cottage was very friendly and approachable and even printed off the plot of Anthony and Cleopatra for us. I would also recommend going to El Greco for a Greek tapas meal. It was gorgeous.
Thank you Alan and Jenny for the lovely visit.
(Olivia, Age 9 and a half)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a find - couldn't find a better place to stay. Exceptionally clean, comfortable and a breakfast to die for. Would recommend to anyone, although you do need to drive into stratford but that is not a negative as you have the wonderful peace and quiet and fantastic views. Made to feel special from the minute we got there to the minute we left ( thanks for the sausages Alan ). Can't speak highly enough and if we're in that area again we will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Larkrise Cottage is a fabulous place to stay. Easy to find and situated just 4 miles out of Stratford.

Our host Alan was perfect and his knowledge of the surrounding areas was invaluable and gave us some great places to visit on our drive to Cheltenham.

Room was lovely with a nice big bathroom and we were made to feel very very welcome.

Breakfast was great too as Alan tries to use locally sourced products including eggs from his own chickens.

I would highly recommend Larkrise to anyone and I hope we get to stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at Larkrise cottage. Beautiful cottage, gorgeous breakfast. welcoming hosts. I would definately recommend. It is situated in a quiet area about 4 miles from the centre of Stratford.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Thank goodness we chose to stay out of bustling and beautiful Stratford-on-Avon and found Larkrise Cottage where 2 or 3 cars drove past on the school run and otherwise we listened to the birds, cows and horses nearby. A comfortable room and ensuite and a delightful area to sit outside in the sun and enjoy Alan and Jenny's garden. We ate breakfast in the loveliest diningroom and our chef and host, Alan, couldn't do enough to feed us delicious and varied menu. Stratford-on-Avon is a must see and just a fascinating historic village but oh so busy that it was great to return at night to peaceful Tranquil.

Room Tip: Absolutely tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicanago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.4 mi away
Avonlea Guesthouse
Avonlea Guesthouse
#4 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
447 reviews
2.6 mi away
Moss Cottage
Moss Cottage
#12 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
190 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ingon Bank Farm
Ingon Bank Farm
#22 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hunters Moon Guest House
Hunters Moon Guest House
#7 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
275 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#16 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
49 reviews
2.6 mi away
White-Sails
White-Sails
#1 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkrise Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkrise Cottage

Address: Upper Billesley | Wilmcote, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £70 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Larkrise Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Larkrise Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing