We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place where one 'may make a peaceful and a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax whilst enjoying our river views and peaceful surroundings.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax whilst enjoying our river views and peaceful surroundings.
Wonderful romantic riverside location Private River Taxi 10mins into the Centre of Stratford Upon Avon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Relax whilst enjoying our river views and peaceful surroundings.
Wonderful romantic riverside location
Private River Taxi 10mins into the Centre of Stratford Upon Avon
Riverside Balcony
Waterside views
Picnic, unwind and relax, whilst watching the world go by gently by.
Rowers passing the lodge
Children love exploring
Idyllic and tranquil.
Access to the clubhouse and restaurant
Relax, whilst enjoying the river view
Well appointed kitchen
Relax in the spacious lounge.
Bathroom toilet with shower and bath
Twin beds in bedroom 2
On suite, from Bedroom 1
On suite, from Bedroom 1
Double bed in Bedroom 1
Relaxing lounge and river view
Picturesque views
Visit the world famous RSC Royal Shakespeare Company
A statue of Hamlet in the Town centre
Heritage buildings and wonderful street life of  Stratford Upon Avon.
The canal festival
City Tours
Regular events
Historic places to visit, for lovers of Shakespeare
Local Tourist information
Historic places to visit, for lovers of Shakespeare
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison F
1 review
“A place where one 'may make a peaceful and a sweet retire' (Henry V IV.iii.86)”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I echo the words of Shakespeare's ambassador, Mountjoy, in saying that the Lodge is indeed an ideal place to 'make a peaceful and sweet retire' from the bustle of Stratford, the doings of everyday life and the wider world.
Looking out at the river in rain or shine from chairs on the covered balcony or from comfortable sofas inside is tranquillity itself.
The apartment is cleverly designed to make maximum use of the space and is well furnished. As well as doing a family reading of the opening scenes of Marlowe's The Jew of Malta, and enjoying this and other shows at the theatre, we enjoyed walking long the riverbank, seeing swans and a green woodpecker, and taking the ferry back to the lodge (there can be long queues in the summer to get in from the Clubhouse making it quicker to walk if you need to get to a matinee).
The Findlay family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Thanks and thanks and ever thanks for your super Shakespearean Review. - we welcome all theatre lovers especially those Barmy about the Bard and the RSC
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave L
Brinkworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“3 night stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a lovely lodge and just 25 paces to the river bank. It is so quite here we couldn't believe it as it is situated on a park. The river taxi,s are a great way to travel into Stratford centre and probably quicker, taking a gentle boat trip to the wharf.
The lodge is well equipped and could maybe do with a couple of extra things for the kitchen, (we like to cook) but otherwise it is a perfect place to relax.
Looking to rebook for next year but for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: For 4 adults it really needs bigger beds but the end of the day it is a lodge
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your lovely Review - we will look forward to meeting you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReisendeD...
Düsseldorf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Midsummer Night's Dream...”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved every bit about the Midsummer Night's Dream Lodge. The furnishings were nice, comfortable and clean. Everything was provided for. Thank you especially for even caring about my allergy problem!
It was wonderful to just sit down and enjoy the beautiful view of the river, letting swans, geese and boats pass by, - just the right thing to unwind inbetween taking in as many plays as was possible in one week (the theatre is only a twenty minute walk away, and with the parking problems in Stratford, it is advisable not to try and take the car into town if that is avoidable).
We hope to be back sooner than later!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
We hope that you will come over from Germany again, to Stratford - next time we hope to meet you both. Your comments are very helpful - it's a lovely walk into town and there is also the Private River Taxi - which is fun and saves on parking. Thank you for leaving our Lodge so clean and tidy and for writing us such a good Review. Please ask us for a Loyalty Discount next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah W
2 reviews
“Perfect to relax with views of the Avon”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our second year running staying at this immaculate lodge with beautiful views of the Avon from the living room. It is in perfect condition and has everything you need in the kitchen and a nice little box of toys for young children. Just a few mins walk to the clubhouse, play area and the water taxis into Stratford we have really enjoyed both our stays here. The owner Chris is so helpful with instructions and directions before the holiday and even went far beyond the call of duty to arrange for our young daughters toy penguin to be posted back home to us after she left it in the lodge. It arrived 2 days after we got home! Thoroughly recommend, as this is a holiday home in a stunning location.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
"Daisy the Penguin goes to Stratford" is the title of the short story you have inspired to write or shall we call it
"Daisy the Penguin meets Derek the Swan" either way we are glad that Daisy is safely home thanks to Bridget our friend and Cleaner who packed her up and took he to the PO for onward travel. Glad you all enjoyed your 2nd Visit - and look forward to meeting you next time. Many thanks for your kind Review. Christine Burn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaBro...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect setting for relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great lodge in perfect setting. All information and directions were clear and worked well. Christine and James very conscientious about ensuring things went smoothly.

Wifi eventually worked - connection best on the veranda

Perhaps there could be more bowls/dishes in kitchen to put salads, side dishes.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Many thanks for writing a Review - glad you enjoyed the Lodge and the setting. We hope you will return and that we get to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KipMenin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to relax and unwind.”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved the setting of this comfortable and relaxing holiday home.
The facilities were perfect making each day of our stay enjoyable and relaxing.
The kitchen and lounge areas were spacious and beautifully arranged for the perfect view of the river. We had some ducks and two Swans for company each evening by the river and thought the views of this part of the river enchanting and nicely secluded.
Excellent showers and toilet facilities added to our comfort.
All in all a lovely week.
thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Not much room for two beds in the second bedroom.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
A great Review - most helpful to us and to Trip Advisor holiday makers. Many thanks for giving up your time to pen such a lovely Review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable and clean..well presented...great location.”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed our stay..very comfortable and well equipped.
We were surprised that it being in a 'park' situation...as we were expecting a different type of accommodation. The lodge is in a lovely situation near the River Avon ..but we felt that the way it is advertised didn't really tell us the set up of a park with 'cabins'. Maybe Australians have a different idea of a 'lodge'. We felt also the photos on the Internet didn't really show the type of accommodation.
Also we were asked to bring towels, which is impossible for most International travellers. The owners of the Lodge were very helpful and obliging to our needs...for which we thanked them.
The storage of luggage (cases) was awkward..especially the second bedroom had very little room. We did manage, and we did enjoy our stay...thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position of the Lodge to the River Avon and close to town.
Liked least: Second bedroom too small..and caravan type park.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
LODGE/CABIN/CHALET the Stately Albion "Lakewood Desgn" can be seen on a video on the web as one of their larger models 40 teet by 22 feet - 2 Bedrooms & 2 Bathrooms FF Kitchen and large lounge with COVERED BALCONY overlooking the River Avon. Although ours is SELF- CATERING we DO supply Duvets + Covers etc Toilet Rolls/Washing up liquid etc but not Towels unless requested - we were very happy to supply 9 towels for your stay - we did not have your address so we were unaware that you were coming from Australia. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the Private River Taxi and the new £2m Clubhouse. We agree with you - the LOCATION IS STUNNING. Thanks for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;