We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Houndshill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houndshill Inn
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent Bank Holiday weekend in the area househunting and used Houndshill as a base. Just what we needed, basic clean giant room, nice and quiet. Of course it suffers in comparison with the growing number of boutiquey hotels and and b&bs in the area, but still good value. Child friendly too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Houndshill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding that was being held locally. On arrival we were showed straight to our room which is much nicer than being made to stand for ages filling in forms and taking payment. This was all done on checkout.

The rooms were basic but nice. Breakfast was good and we were offered more toast and coffee.

The owners ( I think) and staff were all very friendly and chatted to us Bout the wedding and about what to do in Stratford, which is about a 10 min drive away. Stratford is lovely and we will be sure to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillyteethelvisandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

On arrival the room was dark, dismal and cold. Dont think its seen a duster in months under the bed, skirting boards and telephone all white made ure nose itch. Breakfast was very small didnot ask if you wanted another coffee overall a frosty service. Priced at £70 a room not good value for money weve stayed in nicer places and much cleaner would not stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dijon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Called for lunch on the spur of the moment and we were extremely satisfied with the food and the pub. It has a very inviting, warm and friendly interior with friendly staff. The food was excellent with generous portions in fact I could not eat all mine I was so full. We both had 2 courses for 9.95, my partner had prawn cocktail steak and kidney pie new potatoes and veg and I had breaded mushrooms with garlic mayonnaise and steak and kidney pie. It was the best steak pie I have had in along time full of meat kidney and mushroom..delicious, reasonably priced drinks as well

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Didn't stay here, but had a meal here when we stayed at a nearby Hotel and the food was excellent.
Very reasonably priced and good pub food, just what we wanted.
Place was clean and tidy and full of character.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBM141011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The houndshill is so worth staying at. The proprieters are friendly down to earth and do their best to make you feel at home. After a lovely time visiting Shakespeare country it was great to go back to The Houndshill and relax in the well kept, clean rooms. Plenty of lovely hot bath water to soak the aches and pains of the day away.
Food was well cooked, well presented and really good. The steak and kidney pie was a surprise as there was more steak and kidney than pastry which was a welcome change from the regular ones we were used to! Overall the food was lovely, the atmosphere relaxing, the proprieters so lovely we would recommend to anyone. We will be visiting again next time we are travelling back from Cheshire. We thought the stay was great value for money and are looking forward to our return visit!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4 very good size and extremely comfortable, had a great sleep every night we stayed t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieBexleyheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Thank you again for a lovely 2 night stay. This is our 4th stay here over several years and will return. Staff and owners so friendly, hotel spotlessly clean, food delicious, excellent wine at good prices, wonderful service and breakfast was one of the best I had ever had and a lovely start to the day.Hotel ideally situated for Stratford and Cotswolds and lots of information supplied in entrance hall. See you again soon !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valledger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.8 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#19 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
320 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,513 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast
Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Moss Cottage
Moss Cottage
#11 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
185 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#35 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
151 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Blue Boar Inn
The Blue Boar Inn
#1 of 1 in Temple Grafton
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houndshill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houndshill Inn

Address: Banbury Road | Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £65 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Houndshill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Houndshill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing