We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok. nothing special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok. nothing special.”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at this travel lodge for 2 nights on the 4th October. We had a family room on the top floor which was spacious and clean. It was a very noisey room though with the traffic on the main road. Even with the window shut you could still hear alot.
The bed was soooo uncomfortable. Far too hard and the pillows were also too firm. We ended up using a duvet from the little bed to put down on top of the sheets just so we had extra cushioning. It helped a little.
The one down side to the room was that there were no bedside tables, which meant that there was no where to put mugs, phones,etc.Could do with a couple of little tables by the beds! The room was pretty bare and plain but was fine for what we wanted.
We didn't pay for breakfast so we just took our own. There was plenty of parking outside and we walked into the town centre most of the time. It only took 10 mins and saved on parking charges.
If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful place to stay and are not bothered about firm beds then this is fine for a night or two. I personally wouldn't stay here again as it just was not comfortable.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WANTING_SUNSHINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear WANTING_SUNSHINE, we want our customers to enjoy their stays with us and we’re sorry to learn you found our mattress and pillows to be uncomfortable. Our hotel has recently received a makeover and we have put new king-sized pocket sprung beds in every room. We’ve received some great feedback regarding the beds so it is regrettable you found the mattress to be too firm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    285
    157
    78
    74
See reviews for
202
405
40
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Ok . I have stayed at better places and the room was a little noisy but having just traveled Europe and a fair chunk of the UK I rate this as the best value we found. Would I stay there again ? Too right.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DownunderGAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of September - paid the bargain price of £40 for 2 nights. Young man who checked us in was very friendly. Given a room on the ground floor which was good. Room was ok and clean. Bed very comfy as opposed to the old style Travelodge beds which are horrendous! Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on food. Bar was nice to have a drink in. Location was about a 15 minute walk into town so sometimes we walked it and other times got a taxi which cost about £5 so very reasonable. Would definitely stay again if back in Stratford upon Avon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetieChatham_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stratford on Avon Travelodge is supposed to have had an upgrade. From what I can see, only the main bed in the family room is upgraded. I slept in a dirty stained sofabed, so like many other travelodges. The carpet also had old uncleaned stains. This is such a shame, as the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I stay here reluctantly if I can't get into premier inn or if I want to save a few more bob, but really, it isn't worth it if you have to use the sofabeds or if you are at all particular about wear and tear, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Was within walking distance of all the "Shakespeare" sights and attractions so no need to drive the car around.Very friendly welcoming staff ,everything was clean and the bed was so comfortable which was most welcomed after a day spent walking around!

Room Tip: Some rooms only have showers so if it is a bath you want then ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Title says it all - Appallingly hot and noisy all through the night - Not to be recommended for anyone seeking a good nights sleep. Rooms are ok although typical basic Travelodge, they were clean and bright.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperatures in your room Bill W, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As a basic hotel for an overnight stay this travelodge couldn't be faulted. Clean, comfortable and very friendly staff. Choice of food and drinks was good and service speedy. Location was good and ample parking available. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,078 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,772 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon

Property: Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Address: 261 Birmingham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0BF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing