We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for Royal Shakespeare Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashgrove House

Ashgrove House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashgrove House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Ideal for Royal Shakespeare Theatre”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights. We were in town to see Henry IV part one.

The Ashgrove is within easy reach of the train station and the town centre.

The hosts were friendly and welcoming. Excellent breakfast.

Room small/ a bit poky, but clean and comfortable.

A good place to stay, overall.

Room Tip: We had room 4, which had a 'private', but separate, bathroom. Mention en suite bathroom if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tin586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
47
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a very comfortable 2 night stay at Ashgrove House. Room was large, well furnished, very clean and great value for money. Ian and Diane are perfect hosts happy to point out places of interest in the town and have a general chat over breakfast. As for breakfast, it was substantial and freshly cooked - lovely. The property is close to the town about 5 minutes walk and with free onsite parking just behind the hotel it really is in a perfect location. In fact you can drive to Anne Hathaway's cottage in about 5 minutes and then drop the car back off at the hotel to walk into Stratford and see the other sites. Would highly recommend Ashgrove House as a great place to stay. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denby4753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We enjoyed a comfortable stay at the Ashgrove. We arrived early however Iain and Diane were more than happy to let us check in and were very helpful in showing us where the tourist attractions were and where eat. The Ashgrove is very close to the city centre. Breakfast was very filling and even had my favourite yoghurt (Yeo Valley)!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Arrived at the Ashgrove on Wednesday the 19th Feb 2014, and although arriving before the check-in time was greeted with a warm welcome by Iain and Diane, and shown to our room.

The Hotel is very clean, as was the room, and the breakfast was very good. At this point we decided to book an extra night making our stay three nights at the Ashgrove.

The location is great, just a few minutes walk into town, left the car at their off street parking facilities. Would thoroughly recommend a stay at this very friendly hotel.

Thanks for a great time Iain and Diane, will definitely will be coming to visit again in the future.

Steve and Ruby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magicsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a short break in November 2013. Close to the town, easy walking distance.Lovely breakfast. Off street parking was another plus point.
We would certainly consider Ashgrove if we were to stay in Stratford Upon Avon again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tong998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely last minute stay , in a town full of B&Bs we chose very well , clean warm room with brew making facilities , good wifi (free) friendly hosts , good brekky Sunday morning , and 3/4 minute walk into town , what more could you ask for !

Dave and Lisa Mather

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My experience of staying at Ashgrove mirrors that of previous reviewers: spotless, quiet, very attentive hosts, good breakfast (particularly good choice for we veggies!), warm welcome.

Located very centrally (I reached town on foot in a matter of minutes, and got to the hotel from the railway station just as quickly), it's very well placed for the theatre, which was where I was going. Ian the host pointed out a shortcut to the theatre - really useful for the cold walk home!

Highly recommended - I would stay here again if in Stratford.

Room Tip: paying extra for the double room for single occupancy was a very good idea. Not very expensive, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortbreaker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashgrove House

Property: Ashgrove House
Address: 37 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashgrove House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashgrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing