We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Fayre for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Fayre for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Table for 4 four, e booked on website, quick and easy
Pub is on a busy corner in Stratford in a key position
BE WARNED - PARKING ONSITE ON A SATURDAY NIGHT IS METERED - nearly got a parking ticket!!
Welcome was nice and efficient and shown to a large table for 4, maybe too large for conversation but it was busy
2 steaks, 1 risotto and a gammon steak - all polished with drinks for £50.00
This place is good value for money on the mass produced side but we would visit again, clean plates are tantamount to that!!
Alisdair was a good server and very attentive on the night and we never waited long for any service
I would recommend The Red Lion, yes it is a corporate and the food is perhaps cooked rather than prepared but it is well worth a visit and good value for money!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    183
    88
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stop off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great selection of drinks, we had dinner here one day and the service was much more than I expect from a pub! Had a lovely lady bring us our food (the mushroom risotto is delicious). The garden is gorgeous. Just a great place to stop for a drink and bite to eat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always a warm welcome and wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We frequently visit the Red Lion and now treat it as our local. The food is always cooked to perfection, but on this occasion it was my birthday and so we opted for two T-bone steaks. They were DELICIOUS - cooked to absolutely perfection (rare and medium rare), which can be difficult when cooking steak.

So thank you to the very excellent chef on the night of Wednesday 14 May, and also very many thanks to Jenna and Rachel who are the real stars here - they look after us SO well every time we visit.

We have visited TableTable restaurants all over the country, but in our opion this one is the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamlet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good pub in Stratford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Between Shakespeare's birthplace and the Royal Theatre, and right on the Avon river, Red Lion was a friendly spot for good food and drinks at a very reasonable price in Stratford upon Avon. Plenty of room inside and out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highway6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice staff and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited here this bank holiday weekend are second visit always busy weather was great so sitting out side was all full so we ate inside no problem waited 45min for food but was told that on ordering so that was good its pub grub of course but good value and a good choice menu. the thing that stood out most to me was the service bar staff nice friendly but the two chaps on the floor running around none stop with big heavy trays in side and out side clearing and delivering food were amazing so friendly smiley under all the pressure well done to them that's what makes a friendly place very professional,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing