We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of Avon Spice

Avon Spice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Faro District, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have eaten here a few times now and at times the food is excellent and sometimes it is "not bad", I always have the lamb tikka and my partner has the chicken madras. I find that the lamb can be a bit dry at times, but we will keep returning

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank longtiming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    68
    27
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent. Recommended”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Visited in April on my own.

Quick service.

Friendly.

Nice atmosphere.

Well priced, including a meal deal.

I had sheek kebab, chicken tikka, rice and garlic naan. The food was spot on, and the naan was probably the best I've ever had.

Other than the fact that they ran out of Kingfisher, I can't think of anything that wasn't just so.

I'll certainly be back!

Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always get my curry from here!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Never fails to deliver an awesome curry. I've been going here since 2005 and I've only had one other curry in Stratford and it didn't stop me returning back to Avon Spice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I were on a weekend away in Stratford-on-Avon and prior to our departure we did some research on Indian Restaurants. We chose the Avon Spice for two reasons, firstly because of its good reviews on Trip Advisor and secondly for its location.
We were not disapointed! On first impression from the outside the restuarant looked nothing special but our dining experience was absolutely spot on. I had the Naga Special and my wife went for the Prawn Jalfraizi. My meal was probably the best naga curry I have ever eaten (I do have naga quite often wherever I go if its on the menu), and the prawn jalfrazi was excellent according to my wife. I think you get a good feel for a curry house by the way they present the poppadoms, we had five different chutneys and light, dry and crisp pops a really good appetiser. When we paid, which was very reasonable, we received free shots from our very courteous waiter, nothing was too much trouble and we throughly enjoyed our experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Really great staff so friendly and helpful! Right in centre of town so it's convenient , they provide free shots sometimes so it's an added bonus. Really great tasting food - very flavoursome...try it you won't be disappointed

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Isiren27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avon Spice also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Avon Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing