We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotter than hell!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotter than hell!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

If the weathers hot cancel your booking and book into Premier lodge they have air con worth a few more pounds. We spent two nights 18 th 19 th July. Staff were good room was clean but expecting us to sleep in these rooms without air conditioning was unbelievable windows only open about 8 centimetres corridors were hotter than hell if there had been some ventilation in these It might have helped.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    273
    148
    74
    69
See reviews for
188
382
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week in July, during warm weather.

I checked in, which took about 1 minute, but having bought a wifi voucher when I booked online, no voucher or code was provided. It was only 3 days into my stay that I remembered.

I was told that room cards didn't survive long, and frequently needed replacing. On day #2, my card stopped working. Simply by quoting my room number, I got a new room key. I was asked no questions, and didn't have to prove my ID. What a quick way to make money as a thief...

The room was large, but utterly sterile. A small, basic table, and a plastic chair was the extent of the furniture.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean, and the shower adequate, without being invigorating.

The room overlooked the car park, the smoking shelter and Dominos pizza, so leaving the window open wasn't a practical option. I cooked.

The room is on a busy road intersection opposite the May Bird retail park, so it's busy. Handy for Tesco and the local pub, which does breakfast from 07:30 (allegedly).

It's a brisk and uninspiring 15 minute walk into town.

Enjoy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Inadequate ventilation throughout hotel. Rooms uncomfortably hot as no air conditioning & unable to open window wide enough (due to health & safety). I know weather can't be helped but it would have been so much better if the window in the room had been left open before we checked in. Room was clean, bed comfy. Room felt odd as it was large but empty - like the furniture had been stolen. Sort out heat issue & stay would have scored higher.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We chose to book this hotel at short notice when travelling through Stratford. We chose Travelodge over a few other hotels located nearby as I had stayed with them in other locations and had always had a good stay.

The hotel was easy to find and had free on-site car parking facilities. Check in was swift and when we arrived at our room, it was basic but all that we had required and suited our needs,

The hotel offered wi-fi however this was a paid facility operated by a 3rd part and was not the easiest to access. After several attempts to access this, we gave up and settled down for the night.

Although the bed was comfortable, the biggest problem I had was the lack of air conditioning. There was a heater in the room for cold winter nights however there was nothing to help with the very warm summer temperatures in July, The only window in the room had a restriction where it could only be opened about 6 inches and no more. This did not help with our night's sleep.

The breakfast offered was average, There could have been a little more selection available.

I did raise the issue of the air conditioning with a member of staff in the morning and was advised that this was something they were aware of. I was surprised to hear this as surely the hotel would make some effort to make the rooms for comfortable for those staying. A fan in the room would surely not have gone amiss and would be an easy temporary solution.

Would I stay here again? No.

Room Tip: Ask for the guarantee of an air conditioned room. In the summer this will make a big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassingThrough78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Big family room with plenty of space for us. A bit sparse for furniture. Not far to walk into town. Comfortable but noisy if you have to open window on a hot day. Hotel helpful though as they provided a fan for the room. Had a stay in Stratford Upon Avon.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jennai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean hotel, and all staff we encountered were all very nice and friendly. The food was better than expected and it has lots of shops across the road including a big Tesco's. But on the downside the room was way too hot which made it uncomfortable, and we did hear other guests complaining about this aswell. When mentioned to a member of staff we were given a fan to try and help! All in all one of the best travelodge's we have stayed in, but the temperature in the rooms was a massive downer.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Garethbale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed overnight on route to Dorset. We arrived 1 hour before check in time and even though our room was ready and we only wanted to freshen up after a 5 hour drive before heading out we were asked to pay a £10 charge to get into the room ?? What is that all about ??
We declined and headed into town which takes about 10 mins. On return the room was comfy enough, but very very warm during the night with no A/C available.
Good Points -- Location and Price (£49)
Bad Points -- Room was very warm with no A/C,

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calimerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#19 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,737 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon

Property: Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Address: 261 Birmingham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0BF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing