We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop off”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stop off”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great selection of drinks, we had dinner here one day and the service was much more than I expect from a pub! Had a lovely lady bring us our food (the mushroom risotto is delicious). The garden is gorgeous. Just a great place to stop for a drink and bite to eat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    197
    95
    40
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always a warm welcome and wonderful food”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We frequently visit the Red Lion and now treat it as our local. The food is always cooked to perfection, but on this occasion it was my birthday and so we opted for two T-bone steaks. They were DELICIOUS - cooked to absolutely perfection (rare and medium rare), which can be difficult when cooking steak.

So thank you to the very excellent chef on the night of Wednesday 14 May, and also very many thanks to Jenna and Rachel who are the real stars here - they look after us SO well every time we visit.

We have visited TableTable restaurants all over the country, but in our opion this one is the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamlet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good pub in Stratford”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Between Shakespeare's birthplace and the Royal Theatre, and right on the Avon river, Red Lion was a friendly spot for good food and drinks at a very reasonable price in Stratford upon Avon. Plenty of room inside and out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highway6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice staff and food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited here this bank holiday weekend are second visit always busy weather was great so sitting out side was all full so we ate inside no problem waited 45min for food but was told that on ordering so that was good its pub grub of course but good value and a good choice menu. the thing that stood out most to me was the service bar staff nice friendly but the two chaps on the floor running around none stop with big heavy trays in side and out side clearing and delivering food were amazing so friendly smiley under all the pressure well done to them that's what makes a friendly place very professional,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great barman, manager just wants to go home!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Can't believe the bar closes at 10pm. The manager said it was because no one was in. Rubbish! There were plenty of tables occupied. He just wanted to close! I have never heard of a pub closing at ten!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredraynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing