We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant!”
Review of Houndshill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houndshill Inn
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Didn't stay here, but had a meal here when we stayed at a nearby Hotel and the food was excellent.
Very reasonably priced and good pub food, just what we wanted.
Place was clean and tidy and full of character.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBM141011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    40
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
49
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The houndshill is so worth staying at. The proprieters are friendly down to earth and do their best to make you feel at home. After a lovely time visiting Shakespeare country it was great to go back to The Houndshill and relax in the well kept, clean rooms. Plenty of lovely hot bath water to soak the aches and pains of the day away.
Food was well cooked, well presented and really good. The steak and kidney pie was a surprise as there was more steak and kidney than pastry which was a welcome change from the regular ones we were used to! Overall the food was lovely, the atmosphere relaxing, the proprieters so lovely we would recommend to anyone. We will be visiting again next time we are travelling back from Cheshire. We thought the stay was great value for money and are looking forward to our return visit!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4 very good size and extremely comfortable, had a great sleep every night we stayed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBexleyheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Thank you again for a lovely 2 night stay. This is our 4th stay here over several years and will return. Staff and owners so friendly, hotel spotlessly clean, food delicious, excellent wine at good prices, wonderful service and breakfast was one of the best I had ever had and a lovely start to the day.Hotel ideally situated for Stratford and Cotswolds and lots of information supplied in entrance hall. See you again soon !!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valledger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here one night for a visit to the theatre as, although it's out of the centre of Stratford, it's easy to find and with ample parking in a really nice countryside setting. The rooms were reasonable price, reasonable size, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were spotless and everything in the rooms (lights, tvs, kettles, showers etc) worked well. The owners are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts, cooked to order in amazingly quick time, were excellent - I can definitely recommend the scrambled egg which was the nicest I've ever had in a hotel. My husband can testify to the quality of the real ale. Although we didn't have an evening meal there those who did seemed happy enough and the food looked really nice. We will certainly head for the Houndshill next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

After visiting Stratford for the day arrived mid/ late Saturday afternoon at the Houndshill, we were the first to check in (understanding it was fully booked from the internet) taken to our accommodation which was a large family room with two single beds and a double. Quite clean but old fashioned and in serious need of refurb. It had large flat screen TV in the corner though. (As the bar didn't open till 7:00 pm it was a good job). Went down to dinner at 7:30. a few people in the dining room but by no means full. Food was quite good but dissapointed to see most meals came with "chips" and not much variety. When we left the bar around 09:30 more people had arrived, but mostly in the bar. Not wanting to drive anywhere in the evening the hotel was too far out of Stratford for us to go back there. It is on a main road but this was not very busy when we were there. Breakfast was full waitress service so when everyone came down together we had to wait a while, but it was enjoyable. OK for a one night stopover if you don't want the husle and bustle of Stratford On Avon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A stopover one night stay, there was a family party when I arrived, but still managed to make sure I was 'seen to'.Nice lawned grounds to the property. Lovely room with a nice flatscreen telly (only problem for me was the flat pillows - a few cobwebs, bit of dust/spiders, just marked down a little for that). The decor matches the pub, and is absolutely 'in keeping with the place'. Great hosts and lovely bar staff. Great menu and meals with a packed restaurant. Clearly a very popular local 'eaterie'. The lasagne I had was probably the best I've tasted even better than in the best Italian Restaurants! Breakfast also was one of the best I've had anywhere else in the country in recent times, and served with a smile too by the lady owner! Very friendly, very welcoming, very, good value. When in the area again, I would definately go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow-on-the-Wold
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Lovely, comfortable and clean rooms- but best of all was the service from the family who run the Houndshill- welcoming, generous and friendly. The delicious home made food just topped it off. A traditional English pub in a beautiful setting- would recommend to anyone!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SpanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,489 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast
Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
225 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#27 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Blue Boar Inn
The Blue Boar Inn
#1 of 1 in Temple Grafton
418 reviews
4.7 mi away
Moss Cottage
Moss Cottage
#11 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
183 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Mary Arden Inn
The Mary Arden Inn
#81 of 88 in Stratford-upon-Avon
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houndshill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houndshill Inn

Property: Houndshill Inn
Address: Banbury Road | Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Houndshill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Houndshill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing