We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outside Stratford”
Review of Houndshill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houndshill Inn
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked here when we couldn't find a caravan site for the night. It was a pleasant little hotel with friendly staff. The food was great and the room was spacious and very comfortable. Nice setting too with tables and seats across from the carpark. Value for money too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent the evening at stratford races, decided to have something to eat on way back to Banbury. We were greeted by a friendly young girl who took our order. The food was very hot, not to much and cooked well, and the desserts were lovely. Good value for money and would certainly eat there again.

Room Tip: Did use rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My friend and I ate here yesterday. We were greeted by a miserable lady who served us with out a smile. We decided to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine while our food was cooking. After a very long wait, our name was called by the chef who shouted across the car park, " your food's here, you'll have to come and get it". Our food was left in a doorway and not brought to our table as you would expect. The jacket potato we ordered looked like it had been kicked around the car park, with the vegetable lasagne being over cooked ( probably microwaved) with the cheese topping being too hard to eat. Over all , the service and food was terrible. The meal came to £20 for two people which we both felt was a little expensive due to the poor quality. This is the second time I've eaten here and nothing has changed on both occasions. I DEFINATELY WON'T BE EATING HERE AGAIN !! Coupled with the dated décor of the hotel, it's NOT on our top ten list to return to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1970rubyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Met here for a meeting of colleagues: hadn't intended to eat but did so. The steak was cooked to order, the dessert worth ordering and it was decent value for money given the location. More than likely will eat again when I have my next meeting here.

Décor/ ambiance/ service all fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank finedinewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Overall our stay was good.
It lacks a place to sit waiting for the bar to open.
It was a fine day and were able to sit in the garden.However if a cold or wet day you would have to stay in room.A room at the front entrance could be used and open bar say 630.Thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a group of 6 on a Saturday night. The hotel looks lovely, the grounds looked nice. We were greeted by a lady who seemed quite abrupt. It was 11:45, we wanted lunch but she made it clear we were not welcome until after 12pm.

In the afternoon, we wanted to head back to have a few drinks in the garden, we found out that the bar is not open, even to residents, strictly untiil 7pm. there is no public lounge.

In the evening, we had dinner in the bar, we sat at a table for 6 that was reserved, we were told we had to move, as this table was specifically requested this table, we moved ( no one sat at that table for the whole evening after the fuss she made!).

The food, was superbly cooked, very tasty and could really fault it apart from the size of the fillet steak..

With regards to the room, we had a large room, room was nice, clean and comfortable, a little dated but had all the facilities necessary. Bed was comfortable, slept well.

Breakfast was a traditional breakfast, was very nicely cooked and we enjoyed breakfast.

Regarding price, it is good value for money in terms of cleanliness and the food quality.

The real disadvantage for us was the bar and the older lady who was not friendly at all. The other waitress/bar tender was very helpful and friendly.

As you can see, it is a mixed opinion, we probably would return due to the nice location and food, but we think the owners should address the bar opening times.

Room Tip: Room 8 is large room- up two flights of stairs though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed one night and enjoyed our stay .The room was large and comfortable with a pleasant
view .Had dinner and breakfast and the quality, choice and service was very good. If you
want to avoid the hustle and bustle of Stratford but still be only 10 mins away the Houndshill Inn
is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.7 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,524 reviews
3.8 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#19 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Moss Cottage
Moss Cottage
#12 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
187 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast
Hamlet House Bed and Breakfast
#28 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
228 reviews
4.5 mi away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#9 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houndshill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houndshill Inn

Address: Banbury Road | Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: £68 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Houndshill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Houndshill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing